Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Europe

Clocktower at sunset

Dr John Garthwaite (Classics)

Classical/World mythology; Greek and Roman history and society; Ancient Olympics
Work: 64 3 479 8715 | Home: 64 455 7707
Email: john.garthwaite@otago.ac.nz

Professor Jon Hall (Classics)

Roman gladiators; Slavery in the Roman world; Ancient Rome; Julius Caesar; Latin language; Roman oratory; Cicero
Work: 64 3 479 8714
Email: jon.hall@otago.ac.nz

Dr James Headley (Politics)

Russian politics and foreign policy; The European Union; British politics; Central and Eastern Europe; The Balkans; Nationalism and ethnic conflict
Work: 64 3 479 8616 | Mobile: 64 21 0230 9691
Email: james.headley@otago.ac.nz

Professor Peter Kuch (Irish Studies Programme)

Late nineteenth and early twentieth-century Irish literature, theatre and history; Twentieth-century Irish film; Early twentieth century Australian and American literature
Work: 64 3 479 8634
Email: peter.kuch@otago.ac.nz

Professor Angela McCarthy (History)

Modern Scottish and Irish history; Scottish and Irish migration and diaspora; Migration and ethnicity in New Zealand; Migration and mental health
Work: 64 3 479 8622
Email: angela.mccarthy@otago.ac.nz

Professor Alex Miller (Philosophy)

Philosophy; Ethics; Scottish politics and culture
Work: 64 3 479 8720
Email: alex.miller@otago.ac.nz

Professor Robert Patman (Politics)

US foreign policy; Russian foreign policy; Global security; International relations; Terrorism; Great Power policies in Middle East and Horn of Africa; Science diplomacy
Work: 64 3 479 8669 | Mobile: 64 21 279 8669
Email: robert.patman@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Mark Seymour (History and Art History)

Modern Italy; Italian History; Marriage and divorce in Italy; European History; History of the Emotions
Work: 64 3 479 8605
Email: mark.seymour@otago.ac.nz

Professor Takashi Shogimen (History)

Political and social thought in medieval Europe; Comparative history of political thought (medieval and Renaissance Europe and Tokugawa Japan)
Work: 64 3 479 4164
Email: takashi.shogimen@otago.ac.nz

Dr Rory Sweetman (History)

Irish history ; Irish language ; History of Catholic Church from 1800
Work: 64 3 479 8797 | Home: 64 3 473 0880 | Mobile: 64 27 3385 866
Email: rsweet@ihug.co.nz

Dr Alexander Trapeznik (History and Art History)

Russian history
Work: 64 3 479 8641
Email: alexander.trapeznik@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Erika Wolf (History)

Modern and contemporary art; Art and politics; Documentary and art photography; Russian and Eastern European culture
Work: 64 3 479 9012
Email: erika.wolf@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Communications Office on +64 3 479 8263, or email jo.galer@otago.ac.nz