Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Biochemistry/Molecular Biology

Clocktower at sunset

Dr Donna Bond (Biochemistry)

Plant molecular biology; Plant biotechnology; RNA silencing and epigenetics in plants
Work: 64 3 479 7872
Email: donna.bond@otago.ac.nz

Professor Antony Braithwaite (Pathology - Dunedin School of Medicine)

Apoptosis; Cancer biology; DNA tumour viruses; Tumour suppressors; Viral oncoproteins
Work: 64 3 479 7165
Email: antony.braithwaite@otago.ac.nz

Dr Chris Brown (Biochemistry)

Genetics; Computer analysis of nucleotide sequences; Translational control of gene expression; Viral gene expression; Bioinformatics; Genomics; RNA; Virology
Work: 64 3 479 5201, 64 3 479 7875
Email: chris.brown@otago.ac.nz

Dr Lynette Brownfield (Biochemistry)

Plant molecular biology; Plant reproduction; Genetically modified plants
Work: 64 3 479 5151
Email: lynette.brownfield@otago.ac.nz

Professor Richard Cannon (Oral Sciences, Faculty of Dentistry)

Antifungal action; Mechanisms of antifungal resistance; Molecular biology; Molecular genetics of fungi; Physiology and biochemistry of yeast growth; Microbial colonisation; Antimicrobial drug discovery; Oral microbiology; Microbial adhesion
Work: 64 3 479 7081 | Mobile: 64 21 279 7081
Email: richard.cannon@otago.ac.nz

Dr Alan Carne (Biochemistry)

Retinal model for molecular analysis of vision; Protein composition of the eye; Protein chemistry, structure and function; Molecular biology
Work: 64 3 479 7855, 64 3 479 7849
Email: alan.carne@otago.ac.nz

Dr Aniruddha Chatterjee (Pathology)

Cancer genetics; Epigenetics; Bioinformatics; Next generation sequencing
Work: 64 3 470 3455 | Mobile: 64 21 070 1558
Email: aniruddha.chatterjee@otago.ac.nz

Professor Catherine Day (Biochemistry)

Protein biochemistry - including protein structure and function; Apoptosis (programmed cell death) - regulation by protein interactions
Work: 64 3 479 7871
Email: catherine.day@otago.ac.nz

Professor Peter Dearden (Biochemistry)

Biosecurity / Pest control; Developmental genetics; Evolutionary genetics; Horizontal Gene Transfer; Honey bees
Work: 64 3 479 7832
Email: peter.dearden@otago.ac.nz

Dr Anita Dunbier (Biochemistry)

Gene expression analysis; Translational cancer research; Breast cancer; Breast cancer genetics; Breast cancer therapy; Personalised medicine
Work: 64 3 479 9258
Email: anita.dunbier@otago.ac.nz

Professor Julian Eaton-Rye (Biochemistry)

Plant physiology and biochemistry; Photosynthesis
Work: 64 3 479 7865, 64 3 479 5153
Email: julian.eaton-rye@otago.ac.nz

Dr Monica Gerth (Biochemistry)

Protein engineering; Protein evolution; Synthetic biology
Work: 64 3 479 7897
Email: monica.gerth@otago.ac.nz

Professor Parry Guilford (Biochemistry)

Cancer genetics; Inherited cancer; Cancer drug development; Cancer diagnostics
Work: 64 3 479 7673 | Mobile: 64 27 221 5633
Email: parry.guilford@otago.ac.nz

Dr Stephanie Hughes (Biochemistry)

Gene therapy; Viral vectors; Batten disease; Lysosomal storage
Work: 64 3 479 3761
Email: stephanie.hughes@otago.ac.nz

Dr Mikhail Keniya (Oral Sciences - Faculty of Dentistry )

Molecular biology; Biochemistry; Microbiology; Oxidative stress; Drug resistance; Cell culture; Cloning; Yeast models
Work: 64 3 479 7435 | Mobile: 64 22 183 5243
Email: mikhail.keniya@otago.ac.nz

Professor Kurt Krause (Biochemistry, Webster Centre for Infectious Diseases)

Human infectious diseases; Antibiotics, antibiotic resistance; Structural biology; Protein chemistry; Bioluminescence; Protein crystallography
Work: 64 3 479 7864
Email: kurt.krause@otago.ac.nz

Professor Iain Lamont (Biochemistry)

Infectious disease; Antibiotic resistance; Gene expression; Pseudomonas; Cystic fibrosis; Genome analysis
Work: 64 3 479 7869, 64 3 479 7847
Email: iain.lamont@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Craig Marshall (Biochemistry)

Antarctic marine and terrestrial biology; Cold adaptation, particularly in proteins; Freezing tolerance and freezing avoidance; Antifreeze proteins and how they work; Protein purification; Antarctic history; Oyster and oyster parasite genetics and biochemistry; Heavy metal accumulation in shellfish
Work: 64 3 479 7570 | Home: 64 3 487 9841
Email: craig.marshall@otago.ac.nz

Professor Andrew Mercer (Virus Research Unit, Microbiology and Immunology)

Animal virology; Cell culture; Microbial genetics; Microbial pathogenesis; Molecular biology; Vaccine development
Work: 64 3 479 7730
Email: andy.mercer@otago.ac.nz

Professor Tony Merriman (Biochemistry)

Genetics of common disease; Genetics of Autoimmune disease; Genetics of Arthritis; Type 1 diabetes; Cloning disease genes
Work: 64 3 479 5798
Email: tony.merriman@otago.ac.nz

Dr Wayne Patrick (Biochemistry)

Proteins and enzymes; Protein evolution; Protein engineering
Work: 64 3 479 7897
Email: wayne.patrick@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Russell Poulter (Biochemistry)

Fungal genetics; Genomics; Genetics; Genetics of plants; Human genetics
Work: 64 3 479 7856, 64 3 479 7857
Email: russell.poulter@otago.ac.nz

Dr Miriam Sharpe (Biochemistry)

Structural biology; Bioluminescence; Protein crystallography; Protein biochemistry; Protein purification; Molecular biology; Transcriptomics
Work: 64 3 479 5148
Email: miriam.sharpe@otago.ac.nz

Professor Warren Tate (Biochemistry)

DNA library construction; Gene expression; Protein biochemistry; Protein synthesis; Recombinant DNA technology; Regulation of protein production; RNA synthesis; Genetic modification and society; HIV Therapy; Memory mechanisms
Work: 64 3 479 7864
Email: warren.tate@otago.ac.nz

Dr Sigurd Wilbanks (Biochemistry)

Molecular chaperones; Stress-related proteins; Protein structure; Protein chemistry; Protein X-ray crystallography
Work: 64 3 479 7850
Email: sigurd.wilbanks@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz