Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Pharmacy/Pharmacology

Clocktower at sunset

Dr Hesham Al-Sallami (School of Pharmacy)

Clinical Pharmacy; Dose-individualisation; Quantitative clinical pharmacology; Paediatric pharmacology; Influence of body composition on the dose-response of medicines
Work: 64 3 479 7295
Email: hesham.al-sallami@otago.ac.nz

Dr John Ashton (Pharmacology & Toxicology)

Cannabinoids; Cannabinoid pharmacology; Cerebral ischemia; Endocannabinoid system; Hypoxia-ischemia; Neuroinflammation; Neuropathic pain; Neuropharmacology; Neuroprotection; Pain; Pharmacology
Work: 64 3 479 3040
Email: john.ashton@otago.ac.nz

Dr Sarah Baird (Pharmacology and Toxicology)

Cancer stroma; Cancer metastasis; Cell death including apoptosis and necrosis; Targeted therapies for cancer; Cancer development; Drug development from natural products; Mesenchymal stem cells
Work: 64 3 479 7261
Email: s.baird@otago.ac.nz

Professor Murray Barclay (Medicine, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Antibiotic pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics; Therapeutic drug monitoring; Pharmacology of gastrointestinal drugs; Pharmacogenetics
Work: 64 3 364 0640 x 80074
Email: murray.barclay@cdhb.health.nz

Professor Evan Begg (Medicine, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Antibiotics; Drugs in breast milk; Clinical pharmacology; Cytochrome p450/drug metabolism; Pharmacogenetics
Work: 64 3 364 1055
Email: evan.begg@otago.ac.nz

Dr Olaf Bork (School of Pharmacy)

Formulation Development ; Encapsulation Technologies ; Nano- and microparticles as drug delivery systems ; Process Engineering
Work: 64 3 479 9033
Email: olaf.bork@otago.ac.nz

Dr Rhiannon Braund (School of Pharmacy)

Pharmacy practice and professional issues; Appropriate supply of medications by pharmacists; Medication wastage; Topical delivery of growth factors to chronic wounds
Work: 64 3 479 7240
Email: rhiannon.braund@otago.ac.nz

Dr Shyamal Das (School of Pharmacy)

Pulmonary drug delivery; Powders for inhalation; Formulation
Work: 64 3 479 4262
Email: shyamal.das@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Matthew Doogue (Medicine, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Clinical pharmacology; Pharmacokinetics; Therapeutic drug monitoring; Adverse drug reactions; Drug interactions; Endocrinology; Diabetes
Work: 64 3 364 1055
Email: matt.doogue@otago.ac.nz

Professor Stephen Duffull (School of Pharmacy)

Measuring drugs effects and time course of effects of drugs; Duration of effect, effects of dosage size and frequency
Work: 64 3 479 7258
Email: stephen.duffull@otago.ac.nz

Professor Paul Glue (Psychological Medicine, Dunedin School of Medicine)

Psychopharmacology; Pharmacokinetics; Pharmacodynamics; Clinical Trial Design; Translational Medicine; Clinical Pharmacology
Work: 64 3 474 0999 x 57367
Email: paul.glue@otago.ac.nz

Dr James Green (School of Pharmacy)

Lay perceptions of medicines - how people think about and make choices on medicine use; Direct to consumer advertising of medicines; Health behaviour change; Health seeking behaviour; Healthcare communication; Risk-taking behaviour; Sympton experience; Perceptions of Sauvignon blanc wine; Toilet graffiti
Work: 64 3 479 7325
Email: james.green@otago.ac.nz

Dr Kan Kaneko (School of Pharmacy)

Vaccine delivery, formulation, diagnostics
Work: 64 3 479 3984
Email: kan.kaneko@otago.ac.nz

Professor Derelie (Dee) Mangin (General Practice, University of Otago, Christchurch)

General practice and public health; Prescribing; Prescribing education for GPs; Antibiotic resistance monitoring in primary care; Iron deficiency in infants; Community treatment of pneumonia; Direct to consumer advertising of prescription medicines
Work: 64 3 364 3602
Email: derelie.mangin@otago.ac.nz

Professor Neil McNaughton (Psychology)

Anti-anxiety drugs; Learning and memory; Amnesia; Emotion
Work: 64 3 479 7634
Email: nmcn@psy.otago.ac.nz

Professor Pauline Norris (School of Pharmacy)

Prescription charges; Access to medicines; Pharmaceutical policy; Antibiotic Resistance
Work: 64 3 479 7359
Email: pauline.norris@otago.ac.nz

Dr Lianne Parkin (Preventive and Social Medicine)

Pharmacoepidemiology / drug safety
Work: 64 3 479 8425
Email: lianne.parkin@otago.ac.nz

Dr Shakila Rizwan (School of Pharmacy)

Drug delivery; Neurodegenerative disease therapy; Nanotechnology; Intranasal drug delivery; Blood-brain barrier
Work: 64 3 479 5410
Email: shakila.rizwan@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Bruce Russell (School of Pharmacy)

Schizophrenia; Psychosis; Drug addiction; Methamphetamine or 'P’; Depression; Cognitive enhancer; Recreational Drugs
Work: 64 3 479 7272
Email: bruce.russell@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Ivan Sammut (Pharmacology and Toxicology)

Cardiovascular/renal pharmacology; Surgical Modelling of Disease; Ischaemic injury (injury from inadequate blood flow); Cardio-protection pharmacology; Renal-protection; Stroke injury; Gaseous molecule pharmacology
Work: 64 3 479 5298
Email: ivan.sammut@otago.ac.nz

Dr Dorothy Saville (School of Pharmacy)

Grapefruit-medicine interaction; Drug Dissolution; Storage and drug release media
Work: 64 3 479 7255
Email: dorothy.saville@otago.ac.nz

Dr Alesha Smith (School of Pharmacy)

Pharmacy services; Medicines use in New Zealand; Non-medical prescribing; Medicines use in pregnancy; Polypharmacy
Work: 64 3 479 5052 | Mobile: 64 21 222 9711
Email: alesha.smith@otago.ac.nz

Professor Paul Smith (Pharmacology and Toxicology)

Mechanisms of recovery from neural damage; Plasticity in the vestibular system; Drugs to enhance recovery from brain damage; Mechanisms of Tinnitus; Cannabis and Cannabinoid pharmacology; Biostatistics
Work: 64 3 479 5747
Email: paul.smith@otago.ac.nz

Dr Michael Tatley (Preventive and Social Medicine)

Pharmacovigilance and Drug Safety; Vaccine pharmacovigilance; Medicine safety monitoring; Vaccine safety monitoring
Work: 64 3 479 7247
Email: michael.tatley@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor June Tordoff (School of Pharmacy)

Medicines use in older people; Medicines policy (access to medicines, quality use of medicines)
Work: 64 3 479 7274
Email: june.tordoff@otago.ac.nz

Professor Ian Tucker (School of Pharmacy)

Formulation of medicines; Pharmacy education; Drug discovery and development; Drug delivery
Work: 64 3 479 7296 | Mobile: 64 21 406 202
Email: ian.tucker@otago.ac.nz

Dr Andrea Vernall (School of Pharmacy)

Organic synthesis; Medicinal chemistry; G protein-coupled receptors; Drug design and development; Fluorescent tools
Work: 64 3 479 4518
Email: andrea.vernall@otago.ac.nz

Dr Helen Winter (School of Pharmacy)

International drug development; Clinical pharmacology; Development of drugs for tuberculosis, addiction, psychiatry, pain and cardiovascular disease
Work: 64 3 479 7272
Email: helen.winter@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Communications Office on +64 3 479 8263, or email jo.galer@otago.ac.nz