Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Immunology/Immunisation

Clocktower at sunset

Professor Michael Baker (Public Health, University of Otago, Wellington)

Public health; Epidemiology; Infectious diseases (e.g. emerging infectious diseases, pandemic influenza, meningococal disease); Food safety (e.g. Campylobacter); Travel health; Housing and health (e.g household crowding); Immunisation
Work: 64 4 918 6802 | Mobile: 64 21 355 056
Email: michael.baker@otago.ac.nz

Dr Mihnea Bostina (Otago Centre for Electron Microscopy, Microbiology and Immunology)

Electron microscopy; Structural biology; Virology
Work: 64 3 479 7349
Email: mihnea.bostina@otago.ac.nz

Emeritus Professor J Frank T Griffin (Microbiology and Immunology)

Immunology; Infectious diseases; Microbiology; Mycobacterial diseases of ruminants (primary sector) and wildlife; Tuberculosis; Johne's disease; Stress and Immunocompetence; Heritable resistance to Infectious diseases
Work: 64 3 479 7799
Email: frank.griffin@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Merilyn Hibma (Microbiology and Immunology)

Cancer-causing viruses; Human papillomavirus; Cervical cancer; Viral manipulation of cells and the host immune response
Work: 64 3 479 7726
Email: merilyn.hibma@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Roslyn Kemp (Microbiology and Immunology)

Immunology; White blood cells; Vaccination; Tumour Immunity; Inflammation
Work: 64 3 479 7708
Email: roslyn.kemp@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Alexander McLellan (Microbiology and Immunology)

Infection and immunity; Vaccines; Cancer and thrombosis
Work: 64 3 479 7728
Email: alex.mclellan@otago.ac.nz

Professor Andrew Mercer (Virus Research Unit, Microbiology and Immunology)

Animal virology; Cell culture; Microbial genetics; Microbial pathogenesis; Molecular biology; Vaccine development
Work: 64 3 479 7730
Email: andy.mercer@otago.ac.nz

Dr Michael Tatley (Preventive and Social Medicine)

Pharmacovigilance and Drug Safety; Vaccine pharmacovigilance; Medicine safety monitoring; Vaccine safety monitoring
Work: 64 3 479 7247
Email: michael.tatley@otago.ac.nz

Dr James Ussher (Microbiology and Immunology)

Clinical microbiology/Infectious diseases; Innate immunity to bacterial infection; MAIT cells; Antimicrobial resistance
Work: 64 3 479 5942
Email: james.ussher@otago.ac.nz

Dr Lyn Wise (Microbiology and Immunology)

Growth factors; Cytokines; Chemokines; Wound Healing; Angiogenesis; Inflammation; Scarring; Skin infection; Poxviruses; Virology
Work: 64 3 479 7723
Email: lyn.wise@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Sarah Young (Pathology)

Immunology; Vaccines against infectious diseases and cancer; DNA vaccines against TB; Virus-like particle (VLP) vaccines against Chlamydia and melanoma
Work: 64 3 479 7157
Email: sarah.young@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz