Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Health & Medicine Other

Clocktower at sunset

Associate Professor Philip Bird (Surgery, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Hearing loss; Ear surgery; Cochlear Implants
Work: 64 3 962 6020 | Mobile: 64 27 228 6025
Email: phil.bird@chchorl.co.nz

Dr Phil Blyth (Department of the Dean, Otago Medical School)

Surgical simulation; Clinical anatomy; eLearning
Work: 64 3 479 4290 | Mobile: 64 21 299 2237
Email: phil.blyth@otago.ac.nz

Dr Yusuf Cakmak (Anatomy)

Neuromodulation; Meditation; Acupuncture; Anatomy; Blood flow; Electrostimulation; Electroacupuncture; Nerves
Work: 64 3 479 4030
Email: yusuf.cakmak@otago.ac.nz

Dr Ruth Cunningham (Public Health, University of Otago, Wellington)

Population mental health; Health inequalities; Health services research; Mental health services; Cancer epidemiology
Work: 64 4 385 5541 x 6725
Email: Ruth.Cunningham@otago.ac.nz

Dr Richard Egan (Cancer Society Social and Behavioural Research Unit, Preventive & Social Medicine)

Health promotion; Health education ; Spirituality ; Spiritual care (in health, palliative care, hospice, education)
Work: 64 3 479 7206 | Mobile: 64 27 681 9370
Email: richard.egan@otago.ac.nz

Dr James M (Jim) Faed (Pathology, Dunedin School of Medicine)

Blood transfusion medicine; Bleeding and clotting disorders; Laboratory cell culture systems; Adult stem cells
Work: 64 3 470 9364 | Home: 64 3 466 7927
Email: jim.faed@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Ruth Fitzgerald (Anthropology and Archaeology)

Medical anthropology; Embodiment; Cultural responses to innovative medical technology; Assisted reproductive techniques; Cross cultural meanings of health; Medical anthropology
Work: 64 3 479 8169
Email: ruth.fitzgerald@otago.ac.nz

Mr Andrew Gray (Preventive and Social Medicine)

Biostatistics; Interpretation of study results; Strengths and weakness of studies; Randomised controlled trials; Observational studies (longitudinal, case-control, and cohort studies); Systematic reviews and meta-analyses; Statistics in nutrition studies; Statistics in public health studies
Work: 64 3 479 7235
Email: andrew.gray@otago.ac.nz

Dr James Green (School of Pharmacy)

Lay perceptions of medicines - how people think about and make choices on medicine use; Direct to consumer advertising of medicines; Health behaviour change; Health seeking behaviour; Healthcare communication; Risk-taking behaviour; Sympton experience; Perceptions of Sauvignon blanc wine; Toilet graffiti
Work: 64 3 479 7325
Email: james.green@otago.ac.nz

Dr Robin Griffiths (Occupational and Aviation Medicine Unit, University of Otago, Wellington)

Aviation medicine; Occupational medicine; Travel health; Shiftwork and fatigue; Back pain; Return to work
Work: 64 4 385 5592 | Mobile: 64 21 620 148
Email: rob.griffiths@otago.ac.nz

Dr Linda Gulliver (Otago Medical School)

Effects of oestrogen on the older ovary; Oestrogen receptor and ovarian cancer; Mixtures of chemicals in the environment and their potential for cancer causation; Undergraduate medical education; Small group teaching and learning
Work: 64 3 470 4689 | Mobile: 64 21 149 9047
Email: linda.gulliver@otago.ac.nz

Dr Katherine Hall (General Practice and Rural Health)

Ethics; Decision-making; Medical humanities; General practice
Work: 64 3 467 5408
Email: katherine.hall@otago.ac.nz

Emeritus Professor Peter Herbison (Preventive and Social Medicine)

Biostatistics; Evidence based medicine | Mobile: 64 21 575 444
Email: peter.herbison@otago.ac.nz

Dr Kirsten Lovelock (Public Health, University of Otago Wellington)

Environmental and occupational health (rural and industrial, community, contaminated sites); Industrial and medical anthropology
Work: 04 806 1490
Email: kirsten.lovelock@otago.ac.nz

Dr Alex Macmillan (Preventive and Social Medicine)

Transport and health; Bicycling; Urban planning and health; Climate change and health; Environmental sustainability and health
Work: 64 3 479 7196 | Mobile: 64 21 322 625
Email: alex.macmillan@otago.ac.nz

Dr Andrew McCombie (Surgery and Medicine, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Smartphone apps for health; Computerised psychological interventions; Mindfulness for psychological distress secondary to physical illness | Mobile: 64 27 262 6111
Email: andrew.mccombie@otago.ac.nz

Dr Kim Meredith-Jones (Medicine)

Bone and body composition assessment in children and adults; Physical activity
Work: 64 3 470 9126
Email: kim.meredith-jones@otago.ac.nz

Mr Allan Mitchell (Otago Centre for Electron Microscopy)

All aspects of electron microscopy, incl:; Transmission electron microscopy; Scanning electron microscopy;
Work: 64 3 479 5642 | Home: 64 3 476 2491
Email: allan.mitchell@otago.ac.nz

Professor David Murdoch (Pathology, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Human infections; High altitude medicine
Work: 64 3 364 0590
Email: david.murdoch@otago.ac.nz

Professor Jing-Bao Nie (Bioethics Centre - Dunedin School of Medicine)

Cross-cultural and international medical ethics; Abortion, population control and reproductive ethics; Bioethics and social science; Medical humanities; Chinese and East Asian medical ethics; Traditional Chinese medicine; Chinese-western comparative history of medicine
Work: 64 3 471 6129
Email: jing-bao.nie@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Suetonia Palmer (Medicine, University of Otago,Christchurch)

Systematic review of healthcare interventions; Assessing healthcare technologies; Meta-analysis in medicine Evidence quality in research ; Novel techniques for summarizing evidence ; Kidney and cardiovascular health
Work: 64 3 364 0903 | Mobile: 64 21 626 008
Email: suetonia.palmer@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Ralph Pinnock (Dunedin School of Medicine)

Clinical reasoning; Decision making
Work: 64 3 470 9838 | Home: 64 3 479 0670
Email: ralph.pinnock@otago.ac.nz

Professor Richie Poulton (Psychology)

Behavioural medicine; Human health and development; Longitudinal research methods; Developmental aspects of psychiatric disorder
Work: 64 3 479 8507
Email: richie.poulton@otago.ac.nz

Dr James Stanley (University of Otago, Wellington)

Study design in health sciences; Biostatistics; Public interpretation of scientific results
Work: 64 4 918 6044
Email: james.stanley@otago.ac.nz

Dr Lee Thompson (Population Health, University of Otago, Christchurch)

Health professionals; Health inequalities; Public policy; Health promotion; Social theory; Qualitative method
Work: 64 3 364 3644
Email: lee.thompson@otago.ac.nz

Dr Hamish Wilson (Faculty of Medicine and General Practice)

Undergraduate medical education; Professional development; Mentoring/supervision; Community-based learning; Doctor - patient relationship
Work: 64 3 479 7450 | Home: 64 3 467 9941 | Mobile: 64 21 267 6994
Email: hwilson@gp.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Communications Office on +64 3 479 8263, or email jo.galer@otago.ac.nz