

Regulations for University of Otago Prestige Scholarships and University of Otago Scholarships

University of Otago Prestige Scholarships and University of Otago Scholarships are awarded by the University Council on the basis of high academic achievement, to students completing either the third year of a specific degree programme (see note 1) or the 300-level Major subject requirement of other degree or Diploma programmes.

- 1. University of Otago Prestige Scholarships are awarded to outstanding students and University of Otago Scholarships are awarded to excellent students.
- 2. Wherever possible, specified named Scholarships funded by bequest or other special funds, shall be awarded to qualified students; other eligible students shall be awarded an unspecified University of Otago Prestige Scholarship or University of Otago Scholarship.
- 3. To be eligible to receive the remuneration of the Scholarship, a student to who an award has been made, must be enrolled at the University of Otago, in the following year in a full-time course at 400-level or 500-level towards a degree or postgraduate diploma in the same discipline for which the award was made.
- 4. No student may hold more than one University of Otago Prestige Scholarship or University of Otago Scholarship in any year. Students holding a University of Otago Study Grant for Māori and Pacific Island Students may also hold a University of Otago Prestige Scholarship or University of Otago Scholarship on their academic transcript but no emolument will be paid for the University of Otago Prestige Scholarship or University of Otago Scholarship. A University of Otago Prestige Scholarship or University of Otago Scholarship is tenable with all other awards, where their regulations so allow.
- 5. Students may apply in writing to the Manager, Postgraduate Scholarships, Prizes and Awards, for permission to defer their qualifying enrolment for up to a maximum of two years.
- 6. The values of the Scholarships are as set down in the current schedule of Scholarships and Prizes.
- Note 1. Bachelors degrees in Applied Science, Dentistry, Medicine, Pharmacy, Law, Surveying, Physical Education or Physiotherapy.

[Current values: Prestige Scholarship \$1500; Scholarship \$750]

NAMED SCHOLARSHIPS

AFJ Mickle Scholarship	The scholarship shall be held by a candidate who has passed the Third Year Examination for the degrees of Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery and is taking the course for the degree of Bachelor of Medical Science in Anatomy or in Physiology, or in Biochemistry.
Angus Ross Prestige Scholarship in History	This scholarship may only be held by a student majoring in History.
Anna P Stout Scholarship	The scholarship may be held only by a woman studying Economics, Political Studies, History or Consumer and Applied Sciences.
George Young Scholarship in Arts	The Scholarship may be held only by a candidate of Arts and Music and is regarded as the premier scholarship in Arts.
John Waddell Hayward Scholarships in Commerce	The Scholarship may be held only by a full-time student in Division of Commerce, and is regarded as the premier scholarship in Commerce.
Junior Smeaton Scholarship in Experimental Science	The Scholarship may be held only by a student of Experimental Science (Chemistry, Microbiology, Biology).
Kerry Thorn Memorial Scholarship in Philosophy	The scholarship is awarded annually by the University Council to a student with a high standard of achievement in Philosophy at 300-level who is proceeding to a course of full-time study at 400-level or 500-level for a degree or postgraduate diploma.
Misses Miller Braemar House School Scholarship in French	The Scholarship may be held only by a student of French.
Proudfoot Scholarship in Experimental Science	The Scholarship may be held only by a student of Experimental Science (Chemistry, Microbiology, Biology).
Richardson Scholarship in Arts	The Scholarship may be held only by a candidate in Arts and Music proceeding to Honours or to higher degree, and who attended a School in the Otago University District for two years of which immediately preceding enrolment at the University was spent at a State Secondary School in the University District.
Scott Memorial Scholarship	For a student of Education or Political Studies.
Sir George Grey Senior Scholarship	The Scholarship may be held only by a candidate in the Faculty of Science and is regarded as the premier scholarship in Science.

T.K. Cowan
Scholarships in
Accounting and Finance

The Scholarships may be held only by students of Accounting and Finance.

Taieri Scholarship
The Scholarship may be held only by a candidate who has attended for two years at a school in the areas comprising Maungatua, Outram, Otokia, East Taieri, North Taieri and Mosgiel.

Walter Scott May be held only by a student of English. Scholarship in English

Women's Scholarship The Scholarship may be held only by a woman candidate.