Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Tobacco/Smoking

Clocktower at sunset

Dr Brent Caldwell (Medicine, University of Otago, Wellington)

Smoking cessation; Nicotine replacement therapy
Work: 64 4 918 6041 | Home: 64 4 389 4687 | Mobile: 64 21 87 22 64
Email: brent.caldwell@otago.ac.nz

Professor Richard Edwards (Public Health, University of Otago, Wellington)

Tobacco smoking; Tobacco control; Public health
Work: 64 4 918 5089 | Mobile: 64 21 870 708
Email: richard.edwards@otago.ac.nz

Professor Janet Hoek (Marketing, Otago Business School)

Marketing and public policy; Marketing regulation; Regulation of food marketing, particularly to children; Tobacco control and regulation of tobacco marketing ; Promotion of prescription medicines to end-users; Trademarks and brands as intellectual property
Work: 64 3 479 7692
Email: janet.hoek@otago.ac.nz

Professor Rob McGee (Preventive and Social Medicine)

Tobacco control; Smokefree 2025; Promoting the health and well-being of adolescents and young adults
Work: 64 3 479 7215
Email: rob.mcgee@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Philip Pattemore (Paediatrics, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Asthma; Cystic fibrosis; Paediatrics; Respiratory paediatrics; Passive smoking and child health
Work: 64 3 364 0734
Email: philip.pattemore@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor George Thomson (Public Health, University of Otago, Wellington)

Tobacco control; Health policy; Smokefree areas; Smokefree outdoors; Tobacco taxation; Tobacco industry; Tobacco retailing
Work: 64 4 918 6054
Email: george.thomson@otago.ac.nz

Professor Nick Wilson (Public Health, University of Otago, Wellington)

Tobacco smoking epidemiology and control,; Use of economic instruments to promote public health (eg, tobacco taxation); Communicable disease control (especially immunisation and surveillance); Pandemic influenza; Health and global climate change
Work: 64 4 918 6469 | Mobile: 64 21 2045 523
Email: nick.wilson@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz