Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Anatomy

Clocktower at sunset

Dr Lavanya Ajay Sharma (Anatomy)

Prosthodontics; Biomaterials; Regenerative dentistry
Work: 64 3 479 5182
Email: lavanya.ajay-sharma@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Greg Anderson (Anatomy)

Reproductive neuroendocrinology
Work: 64 3 479 7320 | Mobile: 64 21 0278 0819
Email: greg.anderson@otago.ac.nz

Dr Phil Blyth (Department of the Dean, Otago Medical School)

Surgical simulation; Clinical anatomy; eLearning
Work: 64 3 479 4290 | Mobile: 64 21 299 2237
Email: phil.blyth@otago.ac.nz

Dr Mihnea Bostina (Otago Centre for Electron Microscopy, Microbiology and Immunology)

Electron microscopy; Structural biology; Virology
Work: 64 3 479 7349
Email: mihnea.bostina@otago.ac.nz

Dr Yusuf Cakmak (Anatomy)

Neuromodulation; Meditation; Acupuncture; Anatomy; Blood flow; Electrostimulation; Electroacupuncture; Nerves
Work: 64 3 479 4030
Email: yusuf.cakmak@otago.ac.nz

Dr Andrew Clarke (Anatomy)

Human origins; Polynesian origins; Plant evolution; Origins of crop plants; Sweet potato/kumara; Ancient DNA
Work: 64 3 479 7376
Email: andrew.clarke@otago.ac.nz

Dr Andrew Clarkson (Anatomy/Psychology)

Stroke; Drugs that enhance recovery after brain injury; Axon growth and regeneration after brain injury; Neuroprotection; Cortical plasticity; Brain repair after injury
Work: 64 3 479 7326
Email: andrew.clarkson@otago.ac.nz

Professor David Grattan (Anatomy)

Regulation of body weight; Brain adaptions to pregnancy; Neuroendocrinology; Hormones and the brain; Sex differences in brain function
Work: 64 3 479 7442
Email: david.grattan@otago.ac.nz

Dr Sian Halcrow (Anatomy)

Study of human bones from archaeological sites; Health and disease of prehistoric infants and children; Social aspects of childhood in the past; Forensic anthropology; Biological anthropology Bioarchaeology
Work: 64 3 479 5265 | Mobile: 64 272 238 269
Email: sian.halcrow@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Niels Hammer (Anatomy)

Biomechanics ; Clinical anatomy ; Clinical trials ; Clinical workshops ; Mechanobiology ; Mechanical properties ; Osteology ; Plastination; Tissue engineering; Bioscaffolds ; Hip joint; Pelvis ; Spine
Work: 64 3 479 5992
Email: niels.hammer@otago.ac.nz

Dr Bradley Hurren (Anatomy)

Anatomical sciences education; Science communication; Developmental biology; Musculoskeletal biology; Neurobiology; Reproductive biology
Work: 64 3 479 5948
Email: bradley.hurren@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Christine Jasoni (Anatomy)

Brain and neuroendocrine development; Axon growth and regeneration; Real-time imaging of living cells; Neuroinformatics
Work: 64 3 479 3071
Email: christine.jasoni@otago.ac.nz

Professor Gareth Jones (Bioethics Centre, Anatomy)

Bioethics - especially as related to the dead human body, human tissue, the nervous system and the human embryo; artificial reproductive technologies; stem cells; Relationship between bioethics and theology; Anatomy education; plastination exhibitions
Work: 64 3 479 7365
Email: gareth.jones@otago.ac.nz

Dr Ruth Napper (Anatomy)

Effects of alcohol on brain development; Stereology
Work: 64 3 479 7367
Email: ruth.napper@otago.ac.nz

Professor Helen Nicholson (Anatomy)

Clinical anatomy; Body donation; Anatomical education; Prostate biology
Work: 64 3 479 5295 | Mobile: 64 21 244 9612
Email: helen.nicholson@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Dorothy Oorschot (Anatomy)

Brain circuits that control movement and thought; Low oxygen injury to children during pregnancy; Anatomical nerve and glial cell measurement
Work: 64 3 479 7379
Email: dorothy.oorschot@otago.ac.nz

Dr Louise Parr-Brownlie (Anatomy)

Neural mechanisms of voluntary movements and changes that underlie the movement deficits of Parkinson's disease; Deep brain stimulation treatment for Parkinson's disease; Changes in the brain that underlie chronic pain, particularly complex regional pain syndrome (CRPS)
Work: 64 3 479 4960
Email: louise.parr-brownlie@otago.ac.nz

Mr Vivek Perumal (Anatomy)

Clinical anatomy; Medical education; E-learning
Work: 64 3 479 5145
Email: vivek.perumal@otago.ac.nz

Dr Janette Quennell (Anatomy)

Ovarian biology and function; Brain regulation of reproduction; Bodyweight and fertility; Kisspeptin and metabolism; Leptin resistance
Work: 64 3 470 3445
Email: janette.quennell@otago.ac.nz

Professor John Reynolds (Anatomy)

Learning and memory mechanisms in the basal ganglia and cortex in the mammalian brain; Normal and disordered synaptic mechanisms in Parkinson's disease and stroke
Work: 64 3 479 5781
Email: john.reynolds@otago.ac.nz

Dr Latika Samalia (Anatomy)

Teaching clinical anatomy
Work: 64 3 479 5145
Email: latika.samalia@otago.ac.nz

Dr Helen Taylor (Anatomy)

Wildlife conservation; Inbreeding and inbreeding depression; Male fertility in birds; Bird reproduction; Kiwi genetics
Work: 64 3 479 7376
Email: helen.taylor@otago.ac.nz

Dr Ming Zhang (Anatomy)

Clinical anatomy; Deep fascia; Skull base surgical anatomy; Intracranial venous drainage; Peripheral nerve block
Work: 64 3 479 7378
Email: ming.zhang@anatomy.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Communications Office on +64 3 479 8263, or email jo.galer@otago.ac.nz