Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Kaiāwhina Network for Sciences

We have a growing number of Māori students at University of Otago, and over 30% of those are studying within the Division of Sciences.

We consider it a privilege and a responsibility to have you with us, and we are committed to providing the support you need to achieve your best while you are here.

Within the Sciences Division, support for Māori students is mostly undertaken at a Departmental level. All departments have a Kaiāwhina (Māori Support Person), and some departments have very strong support groups for their Māori students.

Physical Education, Psychology, Zoology Anatomy and Structural Biology, and Human Nutrition all have well-established support structures. We all meet on a regular basis to exchange ideas and learn more about the various Māori support networks available on-campus.

If you have any questions, don't hesitate to contact the Kaiāwhina in your department. Check the list below.

Sciences Division Departmental Māori Support and Liaison

Department Contact Person Extension
Anatomy Louise Parr-Brownlie 4960
Biochemistry Lyn Dowsett 7851
Botany and Genetics Kath McGilbert 3943
Chemistry Eng W. Tan (Tan) 7926
Computer Science Yawen Chen 5740
Divisional Office

Miles Lamare

Lisa Te Morenga

Hiria Tutakangahau




Food Science

Miranda Mirosa

Phil Bremer




Michelle Thompson-Fawcett

Ben Varkalis



Geology Andrew Gorman 7516
Human Nutrition

Louise Mainvil

Lisa Te Morenga



Marine Science Miles Lamare 7463
Materials Science and Technology Catherine Smith 7548
Mathematics and Statistics Austina Clark 7757
Microbiology and Immunology Roslyn Kemp 7708
Pharmacology and Toxicology Sarah Baird 7261
Physical Education

Margie Lazar

Mark Falcous



Physics Terry Scott 7741

Karla Sellwood

Andrew Barlow



Psychology Tia Neha 5952
Science Library Alexander Ritchie 7827
Surveying Mick Strack 7603
Zoology Stephen Scott 7970