Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Inaugural Professorial Lectures

Clocktower.

The current series of Inaugural Professorial Lectures was established in 1996 with the broad aim of promoting and celebrating the academic reputation of professorial staff.

The series makes an important contribution to the University's role within the wider community by providing a public forum for leading research and enhancing Otago's statutory role as critic and conscience of society.

2015 Inaugural Professorial Lectures

Professor Lecture Details
Professor Takashi Shogimen
Department of History and Art History

Reshaping the Baton: The Enduring Relevance of Intellectual History

Tuesday 21 April 2015, 5:30pm
Burns 2 Lecture Theatre

Professor Phil Bishop
Department of Zoology

The survival of the Earth depends on frogs!

Tuesday 5 May 2015, 5.30pm
Archway 4 Lecture Theatre

Professor Leigh Hale
School of Physiotherapy

Physiotherapy: Enabling healthy and engaging lives through movement and support

Tuesday 19 May 2015, 5.30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre

Professor Warwick Duncan
Department of Oral Sciences
Faculty of Dentistry

Surfaces, screws, smiles: translational research with dental implants

Tuesday 7 July 2015, 5.30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre

Professor David Bryant
Department of Mathematics and Statistics

Proofs and Evolution

Tuesday 21 July 2015, 5.30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre

Professor Elizabeth Slooten
Department of Zoology

Whales, dolphins, science and conservation

Tuesday 18 August 2015, 5.30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre

Professor Christina Hulbe
Department of Surveying

West Antarctic building blocks: mesoscale questions in Antarctic glaciology

Tuesday 1 September 2015, 5.30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre

Professor David Tombs
Howard Paterson Chair in Theology and Public Issues
Director of the Centre for Theology and Public Issues
Department of Theology and Religion

Latin American Liberation Theology and its Ongoing Legacy

Tuesday 8 September 2015, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre

Professor Nancy Longnecker
Department of Science Communication

Effective Science Communication – A Scientific Approach

Tuesday 15 September 2015, 5.30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre

Professor Rhonda Rosengren
Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology
Tuesday 6 October 2015, 5.30pm
Archway 4 Lecture Theatre
Professor Kate Scott
Department of Psychological Medicine
Dunedin School of Medicine
Tuesday 3 November 2015, 5.30pm
Professor David Larsen
Department of Chemistry
Tuesday 17 November 2015, 5.30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Professor Stephen Cranefield
Department of Information Science
Tuesday 1 December 2015, 5.30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Professor David Hutchinson
Department of Physics
Tuesday 15 December 2015, 5.30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre

2016 Inaugural Professorial Lectures

Professor Lecture Details
Professor Stuart Young
Department of Music
Tuesday 15 March 2016, 5.30pm
Professor Paul Brunton
Dean, Faculty of Dentistry
Tuesday 12 April 2016, 5.30pm