

Dr E. C. Grant and Mrs H. M. Grant Memorial Medical Scholarship

The Edward C Grant Memorial Medical Scholarship was established in 2009. Dr Peter Grant wished to commemorate his father with a full, four-year scholarship to the University of Otago Medical School, for a student admitted to the medical programme who is from the East Coast of the North Island, a place of importance to Dr Grant. At the request of Dr Peter Grant, the name, value and tenure of the scholarship was amended from 2013. The Scholarship was further amended in 2023, with the aim of clarifying and simplifying its financial framework and terms of payment.

Dr Edward Grant, commonly known as Ted, was born near Outram, West Taieri in 1900. He attended Otago Boys High School and then the medical school at the University of Otago. He completed his training and degrees in London in 1926. He returned to New Zealand in 1930 and after working on the West Coast for six years, was appointed medical superintendent at Te Puia Springs Hospital with medical responsibilities between Tolaga and Tokomaru Bays up to the East Cape. For eight of the next 12 years, he was continuously on-call for the region. He resigned in 1948 and then spent six years in general practice in Rotorua and many more years as a GP in Devonport. Next, Dr Grant moved to Kerikeri to "slow down" but soon returned to Point Chevalier, Auckland until he retired. He died in 1980.

Eligibility

Applications are open to students:

- who are residents in, have resided for a substantial period in, or have strong affiliations with the North Island East Coast area (defined geographically to include the Whakatane area to Wairoa), or the West Coast of the South Island; and
- who have been admitted into the second year of the MB ChB programme.

Preference will be given to applicants who are Māori.

Application Process

Eligible applicants will be invited to apply at the time of receipt of an offer for a place in the second-year component of the MB ChB programme. Applications for this scholarship must be submitted to Student Administration (Scholarships) no later than **1 March** in the year in which the scholarship will be available. A selection committee will convene to determine award of the scholarship in March.

Applications must consist of:

- A covering letter indicating:
 - the applicant's period of residence in the East Coast or the West Coast of the South Island;
 - o the applicant's iwi affiliations (if applicable);
 - the applicant's career aspirations, including why their blend of academic achievement, leadership skills and community service capacities qualify them to fulfil the commemorative nature of the scholarship; and,
 - o any other scholarships applied for or received.
- Academic transcript(s) at tertiary level, including Health Sciences First Year results (if applicable).

• Two personal referee reports.

Applicants may also be required to attend an interview.

Selection Process

The selection committee, consisting of the Dean of Otago Medical School (in the chair), the Director of the Centre for Hauora Māori, the Associate Dean Māori, Dunedin School of Medicine, the Director of the Development and Alumni Relations Office, and the Manager, Postgraduate Scholarships, Prizes and Awards (or their nominees), shall consider the following factors in recommending the awarding of the scholarship:

- the applicant's period of residence in the East Coast, North Island or West Coast, South Island;
- the applicant's iwi affiliations (if applicable);
- the applicant's career aspirations, including why their blend of academic achievement, leadership skills and community service capacities qualify them to fulfil the commemorative nature of the scholarship; and,
- any other scholarships applied for or received.

Previous and current recipients of the scholarship may also be included in the selection committee at the discretion of the chair. Assuming suitable applicants, one new scholarship will be awarded each year.

Financial

- The award has a value of \$8,000 per annum for four years of the recipient's MB ChB degree, provided all tenure requirements are met.
- The award shall be paid out in 2 x \$4,000 lump-sum instalments each year for the four years of tenure.
- The maximum total value of the award per recipient is \$32,000.
- The Trainee Intern year (6th year) is not included in this scholarship.

Tenure

- The scholarship must be taken up in the year in which it is awarded.
- The scholarship is continuous for four years provided the student successfully achieves a pass each year and meets the 'other requirements' listed below; the scholarship will be discontinued if these conditions are not met.
- If the recipient is approved for temporary withdrawal from the MB ChB programme, for example to undertake a Bachelor of Medical Science with Honours degree, the scholarship shall be temporarily suspended until the student resumes the MB ChB programme. Temporary suspension shall be for a maximum of one year.
- The scholarship may be held concurrently with other awards, subject to approval by the Dean of the Otago Medical School.

Other Requirements

Each scholarship recipient must:

- Write an annual report at year end to the donor to provide an update on progress and activities.
- Agree to engage with the Associate Dean Maori, Division of Health Sciences and the Associate Dean Māori, Dunedin School of Medicine, and participate annually in relevant initiatives that foster the relationship between the relevant region (East Coast, North Island or West Coast, South Island) and the University of Otago. In particular, initiatives that foster pathways for rangatahi (young people) to study health are encouraged.

•	Agree to reasonable requests from the University of Otago to appropriately represent the University and the scholarship.