Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

New Zealand

Clocktower at sunset

Professor Barbara Brookes (History)

New Zealand social history; 19th and 20th-century gender relations in New Zealand; History of birth control and abortion in New Zealand and Britain in the 19th and 20th centuries; History of Medicine in the 19th and 20th centuries
Work: 64 3 479 8608
Email: barbara.brookes@otago.ac.nz

Professor Thomas Brooking (History)

Dentistry in New Zealand; Land settlement in New Zealand; Rural history in New Zealand; Environmental history (NZ); Scots in New Zealand; Urban history (Caversham 190020); New Zealand studies; General New Zealand history; Political biography
Work: 64 3 479 8628 | Home: 64 3 464 0573
Email: tom.brooking@otago.ac.nz

Emeritus Professor James Flynn (Politics)

US foreign policy; Alliance Party; Race and IQ; Class and IQ; Gender and IQ; Race and achievement
Work: 64 3 479 8668
Email: jim.flynn@otago.ac.nz

Professor Andrew Geddis (Faculty of Law)

Political Party funding; Election law; Election law; Constitutional Law
Work: 64 3 479 8864
Email: andrew.geddis@otago.ac.nz

Professor Janine Hayward (Politics)

Treaty of Waitangi; Electoral systems; NZ Constitution; Local government (particularly Treaty related)
Work: 64 3 479 8666
Email: janine.hayward@otago.ac.nz

Dr James Headley (Politics)

Russian politics and foreign policy; The European Union; British politics; Central and Eastern Europe; The Balkans; Nationalism and ethnic conflict
Work: 64 3 479 8616 | Mobile: 64 21 0230 9691
Email: james.headley@otago.ac.nz

Professor Janet Hoek (Marketing, Otago Business School)

Marketing and public policy; Marketing regulation; Regulation of food marketing, particularly to children; Tobacco control and regulation of tobacco marketing ; Promotion of prescription medicines to end-users; Trademarks and brands as intellectual property
Work: 64 3 479 7692
Email: janet.hoek@otago.ac.nz

Professor Angela McCarthy (History)

Modern Scottish and Irish history; Scottish and Irish migration and diaspora; Migration and ethnicity in New Zealand; Migration and mental health
Work: 64 3 479 8622
Email: angela.mccarthy@otago.ac.nz

Dr Karyn Paringatai (Te Tumu, School of Maori, Pacific and Indigenous Studies)

Aspects of Maori language; Maori performing arts (compositions, poi); Maori migration to Southland in the 1960s and 1970s
Work: 64 3 479 8122
Email: karyn.paringatai@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Lachy Paterson (Te Tumu: School of Maori, Pacific and Indigenous Studies)

Treaty of Waitangi /te Tiriti o Waitangi; Maori-Pakeha race relations history; Maori history (social, political and religious) ; Maori-language newspapers (niupepa) ; Maori Christianity; Maori language / te reo Maori; Historical Maori-language texts / He tuhituhinga tawhito; Maori-language Print / textual cultures
Work: 64 3 479 3972 | Home: 64 3 472 8067 | Mobile: 64 21 311 609
Email: lachy.paterson@otago.ac.nz

Professor Michael Reilly (Te Tumu: School of Maori, Pacific & Indigenous Studies)

Traditional Maori history ; New Zealand intellectual history; Pacific history and traditions; Mangaian history; Maori history since the 19th Century; Traditional history in Eastern Polynesia (Cook Islands, Society Islands, Hawaiian Islands)
Work: 64 3 479 8676
Email: michael.reilly@otago.ac.nz

Mr Marcelo Rodriguez Ferrere (Faculty of Law)

Law (general); Constitutional law; Parliamentary issues; Electoral issues; Major judicial decisions; Law reform issues; Animal Law; Animal Welfare; Animal Rights
Work: 64 3 479 8850 | Mobile: 64 27 278 2582
Email: marcelo.rodriguez.ferrere@otago.ac.nz

Dr Mike Sam (School of Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Sciences)

Sport policy; Sport and government; Free-to-air sport broadcasting policy; Local government and stadium politics
Work: 64 3 479 8398 | Home: 64 3 455 7651
Email: mike.sam@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor John Stenhouse (History)

New Zealand history; Religious history; Science and Religion - Darwinism
Work: 64 3 479 8609
Email: john.stenhouse@otago.ac.nz

Dr Michael Stevens (History and Art History)

Culture contact and colonisation in nineteenth-century southern New Zealand; Muttonbirding; Kāi Tahu affairs; Indigenous knowledge
Work: 64 3 479 8682
Email: michael.stevens@otago.ac.nz

Professor Richard Walter (Anthropology and Archaeology)

Archaeology; Ethno-archaeology; History of archaeological methods and theory; Pacific material culture; Pacific prehistory and archaeology; New Zealand archaeology and prehistory; Polynesian archaeology and prehistory; Melanesian archaeology and prehistory; Pacific archaeology and prehistory; New Zealand and Pacific colonisation; New Zealand and Pacific material culture
Work: 64 3 479 8754
Email: richard.walter@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Angela Wanhalla (History and Art History)

New Zealand History; Maori history; Gender history; Colonialism; Intermarriage
Work: 64 3 479 8462
Email: angela.wanhalla@otago.ac.nz

Dr Paerau Warbrick (Te Tumu: School of Maori, Pacific and Indigenous Studies)

Maori Politics; Maori Land Court; Native Land Court jurisprudence; Native Land Court; Treaty of Waitangi; Maori land issues
Work: 64 3 479 3973 | Home: 64 27 226 4369
Email: paerau.warbrick@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Communications Office on +64 3 479 8263, or email jo.galer@otago.ac.nz