Southern Health Symposium and Research Excellence Awards

Celebrating the best in health research

Programme

Thursday 29 June 2017 8:30am to 7:30pm Dunedin Public Art Gallery



Dunedin School of Medicine Te Kura Whaiora o Ōtepoti

Proudly in association with Southern District Health Board and Health Research South

southern health symposium & research excellence awards Thursday 29 June I Dunedin Public Art Gallery

8:30 - 8:45	Tea/coffee			
8:50 - 9:05	Mihi ——— Introduction	Dr Joanne Baxter Associate Dean Māori Professor Barry Taylor Dean, Dunedin School of Medicine	Welcome	
9:05 -10:00	Plenary Chaffer Medal Recipient	Professor David Baxter Director, Ageing Well National Science Challenge University of Otago	Research development in physiotherapy: the role of graduate research	
10:00 -10:30	Guest Speaker	Dr Louise Bicknell Department of Pathology Dunedin School of Medicine	Harnessing rare genetic disorders to understand human growth and development	
10:30 - 10:50	Morning tea			
10:50 -11:20	Guest speaker	Associate Professor Yoram Barak Department of Psychological Medicine Dunedin School of Medicine	Preventing Alzheimer's disease	
11:20 - 11:35	Postgraduate Speaker	Dr Kristin Kenrick Department of General Practice and Rural Health	Recognising and managing coeliac disease in New Zealand: how can we do better?	
11:35 - 11:50	Postgraduate Speaker	Mohammad Amer Department of Surgical Sciences Dunedin School of Medicine	Surgical management of gastro- oesophageal reflux disease: a network meta-analysis	
11:50 -12:05	Postgraduate Speaker	Maria Baby Department of Psychological Medicine Dunedin School of Medicine	Communication skills and mindfulness interventions as patient aggression prevention strategies	
12:05 - 12:35	Guest Speaker	Dr Garry Nixon Director, Rural Postgraduate Programme Dunedin School of Medicine	Rural health research: an overview	
12:35 - 1:30	Complimentary lunch			

programme continued...

1:30 - 2:00	Guest speaker	Professor Ian Morison Department of Pathology Dunedin School of Medicine	Tissue-specific epigenetic markers and disease discovery	
2:00 - 2:10	Quick-fire Postgraduate talk	Yvonne Nartey Department of Preventive & Social Medicine Dunedin School of Medicine	The epidemiology of cervical cancer in Ghana	
2:10 - 2:40	Guest speaker	Dr Judith Marsman Department of Surgical Sciences Dunedin School of Medicine	Understanding the genetics of cardiovascular diseases: into the third dimension	
2:40 - 2:50	Quick-fire Postgraduate talk	Estelle Peyroux Department of Pathology Dunedin School of Medicine	Altered immune cell responses to microbial stimulation in Ankylosing Spondylitis patients	
2:50 - 3:05	Postgraduate speaker	Michelle Jospe Department of Medicine Dunedin School of Medicine	Weight loss with hunger training	
	Afternoon tea			
3:05 – 3:20		Afternoon tea		
3:05 - 3:20 3:20 - 3:50	Guest Speaker	Afternoon tea Dr Tania Slatter Department of Pathology Dunedin School of Medicine	Using genetic differences amongst brain tumours to predict tumour behaviour	
	Guest Speaker Postgraduate Speaker	Dr Tania Slatter Department of Pathology		
3:20 - 3:50	Postgraduate	Dr Tania Slatter Department of Pathology Dunedin School of Medicine Rebecca Harding Department of Women's and Children's Health	sleep-disordered breathing and academic performance in a	

Health Research Excellence Awards Celebrating the best in health research

4:30 - 5:45	Complimentary refreshments		
5:50pm	Welcome from Master of Ceremonies	Professor Stephen Robertson Associate Dean Research Dunedin School of Medicine	
The Dunedin School of Medicine and Southern DHB: future directions		Professor Barry Taylor Dean, Dunedin School of Medicine	
Southern DHB Health Service Delivery Award 2016 Recipients' presentation		Chris Fleming Chief Executive, Southern District Health Board	
		Christine Ho Clinical Nurse Specialist Southern District Health Board	
Southern DHB funding pool announcement; funding bodies acknowledgement		Professor Stephen Robertson	
Special presentation: Healthcare Otago Trust Recipient		Nicola Winter Dietitian, Southern District Health Board	
Winners of Competitive Awards		 Best Collaboration Best Research Support Best Publication Best Master's; PhD publication Gil Barbezat Award 	
The Dunedin School of Medicine: a year in review		Professor Barry Taylor Dean, Dunedin School of Medicine	
Departmental Awards		Professor Stephen Robertson	
DSM Postgraduate Poster Competition Winners		Associate Professor Julia Horsfield Associate Dean, Postgraduate Education Dunedin School of Medicine	
Special guest speaker		Associate Professor Greg Jones Department of Surgical Sciences	
Research Development Investment Awards		presented by Professor Richard Blaikie DVC Research & Enterprise	
2017 DSM Dean's Medallist Award		presented by Professor Barry Taylor Dean, Dunedin School of Medicine	
7:30		Close	