Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our people in the Department of Public Health

Heads of Department, Public Health UOW

Professor Richard Edwards
Co-Head of Department
Co-Director ASPIRE2025
Co-Director; Health Promotion and Policy Research Unit (HePPRU)
Email richard.edwards@otago.ac.nz

Professor Diana Sarfati
Co-Head of Department
Director; Cancer and Chronic Conditions (C3) research group
Co-Director; Burden of Disease Epidemiology, Equity and Cost-Effectiveness Programme (BODE3)
Email diana.sarfati@otago.ac.nz

Beck O'Shaughnessy
EA to Head of Department
Email beck.oshaughnessy@otago.ac.nz

Shirlee Wilton
Departmental Manager
Email shirlee.wilton@otago.ac.nz

Directors of research groups, Public Health UOW 

Professor Michael Baker
Co-Director; Housing and Health Research Programme (HHRP)
Director; Health Environment & Infection Research Unit (HEIRU)
Email michael.baker@otago.ac.nz

Professor Tony Blakely
Director; Health Inequalities Research Programme (HIRP)
Director; Burden of Disease Epidemiology, Equity and Cost-Effectiveness Programme (BODE³)
Email tony.blakely@otago.ac.nz

Professor Philippa Howden-Chapman
Director; Housing and Health Research Programme (HHRP)
Director; Centre for Sustainable Cities (CSC)
Email philippa.howden-chapman@otago.ac.nz

Bridget Robson
Director; Te Rōpū Rangahau Hauora a Eru Pōmare (TRRHAEP)
Associate Dean Māori
Email bridget.robson@otago.ac.nz

Professor Diana Sarfati
Co-Head of Department
Director; Cancer and Chronic Conditions (C3) research group
Co-Director; Burden of Disease Epidemiology, Equity and Cost-Effectiveness Programme (BODE³)
Email diana.sarfati@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Louise Signal
Director; Health Promotion and Policy Research Unit (HePPRU)
Director; HIA Research Unit
Email louise.signal@otago.ac.nz

Professor Nick Wilson
Co-Director; Burden of Disease Epidemiology, Equity and Cost-Effectiveness Programme (BODE³)
Email nick.wilson@otago.ac.nz

Convenors of teaching programmes, Public Health UOW 

Richard Jaine
Undergraduate convenor
Email richard.jaine@otago.ac.nz

Ruth Cunningham
Postgraduate research teaching convenor (PhD)
Email ruth.cunningham@otago.ac.nz

Hera Cook
Postgraduate research teaching convenor (Masters)
Email hera.cook@otago.ac.nz

William Leung
Postgraduate course director (CPH, DPH & DipHealMgt)
Email william.leung@otago.ac.nz

All staff and students, Public Health UOW

A-F | G-L | M-R | S-Z 

A-F  

June Atkinson
Senior Analyst; BODE³
Email june.atkinson@otago.ac.nz

Kate Amore
Research Fellow; HHRP
Email kate.amore@otago.ac.nz

Professor Michael Baker
Co-Director; Housing and Health Research Programme (HHRP)
Director, Health Environment & Infection Research Unit (HEIRU)
Email michael.baker@otago.ac.nz

Jude Ball
Research Fellow (ASPIRE2025)
Email jude.ball@otago.ac.nz

Michelle Barr
PhD student/Assistant Research Fellow; HePPRU
Email michelle.barr@otago.ac.nz

Mike Bedford
PhD student; Asst Research Fellow, He Kainga Oranga
email: mike.bedford@otago.ac.nz

Julie Bennett
Research Fellow; HHRP
Email julie.bennett@otago.ac.nz

Emily Bentley
Research Administrator
Email emily.bentley@otago.ac.nz

Sarah Bierre
Research Fellow; HHRP
Email sarah.bierre@otago.ac.nz

Professor Tony Blakely
Director; Health Inequalities Research Programme (HIRP)
Director; Burden of Disease Epidemiology, Equity and Cost-Effectiveness Programme (BODE³)
Email tony.blakely@otago.ac.nz

Paul Blaschke
Senior Professional Fellow
Email paul.blaschke@otago.ac.nz

Naomi Brewer
Research Fellow, BODE3
Email naomi.brewer@otago.ac.nz

Tim Chambers
Assistant Research Fellow, PhD student; HePPRU
Email tim.chambers@otago.ac.nz

Elinor Chisholm
Postdoctoral Research Fellow; HHRP
Email elinor.chisholm@otago.ac.nz

Cristina Cleghorn
Research Fellow; BODE³
Email cristina.cleghorn@otago.ac.nz

Hera Cook
Senior Lecturer; Social Science Research Methods and History; MPH convenor
Email hera.cook@otago.ac.nz

Donna Cormack
Senior Research Fellow; TRRHAEP
Email donna.cormack@otago.ac.nz

Ruth Cunningham
Senior Research Fellow; C3
Email ruth.cunningham@otago.ac.nz

Amanda D'Souza
Director, Research Fellow; PhD Candidate HePPRU
Email amanda.dsouza@otago.ac.nz

Anna Davies
Research Fellow; BODE³
Email anna.davies@otago.ac.nz

Louise Delany
Senior Lecturer
Email louise.delany@otago.ac.nz

George Disney
Research Fellow; NZCMS/CT
Email george.disney@otago.ac.nz

Sarah Donovan
Professional Practice Fellow
Email sarah.donovan@otago.ac.nz

Professor Richard Edwards
Co-Head of Department
Director; Health Promotion and Policy Research Unit (HePPRU)
Email richard.edwards@otago.ac.nz

Anna Ferguson
Research Assistant; HePPRU
Email anna.ferguson@otago.ac.nz

Geoff Fougere
PhD supervisor
Email geoff.fougere@otago.ac.nz

Sara Fraser
Research Assistant; HHRP
Email se.fraser@otago.ac.nz

G-L  

Lily Gao
Finance Administrator
Email lily.gao@otago.ac.nz

Frances Graham
PhD Student; HEIRU
Email grafr148@student.otago.ac.nz

Libby Grant
Assistant Research Fellow
Email libby.grant@otago.ac.nz

Rebecca Gray
PhD Student; ASPIRE
Email rebecca.gray@otago.ac.nz

Leah Grout
PhD Student; HEIRU
Email grole996@student.otago.ac.nz

Jason Gurney
Senior Research Fellow; C3
Email jason.gurney@otago.ac.nz

Simon Hales
Research Associate Professor; CSC
Email simon.hales@otago.ac.nz

Ricci Harris
Senior Research Fellow; TRRHAEP
Email ricci.harris@otago.ac.nz

Christie Hay
Postgraduate Coordinator and Marketing Assistant
Email christie.hay@otago.ac.nz

Sarah Henderson
Research Administrator; BODE3
email s.henderson@otago.ac.nz

Professor Philippa Howden-Chapman
Director; Housing and Health Research Programme (HHRP)
Director; Centre for Sustainable Cities (CSC)
Email philippa.howden-chapman@otago.ac.nz

Kerry Hurley
Department and PhD Administrator
Email kerry.hurley@otago.ac.nz

Vivienne Ivory
Research Fellow; HIRP
Email vivienne.ivory@otago.ac.nz

Richard Jaine
Senior Lecturer/Undergraduate Convenor
Email richard.jaine@otago.ac.nz

Jasmine Jameson (Xu)
Research Manager; HHRP, CSC, C3, HePPRU, HEIRU
Email jasmine.xu@otago.ac.nz

Michael Keall
Research Associate Professor; HHRP
Postgraduate research teaching convenor (PhD and Masters)
Email michael.keall@otago.ac.nz

Gay Keating
PhD student; TRRHAEP
Email gay.keating@otago.ac.nz

Trang Khieu
PhD Student; HEIRU
Email khith138@student.otago.ac.nz

Paula King
PhD Student/HRC Fellow; TRRHAEP
Email paula.king@otago.ac.nz

Amanda Kvalsvig
PhD Student; HEIRU
Email amanda.kvalsvig@otago.ac.nz

Giorgi Kvizhinadze
Research Fellow; BODE³
Email giorgi.kvizhinadze@otago.ac.nz

Tolotea Lanumata
Research Fellow; HePPRU
Email tolotea.lanumata@otago.ac.nz

Keri Lawson-TeAho
Lecturer
Email kerirose.lawsonteaho@otago.ac.nz

William Leung
Lecturer Health Economics
Postgraduate course director (CPH, DPH & DipHealMgt)
Email william.leung@otago.ac.nz

M-R  

Mary McIntyre
Senior Research Fellow; Te Hereripirie
Email mary.mcintyre@otago.ac.nz

Christina McKerchar
PhD student Kids'Cam
Email christina.mckerchar@otago.ac.nz

Melissa McLeod
Senior Research Fellow; TRRHAEP
Email melissa.mcleod@otago.ac.nz

Anja Mizdrak
Research Fellow; BODE3
Email anja.mizdrak@otago.ac.nz

Losa Moata'ane
PhD Student
Email losa.moataane@otago.ac.nz

Nisha Nair
Research Fellow; BODE³
Email nisha.nair@otago.ac.nz

Nhung Nghiem
Research Fellow; BODE³
Email nhung.nghiem@otago.ac.nz

Inga O'Brien
PhD Student
Email obrin889@student.otago.ac.nz

Jane Oliver
Assistant Research Fellow/PhD Student; HEIRU
Email olija865@student.otago.ac.nz

Jenny Ombler
Assistant Research Fellow; CSC
Email jenny.ombler@otago.ac.nz

Beck O'Shaughnessy
EA to Head of Department
Email beck.oshaughnessy@otago.ac.nz

Nevil Pierse
Senior Research Fellow; Deputy Director HHRP
Email nevil.pierse@otago.ac.nz

Michelle Poland
PhD student Economics
Email polmi197@student.otago.ac.nz

Nick Preval
Research Fellow; CSC
Email nicholas.preval@otago.ac.nz

Gordon Purdie
Biostatistician
Email gordon.purdie@otago.ac.nz

Ruruhira Rameka
Administrator/Research Assistant; TRRHAEP
Email ruruhira.rameka@otago.ac.nz

Ed Randal
Research Fellow; CSC
Email edward.randal@otago.ac.nz

Lara Rapson
PhD student HHRP
Email lara.rapson@wcc.govt.nz

Johanna Reidy
Lecturer Health Systems/Research Fellow
Email johanna.reidy@otago.ac.nz

Graciela Rivera-Munoz
PhD Student/Research Assistant; CSC
Email graciela.rivera-munoz@otago.ac.nz

Bridget Robson
Director; Te Rōpū Rangahau Hauora a Eru Pōmare (TRRHAEP)
Associate Dean Māori
Email bridget.robson@otago.ac.nz

Marie Russell
Research Fellow; CSC
Email marie.russell@otago.ac.nz

S-Z  

Professor Diana Sarfati
Co-Head of Department
Director; Cancer and Chronic Conditions (C3) research group
Co-Director; Burden of Disease Epidemiology, Equity and Cost-Effectiveness Programme (BODE³)
Email diana.sarfati@otago.ac.nz

Caroline Shaw
Senior Research Fellow
Email caroline.shaw@otago.ac.nz

Matthew Shaw
PhD Student; HePPRU
Email matthew.shaw@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Louise Signal
Director; Health Promotion and Policy Research Unit (HePPRU)
Director; HIA Research Unit
Email louise.signal@otago.ac.nz

Virginia Signal
PhD Student/Assistant Research Fellow; C3
Email virginia.signal@otago.ac.nz

Kate Sloane
Research Manager; BODE³
Email kate.sloane@otago.ac.nz

Moira Smith
PhD Student/Research Fellow; HePPRU
Email smimo029@student.otago.ac.nz

Jeannine Stairmand
Lecturer/Assistant Research Fellow; HePPRU, C3
Email jeannine.stairmand@otago.ac.nz

James Stanley
Biostatistician/Senior Research Fellow
Email james.stanley@otago.ac.nz

Lucy Telfar-Barnard
Research Fellow; HHRP
Email lucy.telfar-barnard@otago.ac.nz

Andrea Teng
Research Fellow; NZCMS/CT & BODE3
Email andrea.teng@otago.ac.nz

George Thomson
Research Associate Professor; HePPRU
Email george.thomson@otago.ac.nz

Louise Thornley
Research Fellow; ASPIRE2025
Email louise.thornley@otago.ac.nz

Ramona Tiatia
Pacific Research Fellow; HHRP
Email ramona.tiatia@otago.ac.nz

Frederieke van der Deen
Assistant Research Fellow/PhD Student; BODE³
Email frederieke.vanderdeen@otago.ac.nz

Stella Vickers
PhD student
Email stella.vickers@postgrad.otago.ac.nz

Helen Viggers
Research Fellow; HHRP
Email helen.viggers@otago.ac.nz

Anaru Waa
Lecturer
Email andrew.waa@otago.ac.nz

John White
PhD Student; HePPRU
Email whijo379@student.otago.ac.nz

Professor Nick Wilson
Co-Director; Burden of Disease Epidemiology, Equity and Cost-Effectiveness Programme (BODE³)
Email nick.wilson@otago.ac.nz

Shirlee Wilton
Departmental Manager
Email shirlee.wilton@otago.ac.nz

Fran Wright
Marketing and Web Manager
Email fran.wright@otago.ac.nz

Jane Zhang
Data Analyst; HHRP
Email jane.zhang@otago.ac.nz

Wei Zhang
Research Assistant HHRP
Email wei.zhang@otago.ac.nz

Honorary Fellows, Public Health UOW

  • Hazel Armstrong
  • Alison Blaiklock
  • Kristie Carter
  • Brian Easton
  • Heather Gifford
  • Santosh Jatrana
  • Jonathan Koea
  • Kristen Lovelock
  • Mary E. McIntyre
  • Stephen Palmer
  • Amber Pearson
  • Frank Pega
  • Ken Richardson