Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Cancer -Treatment

Clocktower at sunset

Dr Heather Cunliffe (Pathology)

Breast Cancer; Ovarian Cancer; Mechanisms of cancer development and progression; Hormones and cancer (Cancer endocrinology); Genes involved in cancer; Targeted therapies in cancer; Genome Technology
Work: 64 3 479 7142
Email: heather.cunliffe@otago.ac.nz

Dr Margaret Currie (Pathology, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Tumour microenvironment ; Tumour growth; Tumour cell metastasis ; Tumour response to therapy
Work: 64 3 364 0554 | Mobile: 64 21 135 7576
Email: margaret.currie@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Gabi Dachs (Pathology, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Cancer; Tumour hypoxia; Vitamin C
Work: 64 3 364 0544
Email: gabi.dachs@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Tim Eglinton (Surgery, University of Otago, Christchurch)

General surgery; Laparoscopic surgery; Colorectal cancer; Inflammatory bowel disease; Crohn's disease; Diverticular Disease
Work: 64 3 364 0014
Email: tim.eglinton@cdhb.health.nz

Professor Frank Frizelle (Surgery, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Management and outcomes in colorectal disease patients (especially colorectal cancer); Locally recurrent rectal cancer; Anal cancer; Diverticular disease and inflammatory bowel disease; Medical, legal and publication issues related to medicine and surgery;
Work: 64 3 364 0014
Email: frank.frizelle@cdhb.govt.nz

Dr Peter Ganly (Pathology, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Haematological malignant disease - leukaemia, lymphoma, myeloma; Haematopoietic stem cell transplantation; Cancer Genetics
Work: 64 3 364 1450

Professor Parry Guilford (Biochemistry)

Cancer genetics; Inherited cancer; Cancer drug development; Cancer diagnostics
Work: 64 3 479 7673 | Mobile: 64 27 221 5633
Email: parry.guilford@otago.ac.nz

Dr Christopher Jackson (Medicine)

Cancer treatment; Colorectal Cancer; Cancer Research; Clinical Cancer Trials; Melanoma; Stomach Cancer; Oesophageal Cancer; Pancreatic Cancer
Email: christopher.jackson@southerndhb.govt.nz

Dr Lynette Jones (School of Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Sciences)

Exercise and cancer, particularly breast cancer; Use of exercise for healthy survivorship following a cancer diagnosis
Work: 64 3 479 8962 | Mobile: 64 21 208 3293
Email: lynnette.jones@otago.ac.nz

Professor John McCall (Surgical Sciences)

Gastrointestinal cancer; Liver surgery; Liver transplantation
Work: 64 3 474 0999 x 57344 | Mobile: 64 21 274 5568
Email: john.mccall@otago.ac.nz

Professor Bridget Robinson (Medicine, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Cancer chemotherapy; Breast cancer; Colorectal cancer; Translational cancer research; Tissue banking for cancer research
Work: 64 3 364 0361
Email: Bridget.Robinson@cdhb.health.nz

Dr Benedict Seo (Faculty of Dentistry)

Oral cancer; Oral pathology; Dental pathology; Oral cancer research
Work: 64 3 479 7046
Email: benedict.seo@otago.ac.nz

Professor Richard Stubbs (Wakefield Research Group, University of Otago, Wellington)

Hepatobiliary and pancreatic surgery ; Liver tumours ; Bariatric surgery; Management of liver tumours ; Management of severe obesity and its comorbidities by gastric bypass surgery; Colorectal cancer metastases; Obesity and diabetes ; Insulin resistance and its resolution by gastric bypass surgery
Work: 64 4 806 1504
Email: richard.stubbs@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz