Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Bioinformatics

Clocktower at sunset

Dr Josie Athens (Preventive and Social Medicine)

Theoretical Biology; Tumour Immunology; Infectious Diseases; Complex Systems; Mathematical Models and Biostatistics
Work: 64 3 479 5138
Email: josie.athens@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Lubica Benuskova (Computer Science)

Biologically inspired computing; Dynamics of artificial neural networks
Work: 64 3 479 8587
Email: lubica@cs.otago.ac.nz

Dr Ambarish Biswas (Department of Microbiology and Immunology)

Bioinformatics; Next Generation Sequence data analysis (e.g. WGS, metagenomic, big data etc.); Novel algorithm development; Data analysis pipeline construction and customization; Standalone and web-application development; Database construction and management; Server administration
Work: 64 3 479 7715
Email: ambarish.biswas@otago.ac.nz

Dr Chris Brown (Biochemistry)

Genetics; Computer analysis of nucleotide sequences; Translational control of gene expression; Viral gene expression; Bioinformatics; Genomics; RNA; Virology
Work: 64 3 479 5201, 64 3 479 7875
Email: chris.brown@otago.ac.nz

Dr Tony Lough (New Zealand Genomics Ltd)

Provision of genomics service delivery to underpin New Zealand research in a range of areas including medicine, agriculture & the environment
Work: 64 3 470 3543 | Mobile: 64 21 0223 8591
Email: tony.lough@nzgenomics.co.nz

Dr Peter Stockwell (Biochemistry)

Bioinformatics; Computational analysis of sequence database information; Next Generation Sequencing, data analysis and management
Work: 64 3 479 7880
Email: peter.stockwell@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz