Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Physiology

Clocktower at sunset

Dr Andrew Bahn (Physiology)

Transport physiology; Urate; Gout; Prostate cancer; Kidney physiology; Gastrointestinal physiology
Work: 64 3 479 7314 | Mobile: 64 21 2106 867
Email: andrew.bahn@otago.ac.nz

Professor Colin Brown (Physiology)

Oxytocin regulation of reproduction and behaviour; Vasopressin regulation of body fluid balance; Bodyweight regulation
Work: 64 3 479 7354
Email: colin.brown@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Grant Butt (Physiology)

Intestinal stem cells; Regulation of lineage development in the intestinal epithelium; Crohn’s disease and the intestinal barrier
Work: 64 3 479 7319
Email: grant.butt@otago.ac.nz

Ms Tanya Cheung (Physiology)

Molecular biology; Genetics; Cell culture
Work: 64 3 479 6371
Email: tanya.cheung@otago.ac.nz

Dr Phil Heyward (Physiology)

Sense of smell; Olfaction
Work: 64 3 479 7383 | Home: 64 3 453 5822
Email: phil.heyward@otago.ac.nz

Professor Brian Hyland (Physiology)

Brain reward systems; Brain mechanisms for movement control; Research into treatments for Parkinson's disease
Work: 64 3 479 7342
Email: brian.hyland@otago.ac.nz

Dr Pete Jones (Physiology)

Cardiac physiology; Heart failure; Cardiac arrhythmias; Molecular and cellular mechanisms of heart disease; Treatment of arrhythmia
Work: 64 3 479 3548
Email: pete.jones@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Rajesh Katare (Physiology)

Molecular cardiovascular biology; Diabetic heart diseases; MicroRNAs; Identification of biomarkers; Ischemia-reperfusion injury; Stem cells
Work: 64 3 479 7292
Email: rajesh.katare@otago.ac.nz

Dr Regis Lamberts (Physiology)

Cardiac function; Coronary circulation; Obesity; Diabetes; Isolated cardiac muscle/heart; AMPK enzyme; Adrenergic signaling/receptors; Calcium handling
Work: 64 3 479 3547
Email: regis.lamberts@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Fiona McDonald (Physiology)

Genetic Hypertension and epithelial sodium channel; Protein degradation; Protein-protein interaction and the use of GMOs in research and teaching
Work: 64 3 479 7329
Email: fiona.mcdonald@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Philip Sheard (Physiology)

Transmitted light and fluorescence microscopy; Confocal microscopy; Electrophysiology; Immunohistochemistry; Digital imaging
Work: 64 3 479 7045
Email: phil.sheard@otago.ac.nz

Dr Alexander Tups (Physiology)

Neuroendocrinology - obesity, diabetes and Alzheimer research
Work: 64 3 479 4862
Email: alexander.tups@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz