Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Orthopaedics

Clocktower at sunset

Dr James Borowczyk (Orthopaedics and Musculoskeletal Medicine, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Musculoskeletal Medicine
Work: 63 3 364 1086
Email: jim.borowczyk@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor David Gwynne-Jones (Surgical Sciences)

Orthopaedic surgery - elective and trauma; Hip and knee replacement
Work: 64 3 474 0999 x 58618 | Mobile: 64 027 223 3703
Email: david.gwynne-jones@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Niels Hammer (Anatomy)

Biomechanics ; Clinical anatomy ; Clinical trials ; Clinical workshops ; Mechanobiology ; Mechanical properties ; Osteology ; Plastination; Tissue engineering; Bioscaffolds ; Hip joint; Pelvis ; Spine
Work: 64 3 479 5992
Email: niels.hammer@otago.ac.nz

Professor Gary Hooper (Orthopaedic Surgery and Musculoskeletal Medicine, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Hip and knee surgery; Orthopaedic tumours
Work: 64 3 364 1086 | Mobile: 64 27 432 6263
Email: gary.hooper@otago.ac.nz

Mr Alex Malone (Orthopaedic Surgery & Musculoskeletal Medicine, University of Otago, Christchurch )

Upper limb surgery and musculoskeletal conditions; Accident Compensation Corporation
Work: 64 3 355 3500 | Mobile: 64 21 190 0490
Email: alex_a_malone@hotmail.com

Dr Isha Mutreja (Orthopaedic Surgery and Musculoskeletal Medicine, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Nanoparticles; Nanocomposites; Surface Engineering; Tissue Engineering; Regenerative Medicine; Biomaterials
Work: 64 3 364 8011 | Mobile: 64 21 083 73813
Email: isha.mutreja@otago.ac.nz

Professor Jean-Claude Theis (Surgical Sciences - Orthopaedic Surgery)

Bone mineral density; Joint replacement surgery; Orthopaedic surgery in general; Osteoporosis; Paediatric orthopaedic surgery; Ultrasound; Fat embolism and vertebroplasty; Health Services research (clinical prioritisation for surgery)
Work: 64 3 474 0999 x 58623
Email: jean-claude.theis@otago.ac.nz

Dr Bronwyn Thompson (Orthopaedic Surgery and Musculoskeletal Medicine , University of Otago Christchurch)

Classical grounded theory; Pain; Cognitive behavioural approaches in pain management; Return to work; Psychology
Work: 64 3 364 1086
Email: bronwyn.thompson@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Alan Thurston (Surgery and Anaesthesia, University of Otago, Wellington)

Orthopaedic Surgery; Hand surgery; Amputations; Amputees; Artificial limbs; History of Surgery
Work: 64 4 385 5541 x 5100 | Home: 64 4 479 7623
Email: alan.thurston@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Tim Woodfield (Orthopaedic Surgery & Musculoskeletal Medicine, University of Otago, Christchurch / Centre for Bioengineering & Nanomedicine)

Regenerative medicine; 3D bioprinting; Tissue engineering; Cartilage tissue engineering; Bone tissue engineering; Orthopaedic medical devices; Stem cells; Additive manufacturing
Work: 64 3 378 6114
Email: tim.woodfield@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Communications Office on +64 3 479 8263, or email jo.galer@otago.ac.nz