Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Cancer - Drug / Vaccine Research

Clocktower at sunset

Dr Sarah Baird (Pharmacology and Toxicology)

Cancer stroma; Cancer metastasis; Cell death including apoptosis and necrosis; Targeted therapies for cancer; Cancer development; Drug development from natural products; Mesenchymal stem cells
Work: 64 3 479 7261
Email: s.baird@otago.ac.nz

Professor Michael Eccles (Pathology)

Genes involved in cancer; Mechanisms of cancer development; Genes in melanoma development; Therapies to treat cancer, particularly those that target genes involved in cancer
Work: 64 3 479 7878
Email: michael.eccles@otago.ac.nz

Professor Parry Guilford (Biochemistry)

Cancer genetics; Inherited cancer; Cancer drug development; Cancer diagnostics
Work: 64 3 479 7673 | Mobile: 64 27 221 5633
Email: parry.guilford@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Merilyn Hibma (Microbiology and Immunology)

Cancer-causing viruses; Human papillomavirus; Cervical cancer; Viral manipulation of cells and the host immune response
Work: 64 3 479 7726
Email: merilyn.hibma@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Roslyn Kemp (Microbiology and Immunology)

Immunology; White blood cells; Vaccination; Tumour Immunity; Inflammation
Work: 64 3 479 7708
Email: roslyn.kemp@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Alexander McLellan (Microbiology and Immunology)

Infection and immunity; Vaccines; Cancer and thrombosis
Work: 64 3 479 7728
Email: alex.mclellan@otago.ac.nz

Professor Justin Roake (Surgery - University of Otago, Christchurch)

Dendritic cell biology and dendritic cell-based anti cancer vaccines; Prioritisation for clinical surgery; Management of intermittent claudication; Simulation in clinical teaching; Prioritisation for clinical surgery; Vascular Surgery; Transplantation Surgery
Work: 64 3 364 0014
Email: justin.roake@cdhb.govt.nz

Associate Professor Sarah Young (Pathology)

Immunology; Vaccines against infectious diseases and cancer; DNA vaccines against TB; Virus-like particle (VLP) vaccines against Chlamydia and melanoma
Work: 64 3 479 7157
Email: sarah.young@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz