

News in Brief...

Otago tropical medicine expert receives prestigious award.

A leading University of Otago tropical medicine researcher has received the highest honour of the American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene (ASTMH).

Professor John Crump, who holds the University's McKinlay Chair in Global Health, was presented with the Bailey K. Ashford Medal at the ASTMH's recent annual meeting in Atlanta, Georgia.

The Ashford Medal is awarded annually for distinguished work in tropical medicine to a worker in his or her mid-career.

For more information see: http://www.otago.ac.nz/news/news/otago039491.html

Professor Frank Griffin elected as Fellow of the Royal Society of New Zealand

Professor Frank Griffin was one of eleven top New Zealand researchers and scholars elected as Fellows of the Royal Society of New Zealand at the Annual General Meeting of the Society's Academy in Wellington today (October 17).

Academy Chairperson Professor Le Heron said: "Being elected as a Fellow is an honour given to our top researchers for showing exceptional distinction in research or in the advancement of science, technology or the humanities".

Frank has inspired and led the development of diagnostic tests and a vaccine to combat three major bacterial diseases of deer, Tuberculosis, Yersiniosis and Johne's disease

For more information see: http://micro.otago.ac.nz/2012/10/professor-frank-griffin-elected-as-fellow-of-the-royal-society-of-new-zealand

Graduating Students

Congratulations to our OIHRN and Centre for International Health students graduating in December 2012.

MPH PhD
Lien Trinh Susan Ja
Michael Walsh Rebecca

Susan Jack Rebecca Lander Sue McAllister

Onalenna Seitio-Kgokgwe

Congratulations

Merrin Rutherford - our Research Fellow based in Bandung, Indonesia has been accepted into the Dunedin School of Medicine for the 2013 intake













Highlights from the OIHRN 5th Annual Conference

Thank you to the children from Room 3
Macandrew Bay School who allowed us
to display their artwork at the
conference and on the OIHRN
conference website at

Front row: Madison West, Phoebe Holdridge, Grace Stevich, Bella Gilmour, Eleanor Hill, Lauren Paterson

www.otago.ac.nz/oihrnconference

Back row: Mrs Robyn Brooker (teacher)

and Prof. Stephen Luby





Prof. Stephen Luby awarding Ms. Christina Stantis the prize for the best student presentation. Christina spoke on the topic of 'Diet and Migration in Prehistoric Polynesia: A Bioarchaeological Approach'.

The prize was kindly donated by Stewart Caithness Gray Optometrists'.



Prof. Stephen Luby and Prof. John Crump at the McKinlay Oration.

Wishing you all a very Happy & Safe Holiday Season