

# James Hodge Maurice and Phyllis Paykel Scholarships in Medical and Health Sciences

Established in 2017 by the Trustees of the Maurice and Phyllis Paykel Trust, to replace the Maurice and Phyllis Paykel Research Awards that supported medical students during their first year for BMedSc(Hons), MMedSc and MBChB/PhD since 1993. The new use of the Phyllis Paykel Memorial Scholarship continues the support for BMedSc (Hons) students and the Research Awards were discontinued in 2017.

These new awards are to be offered for the support of a research year for non-MBChB students.

## Eligibility

Applicants must:

- be a NZ citizen or NZ Residence Class Visa Holder, and
- be accepted by the University of Otago as a candidate for one of the following degrees:
  - BSc (Hons) in a health sciences discipline
  - o BBioMedSc (Hons)
  - BDentTech (Hons)
  - BDS (Hons)
  - o BRT (Hons)
  - o BPharm (Hons)
  - o BPhty (Hons)

#### **Application and Selection Process**

Written applications outlining the topic of research to be undertaken, and a curriculum vitae, must be received by the PVC by the specified closing date.

The award shall be made by the University Council on the recommendation of the selection committee, comprising the PVC (or their nominee), and two other members of the Division of Health Sciences Research committee as appointed by the PVC (or their nominee).

In awarding the scholarship the selection committee shall consider the following factors:

- the applicant's previous academic performance
- the applicant's motivation and/or previous experience in research
- the applicant's potential for success in independent research

Up to three awards may be made in any one year.

#### Value

The current maximum value of the award is \$7,500 per student.

### Tenure

- The scholarship will be held for one year while the candidate is enrolled in the BSc (Hons), BBioMedSc (Hons), BDentTech (Hons), BDS (Hons), BRT (Hons), BPharm (Hons) or BPhty (Hons).
- The scholarship must be taken up in the year for which it is awarded.

• The scholarship may be held concurrently with other awards, subject to approval by the Pro-Vice-Chancellor Health Sciences.

#### **Other Requirements**

The holder of an award shall provide the PVC and the Trustees with a brief report at the conclusion of the period of tenure.

Research carried out during the tenure of an award must conform to the codes of ethical conduct at the University of Otago and must have the approval of the appropriate ethics committee(s).

Any publication resulting from work done during the tenure of an award shall include acknowledgment of support provided by the Maurice and Phyllis Paykel Trust.

Note: In these Regulations, "the PVC" means the Pro-Vice-Chancellor of Health Sciences and "the Trustees" means the Trustees of the Maurice and Phyllis Paykel Trust.