Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Infectious Diseases

Clocktower at sunset

Dr Josie Athens (Preventive and Social Medicine)

Theoretical Biology; Tumour Immunology; Infectious Diseases; Complex Systems; Mathematical Models and Biostatistics
Work: 64 3 479 5138
Email: josie.athens@otago.ac.nz

Professor Michael Baker (Public Health, University of Otago, Wellington)

Public health; Epidemiology; Infectious diseases (e.g. emerging infectious diseases, pandemic influenza, meningococal disease); Food safety (e.g. Campylobacter); Travel health; Housing and health (e.g household crowding); Immunisation
Work: 64 4 918 6802 | Mobile: 64 21 355 056
Email: michael.baker@otago.ac.nz

Dr Cheryl Brunton (Population Health, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Hepatitis C - epidemiology and prevention; Communicable disease epidemiology; Environmental health
Work: 64 3 364 1777 or 64 3 364 3625
Email: cheryl.brunton@cdhb.health.nz

Professor Stephen Chambers (Pathology, University of Otago, Christchurch)

AIDS/HIV; Antibiotics and Resistance; Bacterial Infections; Hepatitis C; Infectious Diseases; Microbiology
Work: 64 3 364 0590
Email: steve.chambers@cdhb.govt.nz

Professor John Crump (Centre for International Health)

International health; Global health; Tropical diseases; Typhoid fever; Diarrheal diseases; Fever in the tropics; Invasive bacterial disease; Zoonoses; OneHealth; Laboratory services in developing countries; Medical microbiology; Infectious diseases; HIV; Ethics in global health training
Work: 64 3 479 9460 | Mobile: 64 21 0221 1425
Email: john.crump@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Nigel Dickson (Preventive and Social Medicine, Dunedin School of Medicine)

HIV/AIDS Epidemiology
Work: 64 3 479 7211
Email: nigel.dickson@otago.ac.nz

Emeritus Professor J Frank T Griffin (Microbiology and Immunology)

Immunology; Infectious diseases; Microbiology; Mycobacterial diseases of ruminants (primary sector) and wildlife; Tuberculosis; Johne's disease; Stress and Immunocompetence; Heritable resistance to Infectious diseases
Work: 64 3 479 7799
Email: frank.griffin@otago.ac.nz

Dr Joanna Kirman (Microbiology and Immunology)

Vaccine development; Infectious disease immunology; Tuberculosis; Bronchiolitis; Respiratory Syncytial Virus
Work: 64 3 479 7714
Email: jo.kirman@otago.ac.nz

Professor Kurt Krause (Biochemistry, Webster Centre for Infectious Diseases)

Human infectious diseases; Antibiotics, antibiotic resistance; Structural biology; Protein chemistry; Bioluminescence; Protein crystallography
Work: 64 3 479 7864
Email: kurt.krause@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Alexander McLellan (Microbiology and Immunology)

Infection and immunity; Vaccines; Cancer and thrombosis
Work: 64 3 479 7728
Email: alex.mclellan@otago.ac.nz

Professor David Murdoch (Pathology, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Human infections; High altitude medicine
Work: 64 3 364 0590
Email: david.murdoch@otago.ac.nz

Emeritus Professor Charlotte Paul (Preventive and Social Medicine, Dunedin School of Medicine)

HIV / AIDS epidemiology; Women's Cancers; Contraception and contraceptive safety; Public Health/epidemiology; Screening; Research ethics
Email: charlotte.paul@otago.ac.nz

Dr James Ussher (Microbiology and Immunology)

Clinical microbiology/Infectious diseases; Innate immunity to bacterial infection; MAIT cells; Antimicrobial resistance
Work: 64 3 479 5942
Email: james.ussher@otago.ac.nz

Professor Nick Wilson (Public Health, University of Otago, Wellington)

Tobacco smoking epidemiology and control,; Use of economic instruments to promote public health (eg, tobacco taxation); Communicable disease control (especially immunisation and surveillance); Pandemic influenza; Health and global climate change
Work: 64 4 918 6469 | Mobile: 64 21 2045 523
Email: nick.wilson@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Communications Office on +64 3 479 8263, or email jo.galer@otago.ac.nz