Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Heart /Cardiovascular Disease

Clocktower at sunset

Dr Paul Bridgman (Medicine, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Broken heart syndrome; Stress cardiomyopathy; Earthquakes and the heart; Heart attack; Echocardiography
Work: 64 3 364 0640
Email: paul.bridgman@cdhb.health.nz

Professor Vicky Cameron (Christchurch Heart Institute, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Genetic factors contributing to heart disease (heart attacks and heart failure); Defining genetic markers for predicting susceptibility to and progression of heart disease in the population, including both Maori and non-Maori
Work: 64 3 364 1210
Email: vicky.cameron@otago.ac.nz

Emeritus Professor Robin Fraser (Pathology, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Atherosclerosis, cholesterol and the liver
Email: robin.fraser@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Greg Jones (Surgical Sciences, Dunedin School of Medicine)

Cardiovascular genetics; Risk factors for cardiovascular disease; Population screening for vascular diseases; Abdominal aortic aneurysm; Vascular histopathology; Population epigenetics
Work: 64 3 474 0999 x 58849
Email: greg.jones@otago.ac.nz

Dr Pete Jones (Physiology)

Cardiac physiology; Heart failure; Cardiac arrhythmias; Molecular and cellular mechanisms of heart disease; Treatment of arrhythmia
Work: 64 3 479 3548
Email: pete.jones@otago.ac.nz

Dr Regis Lamberts (Physiology)

Cardiac function; Coronary circulation; Obesity; Diabetes; Isolated cardiac muscle/heart; AMPK enzyme; Adrenergic signaling/receptors; Calcium handling
Work: 64 3 479 3547
Email: regis.lamberts@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Peter Larsen (Surgery and Anaesthesia, University of Otago, Wellington)

Acute coronary syndromes; Clinical cardiology,; Cardiovascular disease; Resuscitation
Work: 64 4 918 5103
Email: peter.larsen@otago.ac.nz

Dr Sandy Mandic (School of Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Sciences)

Physical activity and health; Built environment and active transport to school; Cardiac rehabilitation; Clinical exercise physiology
Work: 64 3 479 5415
Email: sandra.mandic@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Stewart Mann (Medicine, University of Otago, Wellington)

Cardiovascular medicine and practice; Cardiovascular risk; Hypertension; Cardiac biomarkers | Mobile: 64 27 446 5256
Email: stewart.mann@otago.ac.nz

Professor Jim Mann

Coronary heart disease; Diabetes; Diet and blood lipids; Modification of the obesogenic environment; Research and clinical work in the fields of nutrition, lipids and carbohydrates as they relate to diabetes, coronary heart disease and obesity
Work: 64 3 479 7719 | Mobile: 64 21 678 925
Email: jim.mann@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Suetonia Palmer (Medicine, University of Otago,Christchurch)

Systematic review of healthcare interventions; Assessing healthcare technologies; Meta-analysis in medicine Evidence quality in research ; Novel techniques for summarizing evidence ; Kidney and cardiovascular health
Work: 64 3 364 0903 | Mobile: 64 21 626 008
Email: suetonia.palmer@otago.ac.nz

Dr Barry Palmer (Medicine, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Human genetics ; Genetics of Heart Disease; Microbial Genetics
Work: 64 3 364 0543
Email: barry.palmer@otago.ac.nz

Professor Mark Richards (Medicine, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Heart Failure; Regulation of the circulation in health and disease; Hypertension - High blood Pressure
Work: 64 3 364 1117
Email: mark.richards@cdhb.govt.nz

Associate Professor Ivan Sammut (Pharmacology and Toxicology)

Cardiovascular/renal pharmacology; Surgical Modelling of Disease; Ischaemic injury (injury from inadequate blood flow); Cardio-protection pharmacology; Renal-protection; Stroke injury; Gaseous molecule pharmacology
Work: 64 3 479 5298
Email: ivan.sammut@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Tim Yandle (Medicine, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Cardiovascular peptide hormones - especially the natriuretic peptides ANP, BNP and CNP
Work: 64 3 364 0895
Email: tim.yandle@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Communications Office on +64 3 479 8263, or email jo.galer@otago.ac.nz