Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Child Health

Clocktower at sunset

Professor Spencer Beasley (University of Otago, Christchurch)

Paediatric Surgery
Work: 64 3 364 0432 | Mobile: 64 27 2246 522
Email: spencer.beasley@cdhb.health.nz

Associate Professor Roland Broadbent (Women's and Children's Health - Paediatrics and Child Health)

Paediatrics; Neonatology; Neonatal Jaundice; Neonatal Pharmacology; Neonatal CPAP
Work: 64 3 474 0999 x 8223
Email: roland.broadbent@otago.ac.nz

Emeritus Professor Brian Darlow (Paediatrics, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Neonatology ; Free radical disease ; Long-term follow-up after prematurity
Work: 64 3 364 0747
Email: brian.darlow@otago.ac.nz

Professor Dawn Elder (Paediatrics and Child Health, University of Otago, Wellington)

Neonatal medicine; Child sexual abuse; Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS); Perinatal mortality; Paediatric sleep medicine
Work: 64 4 385 5999 x6145, pager 64 4 385 5999 x 2198 | Mobile: 027 449 1836
Email: dawn.elder@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Barbara Galland (Women's and Children's Health)

Sleep and cardiorespiratory physiology in infants/children; Sudden Infant Death Syndrome and sleep and breathing disorders
Work: 64 3 470 9478 | Home: 64 3 455 7842
Email: barbara.galland@otago.ac.nz

Dr Fiona Graham (Rehabilitation Teaching & Research Unit, Medicine, University of Otago, Wellington)

Rehabilitation; Child development; Occupational therapy; Caregiver coaching; Participation
Work: 64 3 338 3217
Email: fi.graham@otago.ac.nz

Professor Rob McGee (Preventive and Social Medicine)

Tobacco control; Smokefree 2025; Promoting the health and well-being of adolescents and young adults
Work: 64 3 479 7215
Email: rob.mcgee@otago.ac.nz

Professor Richie Poulton (Psychology)

Behavioural medicine; Human health and development; Longitudinal research methods; Developmental aspects of psychiatric disorder
Work: 64 3 479 8507
Email: richie.poulton@otago.ac.nz

Emeritus Professor Kevin Pringle (Obstetrics & Gynaecology, University of Otago, Wellington)

Paediatric surgery; Paediatric urology; Fetal diagnosis & therapy, including fetal surgery
Email: kevin.pringle@otago.ac.nz

Professor Stephen Robertson (Women's and Children's Health, Dunedin School of Medicine)

Clinical genetics; Paediatric genetics; Genetic testing
Work: 64 3 479 7469
Email: stephen.robertson@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Lynette Sadleir (Paediatrics and Child Health, University of Otago, Wellington)

Paediatric neurology; Epilepsy; Epilepsy genetics; Electroencephalograms
Work: 64 4 385 5541 x 6138
Email: lynette.sadleir@otago.ac.nz

Dr Jean Simpson (Injury Prevention Research Unit, Preventive and Social Medicine)

Child injury; Child injury prevention; Public Health; Health promotion; Programme evaluation; Qualitative research
Work: 64 3 479 8338
Email: jean.simpson@ipru.otago.ac.nz

Dr Paula Skidmore (Human Nutrition)

Childhood nutrition; Childhood obesity; Nutrition and chronic disease
Work: 64 3 479 8374
Email: paula.skidmore@otago.ac.nz

Dr Thorsten Stanley (Paediatrics and Child Health, University of Otago, Wellington)

Neonatology; Epilepsy; Allergy; Asthma; General pediatrics
Work: 64 4 918 6142 | Mobile: 64 21 243 6632
Email: thorsten.stanley@otago.ac.nz

Professor Barry Taylor (Dunedin School of Medicine)

Child Health; Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS); Sleep disorders in children; Paediatric endocrinology (Growth disorders); Diabetes in Children and Youth; Childhood obesity
Work: 64 3 470 9755 | Mobile: 64 21 616 229
Email: barry.taylor@otago.ac.nz

Professor Rachael Taylor (Edgar Diabetes & Obesity Research)

Body composition and obesity (prevention and management) in children
Work: 64 3 479 5262
Email: rachael.taylor@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Esko Wiltshire (Paediatrics and Child Health, University of Otago, Wellington)

Childhood Diabetes; Diabetes complications; Paediatric endocrinology; Paediatric metabolic diseases
Work: 64 4 918 6912
Email: esko.wiltshire@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Communications Office on +64 3 479 8263, or email jo.galer@otago.ac.nz