Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Aging

Clocktower at sunset

Professor David Baxter (School of Physiotherapy)

Physical Activity and Exercise in Health; Ageing Well; Men's health; Complementary Alternative Medicine, including Acupuncture; Pain management; Medical Lasers; Therapeutic Electrophysical agents; Physiotherapy
Work: 64 3 479 7411
Email: david.baxter@otago.ac.nz

Dr Wendy Busby (Medicine)

Health of older people
Work: 64 3 474 0999 x 57011
Email: wendyb@healthotago.co.nz

Dr Steve Kerr (Pharmacology and Toxicology)

Detection and analysis of marine algal toxins; Age-related changes in central neural system function; Biotechnology and instrument design; Neuronal sensitivity to excitotoxins
Work: 64 3 479 9142
Email: steve.kerr@otago.ac.nz

Dr Amanda Landers (Medicine, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Palliative medicine; End of life care; Pain management; Pancreatic cancer; Ethics
Work: 64 3 375 4274 | Mobile: 64 27 271 4918
Email: amanda.landers@nursemaude.org.nz

Emeritus Professor Richard Sainsbury (Medicine, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Autonomic function in the elderly; Health care of the elderly; Organisation of services for the elderly; Osteoporosis and hip fractures; Parkinson's disease; Literature in medicine
Email: dsain@xtra.co.nz

Associate Professor Debra Waters (School of Physiotherapy and Department of Medicine, Dunedin School of Medicine)

Influence of body composition (sarcopenia and sarcopenic-obesity) on function and frailty in ageing; Lifestyle interventions for pre-frail and frail older adults; Community-based peer-led falls prevention models
Work: 64 3 479 7222
Email: debra.waters@otago.ac.nz

Professor Tim Wilkinson (Medicine, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Medical Education - assessment, curriculum design/planning; Geriatric Medicine
Work: 64 3 337 7899
Email: tim.wilkinson@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz