Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Kaitautoko Whakamātau

Manutaki Tuarua Māori

sscottDr Stephen Scott is the Division's Associate Dean Māori.He is of Ngāti Whātua and English descent.

Stephen co-ordinates the Divisional response to the Māori Strategic Framework and supports Departmental Kaiāwhina, who in turn are the contact point for Māori students in their Departments. He is available to talk to students, researchers and Departments about increasing the profile of things Māori in the Sciences.

Stephen works with Te Huka Mataurāka and the Student Learning Centre to explore the effective ways to support Māori students in their first year in the Division of Sciences.

You can contact Stephen by email at

Kaiārahi Sciences

Hiria Tutakangahau is the Kaiārahi Sciences. She is of Ngāti Rangi and Ngāi te Rangi descent.

Student support and encouragement are her primary motivations within the Division of Sciences. As a student you will be contacted by her during your time at Otago. You may also hear from her if you are involved with the new Māori Students Science support group – Te Roopu Pūtaiao.

Hiria also supports the activities of the Manutaki Tuarua Māori and the Science Wānanga ( - like us on Facebook!). You can contact Hiria by email at