Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

General Practice/Primary Care

Clocktower at sunset

Professor Peter Crampton

Deprivation and health; Poverty; Primary health care policy; Health care funding
Work: 64 3 479 7413
Email: peter.crampton@otago.ac.nz

Dr Olivia Currie (General Practice and Rural Health, University of Otago, Christchurch)

General practice; Pharmacovigilance; Polypharmacy; Patient portal; Analyses of electronic medical data; Model of care in general practice
Work: 64 6 364 6969
Email: olivia.currie@otago.ac.nz

Dr Ben Darlow (Primary Care and General Practice, University of Otago Wellington)

Back pain; Attitudes and beliefs about back pain; Physiotherapy; Movement, activity, and health; Collaborative practice; Interprofessional education
Work: 64 4 918 6051 | Mobile: 64 21 079 4693
Email: ben.darlow@otago.ac.nz

Professor Susan Dovey (Royal New Zealand College of General Practitioners Research Unit)

General practice research; International primary care research; Patient safety research; General practice fees and charges; Primary care databases (including diabetes and cardiovascular)
Work: 64 3 479 4135 | Home: 64 3 454 3424
Email: susan.dovey@otago.ac.nz

Professor Tony Dowell (Primary Health Care and General Practice, University of Otago, Wellington)

General Practice; Primary care; Mental health in primary care; Analysis of health practitioner/patient interactions
Work: 64 4 385 5995 | Mobile: 64 21 270 1617
Email: tony.dowell@otago.ac.nz

Dr Ben Gray (Primary Health Care and General Practice, University of Otago, Wellington)

Primary care for disadvantaged populations; Intercultural care including use of interpreters; Addiction care in general practice including methadone treatment; Long-term condition management; Management of error, adverse events, sentinel events; Clinical ethics living with diversity
Work: 64 4 918 5166
Email: ben.gray@otago.ac.nz

Dr Katherine Hall (General Practice and Rural Health)

Ethics; Decision-making; Medical humanities; General practice
Work: 64 3 467 5408
Email: katherine.hall@otago.ac.nz

Professor Derelie (Dee) Mangin (General Practice, University of Otago, Christchurch)

General practice and public health; Prescribing; Prescribing education for GPs; Antibiotic resistance monitoring in primary care; Iron deficiency in infants; Community treatment of pneumonia; Direct to consumer advertising of prescription medicines
Work: 64 3 364 3602
Email: derelie.mangin@otago.ac.nz

Dr Lynn McBain (Primary Health Care and General Practice, University of Otago, Wellington)

Primary care; General practice; Use of referred services: lab testing, x-rays, pharmaceuticals in primary care
Work: 64 4 385 5995 | Mobile: 64 27 2414 082
Email: lynn.mcbain@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Eileen McKinlay (Primary Health Care and General Practice, University of Otago, Wellington)

Primary health care nursing; Palliative care; Nursing research; Quality auditing
Work: 64 4 385 5995
Email: eileen.mckinlay@otago.ac.nz

Professor Susan Pullon (Primary Care and General Practice, University of Otago, Wellington)

Medical education; Primary health care; Sexual and reproductive health; General practice in primary health care; Workforce development for primary care; Health education; Health education for pregnancy, birth and early parenting
Work: 64 4 385 5541x 5626, 64 4 385 5995 | Mobile: 64 27 436 8621
Email: sue.pullon@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor James (Jim) Reid (Dunedin School of Medicine)

Asthma; Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease; Resources in Primary Health Care; Primary Health Care in general; Influenza
Work: 474 7874
Email: jim.reid@otago.ac.nz

Dr Lauralie Richard (General Practice and Rural Health)

Innovative service designs; Models and practices to promote health equity for vulnerable populations; Access to primary health care; Consumer engagement, service co-design and community-driven initiatives; Community-based primary health care using collaborative and participatory designs)
Email: lauralie.richard@otago.ac.nz

Professor Tim Stokes (General Practice and Rural Health)

Health services and health delivery research; General practice
Work: 64 3 479 7446
Email: tim.stokes@otago.ac.nz

Dr Maria Stubbe (Primary Health Care and General Practice, University of Otago, Wellington)

Communication and health
Work: 64 4 806 1838 | Mobile: 64 27 406 7381
Email: maria.stubbe@otago.ac.nz

Professor Murray Tilyard (General Practice and Rural Health)

Primary care/general practice; General practice prescribing and test ordering; Health service use (both primary and secondary); Electronic decision support; Primary care informatics; Primary care databases; Reasons for attendance in primary care; Palliative care in primary setting
Work: 64 3 479 7430
Email: mtilyard@gp.otago.ac.nz

Dr Katharine Wallis (General Practice & Rural Health)

Patient safety, professional regulation and medical ethics
Work: 64 3 479 7418 | Mobile: 64 275 374 544
Email: katharine.wallis@otago.ac.nz

Dr Martyn Williamson (General Practice and Rural Health )

Rural health; General practice/primary care; Undergraduate medical education
Work: 64 3 479 7430 | Mobile: 64 27 585 0353
Email: martyn.williamson@otago.ac.nz

Dr Hamish Wilson (Faculty of Medicine and General Practice)

Undergraduate medical education; Professional development; Mentoring/supervision; Community-based learning; Doctor - patient relationship
Work: 64 3 479 7450 | Home: 64 3 467 9941 | Mobile: 64 21 267 6994
Email: hwilson@gp.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz