Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Microbiology

Clocktower at sunset

Dr Mihnea Bostina (Otago Centre for Electron Microscopy, Microbiology and Immunology)

Electron microscopy; Structural biology; Virology
Work: 64 3 479 7349
Email: mihnea.bostina@otago.ac.nz

Dr Heather Brooks (Microbiology and Immunology)

Medical microbiology
Work: 64 3 479 7826
Email: heather.brooks@otago.ac.nz

Professor Richard Cannon (Oral Sciences, Faculty of Dentistry)

Antifungal action; Mechanisms of antifungal resistance; Molecular biology; Molecular genetics of fungi; Physiology and biochemistry of yeast growth; Microbial colonisation; Antimicrobial drug discovery; Oral microbiology; Microbial adhesion
Work: 64 3 479 7081 | Mobile: 64 21 279 7081
Email: richard.cannon@otago.ac.nz

Professor Greg Cook (Microbiology and Immunology)

Environmental microbiology and bioremediation; Antibiotic resistant bacteria in humans and animals
Work: 64 3 479 7722
Email: greg.cook@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Peter Fineran (Microbiology and Immunology)

Genetics of bacteria; Gene regulation; Molecular biology; Bacteriophage (phage) biology
Work: 64 3 479 7735
Email: peter.fineran@otago.ac.nz

Emeritus Professor J Frank T Griffin (Microbiology and Immunology)

Immunology; Infectious diseases; Microbiology; Mycobacterial diseases of ruminants (primary sector) and wildlife; Tuberculosis; Johne's disease; Stress and Immunocompetence; Heritable resistance to Infectious diseases
Work: 64 3 479 7799
Email: frank.griffin@otago.ac.nz

Dr Nicholas Heng (Oral Sciences - Faculty of Dentistry)

Molecular genetics; Oral microbiology; Bacterial genome sequencing; Next-generation DNA sequencing technology; Streptococcus; Bioinformatics
Work: 64 3 479 9254
Email: nicholas.heng@otago.ac.nz

Dr Matloob Husain (Microbiology and Immunology)

Virology (Influenza A virus, Vaccinia virus); Viral pathogenesis; Molecular Biology; Cell Biology; Confocal microscopy
Work: 64 3 470 3420 | Mobile: 64 22 133 1037
Email: matloob.husain@otago.ac.nz

Dr Joanna Kirman (Microbiology and Immunology)

Vaccine development; Infectious disease immunology; Tuberculosis; Bronchiolitis; Respiratory Syncytial Virus
Work: 64 3 479 7714
Email: jo.kirman@otago.ac.nz

Professor Andrew Mercer (Virus Research Unit, Microbiology and Immunology)

Animal virology; Cell culture; Microbial genetics; Microbial pathogenesis; Molecular biology; Vaccine development
Work: 64 3 479 7730
Email: andy.mercer@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Brian Monk (Sir John Walsh Research Institute, Oral Sciences, Faculty of Dentistry)

Membrane protein structure and function; Molecular mechanisms of antifungal drug resistance; Use of yeast systems in drug discovery
Work: 64 3 479 7099
Email: brian.monk@otago.ac.nz

Professor Clive Ronson (Microbiology and Immunology)

General enquiries relating to Genetics and genetics-based research at Otago; Horizontal gene transfer; Genetics of bacteria
Work: 64 3 479 7701
Email: clive.ronson@otago.ac.nz

Dr Thorsten Stanley (Paediatrics and Child Health, University of Otago, Wellington)

Neonatology; Epilepsy; Allergy; Asthma; General pediatrics
Work: 64 4 918 6142 | Mobile: 64 21 243 6632
Email: thorsten.stanley@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Geoffrey Tompkins (Sir John Walsh Research Institute, Faculty of Dentistry)

Bacteriology; Microbiology ; Pathogenic anaerobic bacteria ; Heme acquisition; Innate immunity ; Streptococcus ; Bacteriocin/gene acquisition relationship
Work: 64 3 479 5471
Email: geoffrey.tompkins@otago.ac.nz

Dr James Ussher (Microbiology and Immunology)

Clinical microbiology/Infectious diseases; Innate immunity to bacterial infection; MAIT cells; Antimicrobial resistance
Work: 64 3 479 5942
Email: james.ussher@otago.ac.nz

Professor Vernon Ward (Microbiology & Immunology)

Biological control of insect pests; Baculoviruses; Invertebrate virology; Viral pathogenesis; Gene expression technology; Viral biomaterials
Work: 64 3 479 9028
Email: vernon.ward@.otago.ac.nz

Dr Lyn Wise (Microbiology and Immunology)

Growth factors; Cytokines; Chemokines; Wound Healing; Angiogenesis; Inflammation; Scarring; Skin infection; Poxviruses; Virology
Work: 64 3 479 7723
Email: lyn.wise@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz