Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Human Nutrition

Clocktower at sunset

Dr Katherine Black (Human Nutrition)

Sports nutrition; Fluid and electrolyte balance; Elite athletes nutrition; Ultra-endurance sports nutrition
Work: 64 3 479 8358
Email: katherine.black@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Rachel Brown (Human Nutrition)

Nuts and health
Work: 64 3 479 5839
Email: rachel.brown@otago.ac.nz

Dr Alex Chisholm (Human Nutrition)

Butter and margarine studies; Dietary added fats; Diets to lower/modify blood lipids; Incorporation of nuts in the diet; Diabetes and incorporation of nuts in the diet; Vegetarian diets; Diets to facilitate weight maintenance; Optimum diets for persons with diabetes; Diets to reduce cardiovascular risk
Work: 64 3 479 7514
Email: alex.chisholm@otago.ac.nz

Dr Anne-Louise Heath (Human Nutrition)

Human nutrition; Iron; Breastfeeding; Baby-led weaning
Work: 64 3 479 8379
Email: anne-louise.heath@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Caroline Horwath (Human Nutrition)

Facilitation of eating behaviour change and lifestyle change; Non-dieting approaches to overweight and obesity; Women's weight control practices; Food choice - social and psychological influences; Mechanisms of behaviour change; Stress-driven and emotional eating
Work: 64 3 479 7946
Email: caroline.matthaei@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Lisa Houghton (Human Nutrition)

Folate; Folic acid
Work: 64 3 479 7294
Email: lisa.houghton@otago.ac.nz

Professor Jim Mann

Coronary heart disease; Diabetes; Diet and blood lipids; Modification of the obesogenic environment; Research and clinical work in the fields of nutrition, lipids and carbohydrates as they relate to diabetes, coronary heart disease and obesity
Work: 64 3 479 7719 | Mobile: 64 21 678 925
Email: jim.mann@otago.ac.nz

Dr Rachael McLean (Preventive and Social Medicine/Human Nutrition)

Nutrition public health ; Chronic disease; Salt; Sodium; Obesity; Nutritional epidemiology
Work: 64 3 479 9427/479 7943
Email: rachael.mclean@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Nancy Rehrer (School of Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Sciences/Human Nutrition)

Exercise physiology and metabolism; Sports nutrition; Environment, lifestyle and health
Work: 64 3 479 9128
Email: nancy.rehrer@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Sheila Skeaff (Human Nutrition)

Nutrition; Minerals and trace elements; Salt; Iodine; Sodium; Sustainable nutrition; Sustainable diets
Work: 64 3 479 7944
Email: sheila.skeaff@otago.ac.nz

Professor Murray Skeaff (Human Nutrition)

Fats, fatty acids, and lipids; Folate, folic acid; Fruit and vegetables, antioxidants; Diet and cardiovascular disease; Diet and cancer; Food fortification; Diet and cognition function; Fish and fish oils
Work: 64 3 479 7688
Email: murray.skeaff@otago.ac.nz

Dr Paula Skidmore (Human Nutrition)

Childhood nutrition; Childhood obesity; Nutrition and chronic disease
Work: 64 3 479 8374
Email: paula.skidmore@otago.ac.nz

Dr Lisa Te Morenga (Human Nutrition)

Human nutrition; Public health nutrition; Obesity; Diabetes; Metabolic syndrome; Sugar; Fat; Carbohydrates
Work: 64 3 479 3978 | Mobile: 64 21 042 7283
Email: lisa.temorenga@otago.ac.nz

Emeritus Professor Christine Thomson (Human Nutrition)

Selenium in human nutrition; Iodine in human nutrition; Trace elements and human health; Trace elements in human nutrition
Work: 64 3 479 7955 | Home: 64 3 472 8817 | Mobile: 64 21 479 967
Email: christine.thomson@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Communications Office on +64 3 479 8263, or email jo.galer@otago.ac.nz