Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Pathology

Clocktower at sunset

Professor Madhav Bhatia (Pathology, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Gas mediators in inflammation; Neurogenic inflammation in acute pancreatitis, sepsis, and burns; Chemokines in acute pancreatitis, sepsis, and burns; Apoptosis of pancreatic acinar cells
Work: 64 3 378 6238
Email: madhav.bhatia@otago.ac.nz

Dr Louise Bicknell (Pathology)

Genetics of rare human disease; Genome sequencing; Human genetic variation
Work: 64 3 479 7172
Email: louise.bicknell@otago.ac.nz

Professor Antony Braithwaite (Pathology - Dunedin School of Medicine)

Apoptosis; Cancer biology; DNA tumour viruses; Tumour suppressors; Viral oncoproteins
Work: 64 3 479 7165
Email: antony.braithwaite@otago.ac.nz

Professor Stephen Chambers (Pathology, University of Otago, Christchurch)

AIDS/HIV; Antibiotics and Resistance; Bacterial Infections; Hepatitis C; Infectious Diseases; Microbiology
Work: 64 3 364 0590
Email: steve.chambers@cdhb.govt.nz

Dr Aniruddha Chatterjee (Pathology)

Cancer genetics; Epigenetics; Bioinformatics; Next generation sequencing
Work: 64 3 470 3455 | Mobile: 64 21 070 1558
Email: aniruddha.chatterjee@otago.ac.nz

Dr Margaret Currie (Pathology, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Tumour microenvironment ; Tumour growth; Tumour cell metastasis ; Tumour response to therapy
Work: 64 3 364 0554 | Mobile: 64 21 135 7576
Email: margaret.currie@otago.ac.nz

Dr James M (Jim) Faed (Pathology, Dunedin School of Medicine)

Blood transfusion medicine; Bleeding and clotting disorders; Laboratory cell culture systems; Adult stem cells
Work: 64 3 470 9364 | Home: 64 3 466 7927
Email: jim.faed@otago.ac.nz

Emeritus Professor Robin Fraser (Pathology, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Atherosclerosis, cholesterol and the liver
Email: robin.fraser@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Julia Horsfield (Pathology)

Chromosome structure and developmental genetics; Cell cycle and cancer
Work: 64 3 479 7436
Email: julia.horsfield@otago.ac.nz

Professor Tony Kettle (Pathology, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Free radical chemistry and biology ; Oxidant production by neutrophils and the enzyme myeloperoxidase
Work: 64 3 364 0577
Email: tony.kettle@otago.ac.nz

Professor Ian Morison (Pathology, Dunedin School of Medicine)

Childhood leukaemia(genetics/epigenetics) Myelodysplastic syndrome (myelodysplasia); Developmental epigenetics; Placenta epigenetics; Haemochromatosis; Blood diseases ; Familial platelet disorders (genetics); Clinical laboratory diagnostics; Imprinting
Work: 64 3 479 7170
Email: ian.morison@otago.ac.nz

Professor Margreet Vissers (University of Otago, Christchurch)

Cancer biology; Vitamin C; Nutritional antioxidants; White blood cells and inflammation; Tissue hypoxia; Cell biology
Work: 64 3 364 1524
Email: margreet.vissers@otago.ac.nz

Dr Logan Walker (Pathology, University of Otago Christchurch)

Cancer research; Familial breast cancer; Breast cancer genetics; Endometrial cancer genetics; Rare DNA sequence changes and cancer susceptibility
Work: 64 3 364 0530
Email: logan.walker@otago.ac.nz

Professor Christine Winterbourn (Pathology, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Biochemistry of free radicals and antioxidants; Dietary antioxidants and health benefits
Work: 64 3 364 0564
Email: christine.winterbourn@otago.ac.nz

Dr Adele Woolley (Pathology)

Cancer biology; Tumour suppressors and oncogenes, particularly YB-1; Developmental pathways re-expressed in cancer, such as epithelial-mesenchymal transition (EMT)
Work: 64 3 479 7165
Email: adele.woolley@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Communications Office on +64 3 479 8263, or email jo.galer@otago.ac.nz