Law and Society Association of Australia and New Zealand (LSAANZ) Annual Publication Prize

The Law and Society Association of Australia and New Zealand (LSAANZ) will award three publication prizes each year. The prizes will be awarded for the most outstanding contribution to the field of law and society by an Australian or New Zealand scholar (whether by residence or birth) or whose work has a focus on these jurisdictions across three categories:

- 1. For a published scholarly book/monograph
- 2. For a published scholarly article/ book chapter
- **3.** To an early career researcher (ECR) for work nominated for consideration under (1) or (2) above.¹

The closing date for all three prizes will be 1 July in a given year.

To be considered for one of the prizes, the publication must have been published in the 12 months preceding 1 July. Note that if a person nominates a work that has been published online before 1 July (and the print publication occurs after 1 July), then that work is ineligible for submission in the following year as a print publication (i.e. you cannot submit the same work for consideration in different years).

An ECR is a person who is currently enrolled in a PhD or has had their PhD conferred in the five years before the submission date for the prize (1 July). An ECR may nominate their work for the dedicated book or article prize as well as being considered for the ECR prize.

A person is only able to submit one sole-authored work per prize. It is however possible to submit more than one work where a person is a joint author (up to a total of two works – i.e. one sole-authored and one co-authored; or two co-authored works).

A person may nominate themselves for a prize. If a person is nominated by someone else then it must be indicated that the person has consented to that nomination.

The book prize winner is expected to participate in a panel discussion on the published work at the annual LSAANZ conference held in November/December each year.

The nominations for the prizes will be considered by a subcommittee of the LSAANZ comprising of three members, including one postgraduate or ECR member.

Award

Each prize recipient will receive a certificate and award of \$AUD200. The prizes will be awarded at the LSAANZ annual conference and publicised on the LSAANZ website. Prize recipients will be informed of their award prior to the conference to enable attendance.

The scholarly book/ monograph prize winner is expected to participate in a 'author meets reader' session at the LSAANZ annual conference.

¹ All ECRs who nominate a book/monograph or journal article/chapter are automatically considered for the ECR award. It is possible for an ECR to win the book or journal article prize as well as the ECR prize.

Law and Society Association of Australia and New Zealand (LSAANZ) Publication Prize Nomination Form 2017

Author(s):	
Lead Author's Contact Details	
E-Mail:	
Phone:	Mobile:
Address:	
Full Citation of work to be cor	nsidered for prize:
Publication to be considered for	·:
1. LSAANZ book/monogra	aph prize
2. LSAANZ article/book cl	hapter prize
under prizes (1) and (2) abo	n ECR and eligible for the ECR award for work nominated ove. An ECR is a person currently enrolled in a PhD or who red in the five years preceding the 1 July 2017.
Yes I am an ECR and eligible fo	or the ECR award.
	y submit one sole-authored work per prize, and up to two ne sole-authored and one co-authored; or two co-authored
(and the print publication occ	s a work that has been published online before 1 July 2017 curs after 1 July 2017), then that work is ineligible for ar as a print publication (i.e. you cannot submit the same nt years).
Author's Agreement:	
I agree to the above cited b LSAANZ prize categories.	book/ article being nominated for consideration in one of the
	warded the <i>LSAANZ book prize</i> , I agree to participate in an t the LSAANZ annual conference in 2017.

This nomination form, along with a PDF copy of the work nominated, must be submitted to secretary@lsaanz.org on or before midnight on 1 July 2017.

All nominations will be assessed by a subcommittee of the LSAANZ Management Committee. Prizes in each category are awarded for the most outstanding contribution to

the field of law and society by an Australian or New Zealand scholar (whether by residence or birth) or to a scholar whose work has a focus on these jurisdictions.