Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Honours Degrees

Students on the steps of the Information Services Building


Most general bachelors’ degrees and many of the specialised bachelors' degrees have Honours degrees allied to them (e.g. Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Arts with Honours). They usually involve more papers in the subject of the degree and a research report or dissertation.

In most subjects, the Honours degree is a postgraduate degree, requiring an additional year of study after completion of a general three-year bachelor’s degree. In other cases (particularly professional programmes), the Honours degree is an undergraduate degree requiring additional work but taking no longer than the corresponding ordinary degree.

It is possible to undertake Honours degrees in more than one subject, or to take a Combined Honours degree (involving a blend of papers from two subjects).

Honours degrees are awarded at first class, second class and third class level.

The following Honours degrees are offered at the University of Otago.

The BA(Hons), BAppSc(Hons), BCom(Hons), BSc(Hons), BTheol(Hons) and MusB(Hons) degrees have been changed from being four-year undergraduate programmes to one-year postgraduate programmes, undertaken after completion of the corresponding ordinary three-year bachelors’ degrees (BA, BAppSc, etc.).

View the Postgraduate Honours page for more information.

^ Top of Page

Applying for an Honours degree

Students wishing to enrol for these qualifications for the first time should apply online by the relevant due date for applications.

Recommencing students resuming study for these qualifications should apply online by 10 December 2015.

^ Top of Page