Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Bioethics

Clocktower at sunset

Dr Angela Ballantyne (Primary Health Care and General Practice, University of Otago, Wellington)

Human research ethics; Research with vulnerable populations; Abortion ethics; Exploitation in research; Paid surrogacy; Paid egg donation; IVF and sex selection
Work: 64 4 918 5090
Email: angela.ballantyne@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Colin Gavaghan (Centre for Emerging Technologies, Faculty of Law)

Medical law and ethics; Regulation of reproductive and genetic technologies; Neurolaw
Work: 64 3 479 8852 | Mobile: 64 27 367 3572
Email: colin.gavaghan@otago.ac.nz

Professor Grant Gillett (Bioethics Centre)

Stem cells; End of life issues; Continental philosophy; Mind and brain; The human soul
Work: 64 3 471 6127
Email: grant.gillett@otago.ac.nz

Professor Gareth Jones (Bioethics Centre, Anatomy)

Bioethics - especially as related to the dead human body, human tissue, the nervous system and the human embryo; artificial reproductive technologies; stem cells; Relationship between bioethics and theology; Anatomy education; plastination exhibitions
Work: 64 3 479 7365
Email: gareth.jones@otago.ac.nz

Dr Mike King (Bioethics Centre)

Moral status of animals; Scientific responsibility; Ethics of assisted reproductive technologies
Work: 64 3 471 6130
Email: mike.king@otago.ac.nz

Professor John McMillan (Bioethics Centre)

Ethics; Research ethics; Assisted reproductive technologies; Mental health ethics; End of life issues
Work: 64 3 471 6135 | Mobile: 64 21 279 6123
Email: john.mcmillan@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Andrew Moore (Philosophy)

Ethics; Applied and professional ethics; Bioethics; Political philosophy; Ethics and public policy
Work: 64 3 479 8729
Email: andrew.moore@otago.ac.nz

Professor Jing-Bao Nie (Bioethics Centre - Dunedin School of Medicine)

Cross-cultural and international medical ethics; Abortion, population control and reproductive ethics; Bioethics and social science; Medical humanities; Chinese and East Asian medical ethics; Traditional Chinese medicine; Chinese-western comparative history of medicine
Work: 64 3 471 6129
Email: jing-bao.nie@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Neil Pickering (Bioethics Centre)

Philosophy of medicine; Philosophy and ethics of psychiatry and mental health; Medical humanities, literature and ethics
Work: 64 3 471 6126
Email: neil.pickering@otago.ac.nz

Dr Janine Winters (Bioethics)

Clinical bioethics (particularly end-of-life issues and dilemmas in paediatric decision making)
Work: 64 3 471 6125
Email: janine.winters@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Communications Office on +64 3 479 8263, or email jo.galer@otago.ac.nz