Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our people in the Department of Psychology

Head of Department

Thumbnail Mike Colombo

Professor Mike Colombo BA(Colorado) MS PhD(Rutgers)
Email psyhod@psy.otago.ac.nz

Thumbnail Norma Bartlett

Norma Bartlett (HoD’s secretary)
Please phone to make appointments to see Mike:
Tel (479) 7644
Email psyhod@psy.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of Page

Academic Staff

Thumbnail Cliff Abraham Professor Cliff Abraham BA(Virg) PhD(Flor) FRSNZ
Neural mechanisms of learning and memory, cellular and molecular events underlying nervous system plasticity and Alzheimer’s disease.
Thumbnail Brent Alsop

Dr Brent Alsop MSc PhD(Auck)
Experimental analysis of human and animal behaviour in detection and choice procedures.

Thumbnail David Bilkey

Professor David Bilkey BA(Hons) PhD(Otago)
Biological basis of memory and learning. Spatial memory and navigation. Hippocampal function in schizophrenia.

Thumbnail Mike Colombo

Professor Mike Colombo BA(Colorado) MS PhD(Rutgers)
Neural basis of memory and learning, effects of brain damage on behaviour, comparative animal cognition.

Thumbnail Tamlin Conner Dr Tamlin Conner BA(Colorado) PhD(Boston College)
Emotional and physical well-being, happiness, nutrition, genetics, mobile-phone based experience sampling methods.
Thumbnail Liz Franz Professor Liz Franz BA(Whittier) MSc PhD(Purdue)
Planning, attention, and memory processes of complex actions in neurologically-normal and impaired individuals, with a specific focus on bimanual skills.
Thumbnail Jamin Halberstadt Professor Jamin Halberstadt BA(Swarth) PhD(Indiana)
Interaction of emotion and cognition, intuition and reasoning in decision making, social cognition.
Harlene Hayne Professor Harlene Hayne ONZM BA(Colorado) MS PhD(Rutgers) FRSNZ

Memory development in infants and children, childhood amnesia, the development of children’s drawing skills, interviewing children in clinical and legal contexts, risk-taking by adolescents.

Thumbnail Dione Healy Dr Dione Healey BA(Hons) MSc PhD DipClinPsych(Cant)
Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder, temperament and psychopathology, neuropsychological development in childhood.
Thumbnail Jackie Hunter Dr Jackie Hunter BSc DPhil(Ulster)
Social identity, self-esteem, prejudice, intergroup relations.
Thumbnail Richard Linscott Dr Richard Linscott BSc(Hons) PhD GDipCIPs(Otago)
Schizophrenia and risk for psychosis; ethics and informed consent; taxometrics.
Thumbnail Liana Machado Dr Liana Machado BA(UCLA) PhD(UCDavis)
Neuropsychology, visual attention, automaticity, and control.
Thumbnail Neil McNaughton Professor Neil McNaughton MA(Oxf) PhD(S'ton)
The neural basis of anxiety and its disorders; the Reinforcement Sensitivity Theory of human personality; neuroeconomics; the contribution of theta rhythm to these various aspects of mental processing.
Thumb Jeff Miller Professor Jeff Miller BA(Ohio State) PhD(Mich) FRSNZ
Cognitive psychology and psychophysiology, visual perception and attention, mathematical and statistical models and methods.
Thumbnail Janice Murray Dr Janice Murray BSc(Dal) MA PhD(Wat)
Visual cognition, face and object recognition, face perception and aging, visual attention.
Thumbnail David O'Hare Associate Professor David O’Hare BA PhD(Exe)
Cognitive ergonomics, human factors, aviation psychology, expertise and decision-making.
Richie Poulton Professor Richie Poulton MSc PGDipClPs(Otago) PhD(NSW) FRSNZ
Developmental psychopathology, gene X environment prediction of complex disorders, and psychosocial determinants of chronic physical disease.
Thumbnail Elaine Reese Professor Elaine Reese BA(Trin Texas) MA PhD(Emory)

Research interests: autobiographical memory development; language and literacy development; social influences on cognitive development.

Thumbnail Ted Ruffman Professor Ted Ruffman BA(York Can) MEd PhD(Tor)
Social understanding in infants, children, older adults, and dogs.
Thumbnail Damian Scarf Dr Damian Scarf BSc PhD(Otago)
Comparative animal cognition; eg, testing the ability of pigeons to learn novel sequences and solve problems. Developmental psychology; eg, testing the ability of 3- and 4-year-old children to plan for the future and delay gratification.
Thumbnail Libby Shaughency Dr Elizabeth Schaughency BS(Pittsburgh) MS PhD(Georgia)
How to promote evidence-based practices and decision-making to bridge the research-to-practice gap in professional practice with children.
Thumbnail Mele Taumoepeau Dr Mele Taumoepeau BA(Well) BSc(Hons) QM Edin) PhD(Otago)
Children’s social understanding, parent-child conversations about mental states, culture and social understanding
Thumbnail Gareth Treharne Dr Gareth Treharne BSc(Hons) PhD(Birm)
The experience of chronic illness. Treatment decisions and adherence to medications and lifestyle advice. Social constructions of health, illness and identity. Reflexivity and research methods.
Ryan Ward2 Dr Ryan Ward BS MS PhD (Utah State)
Neurobiology of motivation, cognition, and their interaction, temporal information processing and learning
Thumb Rachel Zajac Dr Rachel Zajac BSc BA(Hons) PhD PGDipCIPs(Otago)
Psychology and the law, eyewitness testimony, legal/investigative procedures for witnesses.

^ Top of Page

^ Top of page

Emeritus Professors

j-flynn Emeritus Professor James Flynn MA PhD(Chicago) HonDSc(Otago) FRSNZ     
Emeritus Professor, Joint Department of Politics
Thumbnail Geoff White Emeritus Professor Geoff White ONZM BSc PhD(Otago) FNZPsS FAPS FABAI FRSNZ
Retired

^ Top of Page

Professional Practice Fellows

Thumbnail Brian Dixon Brian Dixon BSc PGDipSci MSc DipCIPs(Otago) FNZPsS
Tel (479) 7625
Email brian@psy.otago.ac.nz
Thumbnail Jo Prince Joanna Prince BSc MSc PGDipCIPs(Otago)
Tel (479) 4229
Email jprince@psy.otago.ac.nz
Thumbnail Ione Wooles Ione Wooles BA MA DipClinPsych(Cant)
Tel (479) 9015
Email ione@psy.otago.ac.nz
Thumbnail Phillipa Youard Philippa Youard BSc(Hons) MSc PGDipCIPs(Otago)
Tel (479)4227
Email philippa@psy.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of Page

Teaching Fellows

Thumbnail Celia Lie Dr Celia Lie BSc(Hons) PhD(Otago)
100-Level Teaching Fellow
Tel (479) 3765
Email celia@psy.otago.ac.nz
Thumbnail Ann Reynolds Dr Ann Reynolds BA(Massey) MA PhD(Otago)
200-Level Teaching Fellow
Tel (479) 7646
Email ann@psy.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of Page

Academic Research Fellows

Simon Chapple

Dr Simon Chapple BCom MCom(Auck) MPhil(Cambridge) DPhil(Vic)
Senior Research Fellow (Economist), DMHDRU
Tel (479) 5550
Email simon.chapple@otago.ac.nz

Kaa-Sandra Chee

Dr Kaa-Sandra Chee BSc MSc(Hons) PhD(Auck)
Research Fellow (Tauranga), NCLR
Email david.craig@otago.ac.nz

David Craig

Associate Professor David Craig  GradDipTch(Auck CoE) BA MA(Hons) MLit(Distinction) PhD(ANU)
Research Associate Professor, NCLR
Tel (479) 5239
Email david.craig@otago.ac.nz

Jules Gross

Dr Julien Gross BSc PGDipSci MSc PhD(Otago)
Research Fellow, Early Learning Project
Tel (479) 8843
Email jules@psy.otago.ac.nz

Thumbnail Kristin Hillman

Dr Kristin Hillman BSc PhD(North Dakota)
Research Fellow, Brain and Behaviour Lab
Tel (479) 3473
Email khillman@psy.otago.ac.nz

Thumbnail Fiona Jack

Dr Fiona Jack BA PGDipArts PhD(Otago)
Research Fellow, Forensic Psychology
Tel (479) 5460
Email fiona@psy.otago.ac.nz

Thumbnail Bruce Mockett

Dr Bruce Mockett BSc DipSci PhD(Massey)
Research Fellow, Neural Mechanisms of Memory Lab
Tel (479) 3474
Email mockettb@psy.otago.ac.nz

Sandhya-Ramrakha thumb

Dr Sandhya Ramrakha BA(Honolulu) MA(Sydney) MA(Hons) ClinPsy (Woollangong) PhD(Otago)
Research Manager, DMHDRU
Tel (479) 5019
Email sandhya.ramrakha@otago.ac.nz

Moana-Theodore

Dr Reremoana (Moana) Theodore BA(Auck) PGDipArts(Otago) PhD(Auck)
(Ngapuhi, Te Arawa)
Research Fellow, NCLR
Tel (479) 4171
Email moana.theodore@otago.ac.nz

Karen-Tustin

Dr Karen Tustin BA(Hons) PhD(Otago)
Research Fellow – Graduate Longitudinal Study NZ (GLSNZ), NCLR
Tel (479) 5089
Email karen.tustin@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of Page

Postdoctoral Fellows

Dr Kirsten Cheyne BSc(Hons) PhD(Otago)
Brain and Behaviour Lab
Tel (479) 7616
Email kcheyne@psy.otago.ac.nz

Dr Owen Jones BSc(Hons)(Liverpool) PGDipSci PhD(Otago)
Neural Mechanisms of Memory Lab
Tel (479) 7632
Email owen.jones@otago.ac.nz

Thumbnail Lucia Schoderdock

Dr Lucia Schoderböck 
Neural Mechanisms of Memory Lab
Tel (479) 3570
Email lucia.schoderbock@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of Page

Research Staff

Brittany-Cardwell

Dr Brittany Cardwell BA PhD(Victoria)
Social Cognition Lab
Tel (479) 4076
Email brittany.cardwell.otago.ac.nz

Thumbnail Jackie Clearwater

Jackie Clearwater
Early Learning Project
Tel (479) 7642
Email jackie@psy.otago.ac.nz

Vanessa Hayes

Vanessa Hayes BA(Hons)(Brighton Poly) MSocWk(York)
Research Interviewer, DMHDRU
Tel 022 199 4451 (Wellington)
Email vanessa.hayes@otago.ac.nz

Sean-Hogan

Sean Hogan BA(Hons)(Surrey) MSW(York) GIPM(KingstonBus)
Cohort & Assessment Manager, DMHDRU
Tel (479) 5551
Email sean.hogan@otago.ac.nz

Thumbnail Barbara Logan Barbara Logan BSc DipSci(Otago)
Neural Mechanisms of Memory Lab
Tel (479) 7632
Email blogan@psy.otago.ac.nz
Kay-McDonald

Kay McDonald BA(Hons)(Nth London) PGDipPH(Otago)
Research Interviewer, DMHDRU
Tel (479) 5550
Email kay.mcdonald@otago.ac.nz

Thumbnail Dianne Morrison

Dianne Morrison BA PGDipArts  MA(Otago)
ADHD Research Programme
Tel (479) 5114
Email dianne@psy.otago.ac.nz

Thumbnail Shane Ohline Dr Shane Ohline BA(Grinnell College) PhD(UCLA) DipGrad(Otago)
Neural Mechanisms of Memory Lab
Tel (479) 7632
Email shane@psy.otago.ac.nz
Thumbnail Sarah-Jane Robertson Sarah-Jane Robertson BA MA(Otago)
Autobiographical Memory & Literacy Development Lab
Tel (479) 3934
Email sarah-jane@psy.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of Page

Technical Staff

Thumbnail Jeremy Anderson Jeremy Anderson (NZCE)
Senior Technical Officer / Lab Manager
Tel (479) 7669
Email jeremy@psy.otago.ac.nz
Thumbnail Jason Campbell Jason Campbell (NDE)
Technician
Tel (479) 7668
Email jason@psy.otago.ac.nz
Thumbnail Richard Hamelink Richard Hamelink (NZCE)
Technician
Tel (479) 7668
Email richard@psy.otago.ac.nz
Thumbnail Meric Hoffman Meric Hoffman
Technician
Tel (479) 7668
Email meric@psy.otago.ac.nz
Thumbnail Sara-Lee Illingworth Sara-Lee Illingworth
Technician
Tel (479) 5945
Email saralee@psy.otago.ac.nz
Thumbnail Natasha O'Docherty Natasha O'Docherty
Technician
Tel (479) 5945
Email tashaod@psy.otago.ac.nz
Thumbnail Paul O'Donnell Paul O'Donnell
IT Support
Tel (479) 7635
Email paul@psy.otago.ac.nz
Thumbnail Russell Phillips Russell Phillips (NZCE)
Technical Officer
Tel (479) 7668
Email russell@psy.otago.ac.nz
Thumbnail Lindsay Robertson Lindsay Robertson (NZCE)
Senior Technician / Safety Officer
Tel (479) 7668
Email lindsay@psy.otago.ac.nz
Thumbnail Stephanie Sherbund Stephanie Sherburd
Technician
Tel (479) 5945
Email steph@psy.otago.ac.nz
William van der Vliet BA BSc(Otago)
Computer Programmer
Tel (479) 7637
Email william@psy.otago.ac.nz
Thumbnail Hayden Youens Hadyn Youens BSc/BCom(Otago)
Computer Programmer
Tel (479) 5402
Email hadyn@psy.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of Page

Administrative Staff

Thumbnail Norma Bartlett Norma Bartlett
Administrative Secretary
Tel (479) 7644
Email psyhod@psy.otago.ac.nz
Thumbnail Kally Barton

Kally Barton
Clinic Administrator & PA to the Clinical Psychology Director
Tel (479) 7627
Email clinicaladmin@psy.otago.ac.nz

Cara-Duffy

Cara Duffy DipPRCommMgt
PSYC 400 & Postgraduate Administrator
Communications Coordinator

Tel (479) 5049
Email cduffy@psy.otago.ac.nz

Thumbnail  Diane Inder Diane Inder
PSYC 100 Administrator
Tel (479) 7631
Email di@psy.otago.ac.nz
Claire-Lill Claire Lill MSc(Massey)
Administrator, Brain Research NZ – Ranghau Roro Aotearoa
Tel (479) 8812
Email claire.lill@otago.ac.nz
Michelle McCann Michelle McCann
Administration Offficer/PA to DMHDRU Director
Tel (479) 8507
Email michelle.mccann@otago.ac.nz
Thumbnail Margaret McMurtrie Margaret McMurtrie
PSYC 203, 204 & 300 Administrator
Tel (479) 6542
Email margaret@psy.otago.ac.nz
Irene Mosley thumb Irene Mosely
Publicity Consultant, Brain Health Research Centre
Tel (479) 4150
Email bhrc-irene@psy.otago.ac.nz
Thumbnail Michelle Moss

Michelle Moss
PSYC 210, 211, 212 Administrator
Tel (479) 6541
Email michelle@psy.otago.ac.nz

Jane Reynolds thumb

Jane Reynolds
Administration Assistant, Brain Health Research Centre
Tel (479) 4066
Email bhrc-admin@psy.otago.ac.nz

Alexandra-Sweetman Alex Sweetman BA/LLB(Auck)
Business Manager, Brain Research NZ – Ranghau Roro Aotearoa
Tel (479) 8818
Email alexandra.sweetman@otago.ac.nz

Thumbnail Jacinta Taylor Jacinta Taylor BCom(Otago)
Finance Administrator
Tel (479) 7521
Email jacinta.taylor@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of Page

Research Units

Brain Health Research Centre (BHRC)

Thumbnail David Bilkey

Professor David Bilkey BA(Hons) PhD(Otago)
Director
Tel (479) 4150
Email david.bilkey@otago.ac.nz

Irene Mosley thumb Irene Mosely
Publicity Consultant
Tel (479) 4150
Email bhrc-irene@psy.otago.ac.nz
Jane Reynolds thumb

Jane Reynolds
Administration Assistant
Tel (479) 4066
Email bhrc-admin@psy.otago.ac.nz

Brain Research NZ - Ranghau Roro Aotearoa

Thumbnail Cliff Abraham

Professor Cliff Abraham BA(Virg) PhD(Flor) FRSNZ
Director
Tel (479) 7648
Email cliff.abraham@otago.ac.nz

Alexandra-Sweetman Alex Sweetman BA/LLB(Auck)
Business Manager
Tel (479) 8818
Email alexandra.sweetman@otago.ac.nz
Claire-Lill Claire Lill MSc(Massey)
Administrator
Tel (479) 8812
Email claire.lill@otago.ac.nz

Dunedin Multidisciplinary Health & Development Research Unit (DMHDRU)

Richie Poulton

Professor Richie Poulton MSc PGDipClPs(Otago) PhD(NSW) FRSNZ
Director
Tel (479) 8507
Email richie.poulton@otago.ac.nz

Michelle McCann Michelle McCann
Administration Offficer/PA to Director
Tel (479) 8507
Email michelle.mccann@otago.ac.nz
Simon Chapple

Dr Simon Chapple BCom MCom(Auck) MPhil(Cambridge) DPhil(Vic)
Senior Research Fellow (Economist)
Tel (479) 5550
Email simon.chapple@otago.ac.nz

Vanessa Hayes

Vanessa Hayes BA(Hons)(Brighton Poly) MSocWk(York)
Research Interviewer
Tel 022 199 4451 (Wellington)
Email vanessa.hayes@otago.ac.nz

Sean-Hogan

Sean Hogan BA(Hons)(Surrey) MSW(York) GIPM(KingstonBus)
Cohort & Assessment Manager
Tel (479) 5551
Email sean.hogan@otago.ac.nz

Kay-McDonald

Kay McDonald BA(Hons), PGDipPH
Research Interviewer
Tel (479) 5550
Email kay.mcdonald@otago.ac.nz

Sandhya-Ramrakha

Dr Sandhya Ramrakha BA(Honolulu) MA(Sydney) MA(Hons)ClinPsy (Woollangong) PhD(Otago)
Research Manager
Tel (479) 5019
Email sandhya.ramrakha@otago.ac.nz

National Centre for Lifecourse Research

Richie Poulton

Professor Richie Poulton MSc PGDipClPs(Otago) PhD(NSW) FRSNZ
Co-Director
Tel (479) 8507
Email richie.poulton@otago.ac.nz

David Craig

Associate Professor David Craig GradDipTch(Auck CoE) BA MA(Hons) MLit(Distinction) PhD(ANU)
Research Associate Professor
Tel (479) 5239
Email david.craig@otago.ac.nz

Kaa-Sandra Chee

Dr Kaa-Sandra Chee BSc MSc(Hons) PhD(Auck)
Research Fellow (Tauranga)
Email kaa-sandra.chee@otago.ac.nz

Moana-Theodore

Dr Reremoana (Moana) Theodore BA(Auck) PGDipArts(Otago) PhD(Auck)
(Ngapuhi, Te Arawa)
Research Fellow
Tel (479) 4171
Email moana.theodore@otago.ac.nz

Karen-Tustin

Dr Karen Tustin BA(Hons) PhD(Otago)
Research Fellow – Graduate Longitudinal Study NZ (GLSNZ)
Tel (479) 5089
Email karen.tustin@otago.ac.nz