Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Bulletin Board 2016: A year in review

Friday, 16 December 2016 12:13am

2016-year-in-review-collage-image
Some of the fabulous images that illustrated the stories on Bulletin Board this year.

In what has become an annual tradition since the Otago Bulletin Board went online in 2013, we are looking back through our archives to review the year behind us as another eventful 12 months draw to a close.

Over 270 stories have been posted to the Otago Bulletin Board website since the start of the year. Topics ranged from a look at Otago’s role in solving the 1080 milk powder case, to a touching story of prostate cancer survival.

As you might expect, we had the fortune to cover some of the more unusual goings on at Otago this year including the release of a Clocktower-shaped 3D puzzle, the christening of a new rowing boat named Harlene, a popular staff dance class, a garden party proposal, and a mystery time capsule.

Throughout the year, several notable anniversaries were marked including milestones for Otago’s Distance Learning programme, the Frances Hodgkins Fellowship, and this month’s landmark cohort of Māori medical graduates.

When it came to major campus changes in 2016, there were many stories to share. Among them were the update to the Campus Master Plan, the unveiling of a newly gifted sculpture in the heart of the Dunedin campus, the announcement of Commerce Building redevelopment project, and, of course, there was the rejuvenation of the Clocktower building.

Below we’ve compiled a list of the top five* stories from each section of Bulletin Board this year. If you missed these the first time, now’s your chance to take a moment and have a look back at some of the best of Otago Bulletin Board in 2016.

News Top 5

time capsule thumb Mystery time capsule unearthed
Thursday, 14 July 2016
dental camera Time-lapse camera recording Dental School redevelopment
Sunday, 3 April 2016
clocktower image Otago officially among the world’s best
Thursday, 25 February 2016
teachers mini Otago University Students Association Teaching Awards
Monday, 26 September 2016
commerce-mini Commerce Building redevelopment announced
Tuesday, 1 March 2016

Research Top 5

multidis thumb New home for the world-renowned Dunedin Multidisciplinary Health and Development Study
Monday, 4 July 2016
research mini More funding opportunities on offer
Thursday, 10 March 2016
reseachers mini Pacific interests land plum positions in Germany
Wednesday, 3 August 2016
grant winners 2016 Proof of Concept grant winners announced
Monday, 20 June 2016
winners thumb Health Research Excellence Awards winners
Wednesday, 18 May 2016

People Top 5

Tuari mini What Otago’s Tuari Potiki said to the United Nations in New York
Sunday, 1 May 2016
Ashley Day mini Long-serving college warden retires, again
Wednesday, 7 September 2016
medicine-mini Plans for the Department of Medicine
Wednesday, 10 August 2016
teacher mini Academic celebrates teaching at Otago for 50 years
Tuesday, 12 April 2016/td>
prostate-mini A prostate cancer survival story
Wednesday, 5 October 2016

Postgraduate Top 5

couple-mini Garden Party perfect setting for Leap Year proposal
Tuesday, 1 March 2016
planning mini Master of Planning internship broadens thinking
Monday, 21 March 2016
nursing mini Christchurch graduate entry students working towards great career in nursing
Monday, 16 May 2016
2016-garden-party-mini Postgraduates welcomed at annual Garden Party
Tuesday, 1 March 2016
climate-mini Making sensible climate predictions a reality
Thursday, 7 April 2016

*Rankings based on Google Analytics pageview data as of 12 December 2016.