Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Surgery

Clocktower at sunset

Professor Spencer Beasley (University of Otago, Christchurch)

Paediatric Surgery
Work: 64 3 364 0432 | Mobile: 64 27 2246 522
Email: spencer.beasley@cdhb.health.nz

Associate Professor Philip Bird (Surgery, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Hearing loss; Ear surgery; Cochlear Implants
Work: 64 3 962 6020 | Mobile: 64 27 228 6025
Email: phil.bird@chchorl.co.nz

Professor Dirk De Ridder (Surgical Sciences)

Functional imaging guided invasive and non-invasive neuromodulation of phantom percepts and psychological disorders; Clinical: Skull base surgery (vestibular schwannomas, pituitary surgery), microvascular decompression surgery
Work: 64 3 474 0999 x 9337
Email: dirk.deridder@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Tim Eglinton (Surgery, University of Otago, Christchurch)

General surgery; Laparoscopic surgery; Colorectal cancer; Inflammatory bowel disease; Crohn's disease; Diverticular Disease
Work: 64 3 364 0014
Email: tim.eglinton@cdhb.health.nz

Professor Frank Frizelle (Surgery, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Management and outcomes in colorectal disease patients (especially colorectal cancer); Locally recurrent rectal cancer; Anal cancer; Diverticular disease and inflammatory bowel disease; Medical, legal and publication issues related to medicine and surgery;
Work: 64 3 364 0014
Email: frank.frizelle@cdhb.govt.nz

Associate Professor David Gwynne-Jones (Surgical Sciences)

Orthopaedic surgery - elective and trauma; Hip and knee replacement
Work: 64 3 474 0999 x 58618 | Mobile: 64 027 223 3703
Email: david.gwynne-jones@otago.ac.nz

Dr Jacqui Keenan (Surgery, University of Otago,Christchurch)

Gut bacteria and colorectal disease
Work: 64 3 364 0570
Email: jacqui.keenan@otago.ac.nz

Mr Alex Malone (Orthopaedic Surgery & Musculoskeletal Medicine, University of Otago, Christchurch )

Upper limb surgery and musculoskeletal conditions; Accident Compensation Corporation
Work: 64 3 355 3500 | Mobile: 64 21 190 0490
Email: alex_a_malone@hotmail.com

Professor John McCall (Surgical Sciences)

Gastrointestinal cancer; Liver surgery; Liver transplantation
Work: 64 3 474 0999 x 57344 | Mobile: 64 21 274 5568
Email: john.mccall@otago.ac.nz

Professor John Nacey (Surgery, University of Otago, Wellington)

Prostate cancer; Benign prostatic disease; Lower urinary tract symptoms in men
Work: 64 4 385 5541 x 5646
Email: john.nacey@otago.ac.nz

Emeritus Professor Kevin Pringle (Obstetrics & Gynaecology, University of Otago, Wellington)

Paediatric surgery; Paediatric urology; Fetal diagnosis & therapy, including fetal surgery
Email: kevin.pringle@otago.ac.nz

Professor Justin Roake (Surgery - University of Otago, Christchurch)

Dendritic cell biology and dendritic cell-based anti cancer vaccines; Prioritisation for clinical surgery; Management of intermittent claudication; Simulation in clinical teaching; Prioritisation for clinical surgery; Vascular Surgery; Transplantation Surgery
Work: 64 3 364 0014
Email: justin.roake@cdhb.govt.nz

Professor Richard Stubbs (Wakefield Research Group, University of Otago, Wellington)

Hepatobiliary and pancreatic surgery ; Liver tumours ; Bariatric surgery; Management of liver tumours ; Management of severe obesity and its comorbidities by gastric bypass surgery; Colorectal cancer metastases; Obesity and diabetes ; Insulin resistance and its resolution by gastric bypass surgery
Work: 64 4 806 1504
Email: richard.stubbs@otago.ac.nz

Dr Kate Thomas (Surgical Sciences)

Peripheral arterial disease; Vascular ultrasound; Exercise physiology
Work: 64 3 470 9852
Email: kate.thomas@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Mark Thompson-Fawcett (Surgical Sciences - Dunedin School of Medicine)

Colorectal surgery
Work: 64 3 474 7007 x 8830
Email: mark.thompsonfawcett@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Alan Thurston (Surgery and Anaesthesia, University of Otago, Wellington)

Orthopaedic Surgery; Hand surgery; Amputations; Amputees; Artificial limbs; History of Surgery
Work: 64 4 385 5541 x 5100 | Home: 64 4 479 7623
Email: alan.thurston@otago.ac.nz

Professor Andre van Rij (Surgical Sciences)

Clinical audit and surgical outcomes; Obesity surgery; Vascular surgery and disease; Surgical education; Surgical policy
Work: 64 3 474 0999 x 58834 | Home: 64 3 477 2602
Email: andre.vanrij@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz