Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Environment & Ecology Other

Clocktower at sunset

Professor Richard Barker (Mathematics and Statistics)

Statistics in Sport and Exercise Science; Ecological statistics; Mark-recapture models; Bayesian inference; Probability
Work: 64 3 479 7756 | Home: 64 3 467 9390
Email: rbarker@maths.otago.ac.nz

Professor Phil Bishop (Zoology)

Frog biology; Global decline of frog populations; Frog conservation and management ; Member Native Frog Recovery Group ; Co-Chair IUCN Amphibian Specialist Group; Animal communication; Biodiversity; Amphibians
Work: 64 3 479 7990
Email: phil.bishop@otago.ac.nz

Emeritus Professor Carolyn Burns (Zoology)

Freshwater ecology; Lakes; Wetlands; Plankton ecology and identification; Water quality; Algal blooms; Microbial ecology; Effects of catchment activities and climate change on lakes; Invasive species in lakes and wetlands; Management and conservation
Work: 64 3 479 7971
Email: carolyn.burns@otago.ac.nz

Professor Gerry Closs (Zoology)

Freshwater ecology; Freshwater fish; Trout; Introduced species; Biosecurity - freshwater; Native fish; Fish migration; Freshwater fish conservation
Work: 64 3 479 7972 | Home: 64 3 476 4014 | Mobile: 64 21 0276 2783
Email: gerry.closs@otago.ac.nz

Professor Greg Cook (Microbiology and Immunology)

Environmental microbiology and bioremediation; Antibiotic resistant bacteria in humans and animals
Work: 64 3 479 7722
Email: greg.cook@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Ivan Diaz-Rainey (Accountancy and Finance, Otago Business School)

Financial regulation; Financial crises; Financial innovation; Banking; "FinTech"; Carbon markets; Carbon finance; Energy finance; Electricity markets; Oil prices; Energy policy; Energy transition
Work: 64 3 479 8117
Email: ivan.diaz-rainey@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Lisa Ellis (Philosophy)

Political philosophy; Democratic theory; Environmental political thought; Environmental philosophy; Species conservation policy; Immanuel Kant; German social and political philosophy; Social contract theory
Work: 64 3 479 8727
Email: lisa.ellis@otago.ac.nz

Dr Rebecca Ford (Centre for Sustainability)

Energy and electricity systems, household energy demand, new energy technologies (solar PV, electric vehicles, home energy management), distributed generation, demand response, socio-technical transition
Work: 64 3 479 9244 | Mobile: 64 21 307 355
Email: rebecca.ford@otago.ac.nz

Professor Claire Freeman (Geography)

Planning and children's use of and relationship to the environment; Planning for nature, especially urban nature; Planning for sustainable development and communities; Planning for sustainability
Work: 64 3 479 8785
Email: cf@geography.otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Kimberly Hageman (Chemistry)

Organic pollutants (including pesticides, PCBs and PAHs) in the environment
Work: 64 3 479 4219
Email: khageman@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Dr Michael Knapp (Anatomy)

Ancient DNA; Bird genomics; Biodiversity; Species extinction; Palaeogenetics; Evolutionary biology; Molecular ecology; Biogeography; Human evolution; Ancient human migration; Environmental DNA
Work: 64 3 479 5169
Email: michael.knapp@anatomy.otago.ac.nz

Dr Alex Macmillan (Preventive and Social Medicine)

Transport and health; Bicycling; Urban planning and health; Climate change and health; Environmental sustainability and health
Work: 64 3 479 7196 | Mobile: 64 21 322 625
Email: alex.macmillan@otago.ac.nz

Professor Richard Morgan (Geography)

Environmental management; Environmental impact assessment in New Zealand and internationally (esp. Asia-Pacific) ; Health impact assessment; Strategic environmental assessment and public policies; Human impacts on soil and vegetation: soil pollution, vegetation ecology, plants and people
Work: 64 3 479 8782
Email: rkm@geography.otago.ac.nz

Dr Caroline Orchiston (Centre for Sustainability, Geography)

Natural hazards - earthquakes, tsunami; Tourism resilience; Disaster recovery; Earthquakes; Alpine Fault; Community preparedness for disasters | Mobile: 64 21 077 8888
Email: caroline.orchiston@otago.ac.nz

Professor Jon Waters (Zoology)

New Zealand natural history ; DNA evolution ; Conservation biology ; Biogeography ; Biodiversity ; Freshwater fish; Marine biology
Work: 64 3 479 5847
Email: jon.waters@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz