Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Cancer - Genetic Research

Clocktower at sunset

Associate Professor Mik Black (Biochemistry)

Bioinformatics; Statistics; Genomics; Gene expression analysis; Cancer genomics; Network/Pathway analysis; Bayesian statistics
Work: 64 3 479 7831
Email: mik.black@otago.ac.nz

Professor Antony Braithwaite (Pathology - Dunedin School of Medicine)

Apoptosis; Cancer biology; DNA tumour viruses; Tumour suppressors; Viral oncoproteins
Work: 64 3 479 7165
Email: antony.braithwaite@otago.ac.nz

Dr Aniruddha Chatterjee (Pathology)

Cancer genetics; Epigenetics; Bioinformatics; Next generation sequencing
Work: 64 3 470 3455 | Mobile: 64 21 070 1558
Email: aniruddha.chatterjee@otago.ac.nz

Dr Heather Cunliffe (Pathology)

Breast Cancer; Ovarian Cancer; Mechanisms of cancer development and progression; Hormones and cancer (Cancer endocrinology); Genes involved in cancer; Targeted therapies in cancer; Genome Technology
Work: 64 3 479 7142
Email: heather.cunliffe@otago.ac.nz

Dr Anita Dunbier (Biochemistry)

Gene expression analysis; Translational cancer research; Breast cancer; Breast cancer genetics; Breast cancer therapy; Personalised medicine
Work: 64 3 479 9258
Email: anita.dunbier@otago.ac.nz

Professor Michael Eccles (Pathology)

Genes involved in cancer; Mechanisms of cancer development; Genes in melanoma development; Therapies to treat cancer, particularly those that target genes involved in cancer
Work: 64 3 479 7878
Email: michael.eccles@otago.ac.nz

Dr Peter Ganly (Pathology, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Haematological malignant disease - leukaemia, lymphoma, myeloma; Haematopoietic stem cell transplantation; Cancer Genetics
Work: 64 3 364 1450

Professor Parry Guilford (Biochemistry)

Cancer genetics; Inherited cancer; Cancer drug development; Cancer diagnostics
Work: 64 3 479 7673 | Mobile: 64 27 221 5633
Email: parry.guilford@otago.ac.nz

Professor Ian Morison (Pathology, Dunedin School of Medicine)

Childhood leukaemia(genetics/epigenetics) Myelodysplastic syndrome (myelodysplasia); Developmental epigenetics; Placenta epigenetics; Haemochromatosis; Blood diseases ; Familial platelet disorders (genetics); Clinical laboratory diagnostics; Imprinting
Work: 64 3 479 7170
Email: ian.morison@otago.ac.nz

Professor Anthony Reeve (Biochemistry)

Cancer molecular biology; Cancer research; Cancer genetics; Human genetics; Genomics; Colorectal cancer; Wilms tumour
Work: 64 3 479 7699
Email: anthony.reeve@otago.ac.nz

Dr Janice Royds (Pathology, Dunedin School of Medicine)

p53 and other tumour suppressor gene dysfunction in solid tumours; Role of p53 in genetic/telomeric instability in brain tumours; Studies on YB-1 as a new potential oncogene; Inter-relationship between developmental Pax proteins and glioma brain tumours; Molecular basis of therapeutics for combating cancer,including virotherapy
Work: 64 3 479 7471
Email: janice.royds@otago.ac.nz

Dr Logan Walker (Pathology, University of Otago Christchurch)

Cancer research; Familial breast cancer; Breast cancer genetics; Endometrial cancer genetics; Rare DNA sequence changes and cancer susceptibility
Work: 64 3 364 0530
Email: logan.walker@otago.ac.nz

Dr Adele Woolley (Pathology)

Cancer biology; Tumour suppressors and oncogenes, particularly YB-1; Developmental pathways re-expressed in cancer, such as epithelial-mesenchymal transition (EMT)
Work: 64 3 479 7165
Email: adele.woolley@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Communications Office on +64 3 479 8263, or email jo.galer@otago.ac.nz