Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Economics

Clocktower at sunset

Associate Professor Nathan Berg (Economics)

Behavioural economics; Financial economics; Urban economics; Food choice; Exercise choice; Portfolio choice; Rationality; Irrationality
Work: 64 3 479 8648
Email: nathan.berg@otago.ac.nz

Dr Andrew Coleman (Economics)

Retirement income policy; Intergenerational economics; Housing markets; Tax
Work: 64 3 479 8651 | Mobile: 64 21 025 51946
Email: andrew.coleman@otago.ac.nz

Professor David Fielding (Economics, Otago Business School)

Economics of developing countries; Macroeconomics; Economics of violence and conflict; Foreign Aid
Work: 64 3 479 8653
Email: david.fielding@otago.ac.nz

Dr Murat Genc (Economics, Otago Business School)

Applied econometrics; Sample selection models; Empirical investigations of labour market outcomes
Work: 64 3 479 8644
Email: murat.genc@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Paul Hansen (Economics, Otago Business School)

Priority setting and resource allocation in health sector; Economics of education (student fees and loans, etc.)
Work: 64 3 479 8547
Email: paul.hansen@otago.ac.nz

Professor Alfred Haug (Economics, Otago Business School)

Empirical analysis of the effects of fiscal policy (government deficits and debt) and monetary policy on interest rates and inflation; Role of monetary aggregates (such as M1 and M2) for anchoring monetary policy in the longer run; Time-series econometrics, in particular vector-autoregressions, structural breaks, unit roots and cointegration
Work: 64 3 479 5636
Email: alfred.haug@otago.ac.nz

Dr Viktoria Kahui (Economics)

Natural resource economics Environmental economics; Fisheries economics
Work: 64 3 479 5278
Email: viktoria.kahui@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Alan King (Economics, Otago Business School)

Applied time-series econometrics; Cointegration analysis ; Unit root testing; Income convergence; The forward bias puzzle
Work: 64 3 479 8686
Email: alan.king@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Stephen Knowles (Economics, School of Business)

Economics of developing countries; Business compliance costs in New Zealand
Work: 64 3 479 8350
Email: stephen.knowles@otago.ac.nz

Professor Philip Nel (Politics)

Global political economy; Politics and economics of Southern Africa; Social inequality
Work: 64 3 479 6549
Email: philip.nel@otago.ac.nz

Professor Dorian Owen (Economics, Otago Business School)

Applied econometrics; Co-integration techniques; Economic growth, including fundamental determinants of cross-country differences in income levels, and the effects of human and social capital; Economics of sport, including competitive balance in New Zealand rugby union; Monetary economics
Work: 64 3 479 8655
Email: dorian.owen@otago.ac.nz

Ian Sheerin (Public Health and General Practice, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Health Economics
Work: 64 3 364 3626
Email: ian.sheerin@otago.ac.nz

Dr Murat Ungor (Economics)

International macroeconomics; Trade; Economic growth and development; Structural transformation in low-income countries; Chinese economy; Turkish economy
Work: 64 3 479 8134
Email: murat.ungor@otago.ac.nz

Dr Tarja Viitanen (Economics, Otago Business School)

Family economics; Economics and law; Social policy
Work: 64 3 479 5296
Email: tarja.viitanen@otago.ac.nz

Dr Dennis Wesselbaum (Economics)

Macroeconomics (e.g. monetary and fiscal policy, business cycles, bubbles); Economic growth; Labor economics; Migration; Happiness
Work: 64 3 479 8643
Email: dennis.wesselbaum@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz