Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Human Genetics and Health

Clocktower at sunset

Dr Josie Athens (Preventive and Social Medicine)

Theoretical Biology; Tumour Immunology; Infectious Diseases; Complex Systems; Mathematical Models and Biostatistics
Work: 64 3 479 5138
Email: josie.athens@otago.ac.nz

Dr Louise Bicknell (Pathology)

Genetics of rare human disease; Genome sequencing; Human genetic variation
Work: 64 3 479 7172
Email: louise.bicknell@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Mik Black (Biochemistry)

Bioinformatics; Statistics; Genomics; Gene expression analysis; Cancer genomics; Network/Pathway analysis; Bayesian statistics
Work: 64 3 479 7831
Email: mik.black@otago.ac.nz

Professor Vicky Cameron (Christchurch Heart Institute, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Genetic factors contributing to heart disease (heart attacks and heart failure); Defining genetic markers for predicting susceptibility to and progression of heart disease in the population, including both Maori and non-Maori
Work: 64 3 364 1210
Email: vicky.cameron@otago.ac.nz

Dr Anita Dunbier (Biochemistry)

Gene expression analysis; Translational cancer research; Breast cancer; Breast cancer genetics; Breast cancer therapy; Personalised medicine
Work: 64 3 479 9258
Email: anita.dunbier@otago.ac.nz

Professor Michael Eccles (Pathology)

Genes involved in cancer; Mechanisms of cancer development; Genes in melanoma development; Therapies to treat cancer, particularly those that target genes involved in cancer
Work: 64 3 479 7878
Email: michael.eccles@otago.ac.nz

Professor Mac Gardner (Clinical Genetics Group, Pathology)

Medical genetics | Home: 64 3 454 4781 | Mobile: 64 21 805 455
Email: macgardner@gmail.com

Professor Neil Gemmell (Anatomy)

Evolutionary genetics and genomics; Livestock and human reproduction; Livestock and human health and disease; Control of mammalian reproduction
Work: 64 3 479 6824
Email: neil.gemmell@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Julia Horsfield (Pathology)

Chromosome structure and developmental genetics; Cell cycle and cancer
Work: 64 3 479 7436
Email: julia.horsfield@otago.ac.nz

Dr Stephanie Hughes (Biochemistry)

Gene therapy; Viral vectors; Batten disease; Lysosomal storage
Work: 64 3 479 3761
Email: stephanie.hughes@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Greg Jones (Surgical Sciences, Dunedin School of Medicine)

Cardiovascular genetics; Risk factors for cardiovascular disease; Population screening for vascular diseases; Abdominal aortic aneurysm; Vascular histopathology; Population epigenetics
Work: 64 3 474 0999 x 58849
Email: greg.jones@otago.ac.nz

Professor Martin Kennedy (Pathology, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Human genetics and genomics; Psychiatric genetics; Impact of genetics on drug responses (pharmacogenetics)
Work: 64 3 364 0590
Email: martin.kennedy@otago.ac.nz

Professor Tony Merriman (Biochemistry)

Genetics of common disease; Genetics of Autoimmune disease; Genetics of Arthritis; Type 1 diabetes; Cloning disease genes
Work: 64 3 479 5798
Email: tony.merriman@otago.ac.nz

Professor Ian Morison (Pathology, Dunedin School of Medicine)

Childhood leukaemia(genetics/epigenetics) Myelodysplastic syndrome (myelodysplasia); Developmental epigenetics; Placenta epigenetics; Haemochromatosis; Blood diseases ; Familial platelet disorders (genetics); Clinical laboratory diagnostics; Imprinting
Work: 64 3 479 7170
Email: ian.morison@otago.ac.nz

Dr Barry Palmer (Medicine, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Human genetics ; Genetics of Heart Disease; Microbial Genetics
Work: 64 3 364 0543
Email: barry.palmer@otago.ac.nz

Professor Anthony Reeve (Biochemistry)

Cancer molecular biology; Cancer research; Cancer genetics; Human genetics; Genomics; Colorectal cancer; Wilms tumour
Work: 64 3 479 7699
Email: anthony.reeve@otago.ac.nz

Professor Stephen Robertson (Women's and Children's Health, Dunedin School of Medicine)

Clinical genetics; Paediatric genetics; Genetic testing
Work: 64 3 479 7469
Email: stephen.robertson@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz