Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Diseases/Disorders

Clocktower at sunset

Associate Professor Haxby Abbott (Orthopaedic Surgery, Surgical Sciences)

Osteoarthritis: hip and knee; Low back pain; Heel pain/'plantar fasciitis'/'tibialis posterior tendonitis'; 'Tennis elbow'/lateral elbow pain; Limited prescribing authority; Accuracy of physiotherapists' clinical examination and diagnosis; Effectiveness of physiotherapy for musculoskeletal conditions
Work: 64 3 474 0999 x 58615 | Mobile: 64 27 289 0863
Email: haxby.abbott@otago.ac.nz

Professor Tim Anderson (Medicine, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Stuttering; Laser methods of oculomotor recording; Parkinsonism and movement disorder; Eye movement in neurological diseases
Work: 64 3 3640 938, 64 3 364 0530 x 80929
Email: tim.anderson@otago.ac.nz

Dr Fiona Doolan-Noble (General Practice and Rural Health)

Rural health; Chronic disease management; Multimorbidity; Quality improvement
Work: 64 3 479 9186
Email: fiona.doolan-noble@otago.ac.nz

Dr James M (Jim) Faed (Pathology, Dunedin School of Medicine)

Blood transfusion medicine; Bleeding and clotting disorders; Laboratory cell culture systems; Adult stem cells
Work: 64 3 470 9364 | Home: 64 3 466 7927
Email: jim.faed@otago.ac.nz

Emeritus Professor Robin Fraser (Pathology, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Atherosclerosis, cholesterol and the liver
Email: robin.fraser@otago.ac.nz

Professor Frank Frizelle (Surgery, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Management and outcomes in colorectal disease patients (especially colorectal cancer); Locally recurrent rectal cancer; Anal cancer; Diverticular disease and inflammatory bowel disease; Medical, legal and publication issues related to medicine and surgery;
Work: 64 3 364 0014
Email: frank.frizelle@cdhb.govt.nz

Professor Richard Gearry (Medicine, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Gastroenterology; Inflammatory bowel disease; Irritable bowel syndrome; Coeliac disease; Colorectal cancer; Dietary manipulation of gut symptoms
Work: 64 3 364 1567
Email: richard.gearry@cdhb.health.nz

Associate Professor Andrew Harrison (Medicine, University of Otago, Wellington)

Arthritis; Rheumatology; Medicines for arthritis; Gout; Access to treatment for rheumatic disease; Rheumatology service delivery
Work: 64 4 566 6999 | Mobile: 64 27 220 5064
Email: andrew.harrison@otago.ac.nz

Dr Paul Hessian (Medicine)

Inflammatory diseases; Gene expression in inflammation; Tissue destruction and metalloproteinases; Toll-like receptor-9 in rheumatoid arthritis; Cell motility and adhesion; S100 calcium-binding proteins; Phagocytic cells; Arthritis; Rheumatoid nodules
Work: 64 3 470 9103
Email: paul.hessian@otago.ac.nz

Professor Brian Hyland (Physiology)

Brain reward systems; Brain mechanisms for movement control; Research into treatments for Parkinson's disease
Work: 64 3 479 7342
Email: brian.hyland@otago.ac.nz

Dr Christopher Jackson (Medicine)

Cancer treatment; Colorectal Cancer; Cancer Research; Clinical Cancer Trials; Melanoma; Stomach Cancer; Oesophageal Cancer; Pancreatic Cancer
Email: christopher.jackson@southerndhb.govt.nz

Associate Professor Greg Jones (Surgical Sciences, Dunedin School of Medicine)

Cardiovascular genetics; Risk factors for cardiovascular disease; Population screening for vascular diseases; Abdominal aortic aneurysm; Vascular histopathology; Population epigenetics
Work: 64 3 474 0999 x 58849
Email: greg.jones@otago.ac.nz

Professor Richard Jones (Medicine, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Biomedical engineering; Neural engineering; Neurotechnology; Human performance engineering; Quantification of upper-limb sensory-motor & cognitive dysfunction, particularly in brain disorders (stroke, Parkinson's disease, traumatic brain injury); Off-road prediction of driving ability; Lapses of responsiveness - characteristics and detection from behavioural measures (tracking and videometrics) and electrophysiological signals (EEG, EOG); Signal processing in clinical neurophysiology; Detection of epileptic activity; Virtual-reality approaches to neurorehabilitation; Neural control of swallowing
Work: 64 3 378 6077
Email: richard.jones@otago.ac.nz

Dr Jacqui Keenan (Surgery, University of Otago,Christchurch)

Gut bacteria and colorectal disease
Work: 64 3 364 0570
Email: jacqui.keenan@otago.ac.nz

Dr Joanna Kirman (Microbiology and Immunology)

Vaccine development; Infectious disease immunology; Tuberculosis; Bronchiolitis; Respiratory Syncytial Virus
Work: 64 3 479 7714
Email: jo.kirman@otago.ac.nz

Dr Ramakrishnan Mani (School of Physiotherapy)

Biopsychosocial model of pain- chronic pain; Pain neurosciences: Brain and spinal cord mechanisms in chronic pain (neuroplasticity, and psychosocial factors) ; Pain mechanisms; Pain education ; Pain curriculum ; Predictors of musculoskeletal pain/disability- longitudinal studies ; Sedentary behaviour and physical activity in chronic health conditions including pain
Work: 64 3 479 3485
Email: ramakrishnan.mani@otago.ac.nz

Dr Sue McAllister (Preventive and Social Medicine)

HIV/AIDS
Work: 64 3 479 7108
Email: sue.mcallister@otago.ac.nz

Professor Ian Morison (Pathology, Dunedin School of Medicine)

Childhood leukaemia(genetics/epigenetics) Myelodysplastic syndrome (myelodysplasia); Developmental epigenetics; Placenta epigenetics; Haemochromatosis; Blood diseases ; Familial platelet disorders (genetics); Clinical laboratory diagnostics; Imprinting
Work: 64 3 479 7170
Email: ian.morison@otago.ac.nz

Professor Lisa Stamp (Medicine, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Gout; Arthritis
Work: 64 3 364 0253
Email: lisa.stamp@cdhb.health.nz

Dr Thorsten Stanley (Paediatrics and Child Health, University of Otago, Wellington)

Neonatology; Epilepsy; Allergy; Asthma; General pediatrics
Work: 64 4 918 6142 | Mobile: 64 21 243 6632
Email: thorsten.stanley@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Lois Surgenor (Psychological Medicine, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Eating disorders, particularly anorexia nervosa
Work: 64 3 372 0400
Email: lois.surgenor@otago.ac.nz

Dr Ayesha Verrall (Pathology and Molecular Medicine, University of Otago, Wellington)

Infectious diseases; Tuberculosis; Clinical infectious diseases; Tropical medicine
Work: 64 4 918 5936
Email: ayesha.verrall@otago.ac.nz

Professor Robert Walker (Medicine)

Kidney disease, dialysis and transplantation; Cardiovascular risk factors in chronic kidney disease; Drug nephrotoxicity – drug-induced kidney injury ; Oxidative stress in Chronic Kidney Disease; Obesity and metabolic syndrome; Interventions in acute renal failure; Renal genetics and developmental abnormalities -renal cystic disease; Primary cilia and renal disease; Kidney function in endurance sports
Work: 64 3 474 0999 x 58538
Email: rob.walker@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Communications Office on +64 3 479 8263, or email jo.galer@otago.ac.nz