Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map

English

Clocktower at sunset

Professor Chris Ackerley (English)

Modernism (fiction and poetics); Samuel Beckett; Malcolm Lowry; Other modernists: Joyce, Nabokov, Borges, Eliot, Pound; Contract Bridge
Work: 64 3 479 8630 | Home: 64 3 455 4532
Email: chris.ackerley@otago.ac.nz

Dr Simone Drichel (English)

New Zealand literature; Postcolonial literature and theory; Continental philosophy; Theories of subjectivity; Ethics; Deconstruction
Work: 64 3 479 7474
Email: simone.drichel@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Jacob Edmond (English)

Contemporary poetry in English, Russian, and Chinese
Work: 64 3 479 7969
Email: jacob.edmond@otago.ac.nz

Professor Alistair Fox (English)

Contemporary New Zealand literature and culture (including film); Postcolonial literature; Theory of literary and cinematic representation; Early Modern English literature ; Renaissance humanism ; Literature and politics in the Reformation period;
Work: 64 3 479 6830
Email: alistair.fox@otago.ac.nz

Professor Peter Kuch (Irish Studies Programme)

Late nineteenth and early twentieth-century Irish literature, theatre and history; Twentieth-century Irish film; Early twentieth century Australian and American literature
Work: 64 3 479 8634
Email: peter.kuch@otago.ac.nz

Dr Simone Celine Marshall (English)

Medieval literature and manuscript history; English literature, especially medieval literature and manuscript history
Work: 64 3 479 4850
Email: simoneceline.marshall@otago.ac.nz

Dr Shef Rogers (English)

18th century verse; 18th century publishing history; New Zealand book history; Analytical bibliography
Work: 64 3 479 8892
Email: shef.rogers@otago.ac.nz

Dr Rochelle Simmons (English)

English Literature: Contemporary Fiction (including American, British and Canadian); Literature and Film; Literature and the Visual; John Berger, Michael Ondaatje; New Zealand Cinema: City and Suburb in New Zealand Film; Jane Campion, Lee Tamahori
Work: 64 3 479 7743 | Home: 64 3 466 7928
Email: rochelle.simmons@otago.ac.nz

Dr Moyra Sweetnam Evans (Linguistics Programme)

TESOL (Training of second language teachers); English as a second language; Stylistics; Reading in a second language; Bilingualism
Work: 64 3 479 8614
Email: moyra.sweetnam@otago.ac.nz

Dr Paul Tankard (English)

Samuel Johnson and James Boswell; C. S. Lewis, J. R. R. Tolkien and the Inklings; The essay; English composition; Fantasy literature
Work: 03 479 7724
Email: paul.tankard@otago.ac.nz

Professor Evelyn Tribble (English)

Shakespeare; Shakespeare and film; Sound and film; Memory and literature
Work: 64 3 479 5799
Email: evelyn.tribble@otago.ac.nz

Dr Greg Waite (English)

Anglo-Saxon and medieval England; Norse and Viking studies; Old and middle english language and literature; Tudor english; Lexicography (Dictionaries); English dialects
Work: 64 3 479 8629
Email: greg.waite@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

For further help

If you are a member of the media and need help identifying an expert in a field not listed in this database, or if you cannot reach an individual at the listed telephone number, contact the Media Office on +64 3 479 5016, or email simon.ancell@otago.ac.nz