Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Asia/Pacific

Clocktower at sunset

Professor Judith Bennett (History)

Pacific Islands; Environmental History
Work: 03 479 8607
Email: judy.bennett@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Jenny Bryant-Tokalau (Te Tumu, School of Maori, Pacific and Indigenous Studies)

Fiji; land; poverty; urbanisation; environmental change; climate change
Work: 64 3 471 6946
Email: jenny.bryant-tokalau@otago.ac.nz

Professor Hallie Buckley (Anatomy)

Forensic anthropology; Prehistoric peoples of Pacific; Koiwi tangata; Skeletal pathology
Work: 64 3 479 5775 | Mobile: 64 21 94 00 20

Dr Gautam Ghosh (Anthropology and Archaeology)

South Asia(especially India and Bangladesh); Asian-American studies; Cultural anthropology; nationalism; citizenship, diaspora and human rights; globalization and (neo)liberalism; anthropology and history; time and space; religion; social thought and social theory; (post)colonialism; cyberia; music; development; philosophical anthropology
Work: 64 3 479 8744 | Home: 64 3 477 3207 | Mobile: 64 27 555 0852
Email: gautam.ghosh@otago.ac.nz

Professor Charles Higham (Anthropology and Archaeology)

History of Southeast Asia; Archaeology of Southeast Asia
Work: 64 3 479 8750 | Home: 64 3 476 1056
Email: charles.higham@otago.ac.nz

Dr Iati Iati (Politics)

Pacific politics, in particular land issues, governance and development issues, and NZ foreign policy in the Pacific
Work: 64 3 479 8665 | Mobile: 64 27 3614274
Email: iati.iati@otago.ac.nz

Dr Nicholas Khoo (Politics)

Chinese Foreign Policy; Asian Security; U.S. Policy toward Asia
Work: 64 3 479 5783
Email: nicholas.khoo@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Jacqui Leckie (Anthropology and Archaeology)

Pacific studies; Pacific studies - history, anthropology, gender; Fiji - politics, gender, ethnicity, mental health, labour and work; Immigration and ethnicity in New Zealand (especially Indian)
Work: 64 3 479 8760 | Home: 64 3 471 0979
Email: jacqui.leckie@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Lisa McNeill (Marketing, Otago Business School)

Research methods; Fashion/luxury products marketing & branding; Marketing in Asia; Consumer behaviour
Work: 64 3 479 5758
Email: lisa.mcneill@otago.ac.nz

Professor Brian Moloughney (History and Art History)

Chinese history and literature; Chinese diaspora
Work: 64 3 479 8671
Email: brian.moloughney@otago.ac.nz

Professor Michael Reilly (Te Tumu: School of Maori, Pacific & Indigenous Studies)

Traditional Maori history ; New Zealand intellectual history; Pacific history and traditions; Mangaian history; Maori history since the 19th Century; Traditional history in Eastern Polynesia (Cook Islands, Society Islands, Hawaiian Islands)
Work: 64 3 479 8676
Email: michael.reilly@otago.ac.nz

Dr Benjamin Schonthal (Theology and Religion)

Religions of Asia: Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam in South/Southeast Asia; Religion, Law and Politics: secularism, state regulation of religion, law and religion, religious rights, multiculturalism, religious diversity, religion and politics, constitutions and religion, law and religion; South/Southeast Asian History: especially Sri Lanka and India
Work: 64 3 479 8795 | Mobile: 64 21 1875 314
Email: ben.schonthal@otago.ac.nz

Professor Takashi Shogimen (History)

Political and social thought in medieval Europe; Comparative history of political thought (medieval and Renaissance Europe and Tokugawa Japan)
Work: 64 3 479 4164
Email: takashi.shogimen@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Roy Starrs (Japanese, Department of Languages and Cultures)

Japanese culture and society; Asia - nationalism and globalisation
Work: 64 3 479 9030 | Mobile: 64 21 179 0796
Email: roy.starrs@otago.ac.nz

Dr Kate Stevens (History)

Pacific history (French Polynesia, New Caledonia, Fiji and Vanuatu); British and French colonial history; Histories of law, gender and race
Work: 64 3 479 5779
Email: kate.stevens@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Will Sweetman (Theology and Religion)

Asian religions; Buddhism; Colonialism; Hinduism; History of Christian mission; India; Orientalism; Tamil
Work: 64 3 479 8793 | Mobile: 64 22 027 5921
Email: will.sweetman@otago.ac.nz

Dr Tim Thomas (Anthropology and Archaeology)

Solomon Islands; Archaeology and historical anthropology of Oceania; Material culture; Socio-cultural landscapes; Exchange; Cross-cultural contact; Colonisation; Human diversity
Work: 64 3 479 8790
Email: tim.thomas@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Paola Voci (Languages and Cultures)

Contemporary China: Chinese language, Chinese culture, Chinese digital cultures; Film and media studies and visual culture; New media (DV, blogs, webcast videos, cellphone films) in contemporary China; Media of the Chinese diaspora;
Work: 64 3 479 5994
Email: paola.voci@otago.ac.nz

Professor Richard Walter (Anthropology and Archaeology)

Archaeology; Ethno-archaeology; History of archaeological methods and theory; Pacific material culture; Pacific prehistory and archaeology; New Zealand archaeology and prehistory; Polynesian archaeology and prehistory; Melanesian archaeology and prehistory; Pacific archaeology and prehistory; New Zealand and Pacific colonisation; New Zealand and Pacific material culture
Work: 64 3 479 8754
Email: richard.walter@otago.ac.nz

Dr Lorraine C.M. Wong (Languages and Cultures)

Modern and contemporary Chinese literature; East Asian studies; Comparative literature; Modern Chinese history
Work: 64 3 479 7721
Email: lorraine.wong@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz