Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

Injury Prevention

Clocktower at sunset

Dr Dorothy Begg (Preventive and Social Medicine)

Injury prevention research; Road traffic injury; Young drivers; Graduated driver licensing | Home: 64 3 442 0857 | Mobile: 64 21 122 2312
Email: dorothy.begg@ipru.otago.ac.nz

Dr Rebecca Brookland (Preventive and Social Medicine)

Injury Epidemiology; Young Driver Behaviour; Older Driver Safety and Mobility; Driver Licensing Policy
Work: 64 3 479 8503
Email: rebecca.brookland@otago.ac.nz

Professor Jennie Connor (Preventive and Social Medicine)

Epidemiology; Injury prevention; Traffic related injury; Sleepy drivers; Sleep-related impairment; Health effects of alcohol; Alcohol and sexual behaviour; Tertiary student drinking
Work: 64 3 479 7745
Email: jennie.connor@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Sarah Derrett (Injury Prevention Research Unit, Preventive and Social Medicine)

Disability; Injury outcomes; Person-centred health outcomes; Prioritisation; Equity
Work: 64 3 479 7221 | Mobile: 64 21 113 4832
Email: sarah.derrett@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Michael Keall (Public Health)

Epidemiology; Injury prevention; Traffic related injury; Home injury; Falls
Work: 64 4 918 6794
Email: michael.keall@otago.ac.nz

Emeritus Professor John Langley (Preventive & Social Medicine)

Injury epidemiology; Injury prevention research; Injury surveillance
Email: john.langley@ipru.otago.ac.nz

Dr Shyamala Nada-Raja (Preventive and Social Medicine)

Web-based psychological interventions for mental health; Positive psychology; Self-harm; Suicide; Violence; Youth mental health; Positive development; Problem gambling
Work: 64 3 479 8518
Email: shyamala.nada-raja@otago.ac.nz

Dr Jean Simpson (Injury Prevention Research Unit, Preventive and Social Medicine)

Child injury; Child injury prevention; Public Health; Health promotion; Programme evaluation; Qualitative research
Work: 64 3 479 8338
Email: jean.simpson@ipru.otago.ac.nz

Dr Emma Wyeth (Preventive and Social Medicine)

Māori health; Māori and genetic research; Māori and injury; Māori and disability; Health inequities; Health inequalities; Māori research methods; Hauora Māori
Work: 64 3 479 4064
Email: emma.wyeth@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Communications Office on +64 3 479 8263, or email jo.galer@otago.ac.nz