

Senate membership as of 23 March 2024

Name	Department/Position	Senate Member Type
Professor H D Nicholson	Vice-Chancellor (Acting)	Ex Officio
Professor S Brock	DVC (Academic)	Ex Officio
Professor J A Ruru	DVC (Māori)	Ex Officio
Professor R J Blaikie	DVC (Research and Enterprise)	Ex Officio
Professor A J Ballantyne	DVC (External Engagement)	Ex Officio
Professor M A Thyne	PVC (Commerce)	Ex Officio
Professor P C Priest	PVC (Health Sciences)	Ex Officio
Professor N J Gemmell	Deputy PVC (Health Sciences)	Ex Officio
Professor J F M Palmer	PVC (Humanities)	Ex Officio
Professor R J Barker	PVC (Sciences)	Ex Officio
S W Willis	Chief Operating Officer	Ex Officio
Hon Dr D S Clark	Registrar	Ex Officio
Dr L M Sheridan	Associate Dean, Academic (Commerce)	Ex Officio
Associate Professor S C Walton	Associate Dean, Research (Commerce)	Ex Officio
Associate Professor K R Ruckstuhl	Associate Dean, Māori (Commerce)	Ex Officio
E Eteuati	Associate Dean, Pacific (Commerce)	Ex Officio
Professor L J Surgenor	Associate Dean, Academic (Health Sciences)	Ex Officio
Professor R A Kemp	Associate Dean, Research (Health Sciences)	Ex Officio
Professor E H Wyeth	Associate Dean, Māori (Health Sciences)	Ex Officio
Associate Professor D Sika-Paotonu	Associate Dean, Pacific (Health Sciences)	Ex Officio
Professor P R Cooper	Dean, Faculty of Dentistry	Ex Officio
Professor T J Wilkinson	Dean, Otago Medical School	Ex Officio
Professor J M Baxter	Dean, Dunedin School of Medicine	Ex Officio
Professor S G Pitama	Dean, University of Otago, Christchurch	Ex Officio

Professor W M M Levack	Dean, University of Otago, Wellington	Ex Officio
Professor E A Matisoo-Smith	Dean, Otago School of Biomedical Sciences	Ex Officio
Professor C A Marra	Dean, School of Pharmacy	Ex Officio
Professor L A Hale	Dean, School of Physiotherapy	Ex Officio
Professor S E Griffiths	Dean, Faculty of Law	Ex Officio
Professor P P Vakaoti	Dean, Te Tumu - School of Māori, Pacific & Indigenous Studies	Ex Officio
Professor V R Anderson	Dean, College of Education	Ex Officio
Associate Professor M A Beres	Associate Dean Academic (Humanities)	Ex Officio
Professor H R Campbell	Associate Dean Research (Humanities)	Ex Officio
Professor M Thompson-Fawcett	Associate Dean, Māori (Humanities)	Ex Officio
Dr R M Schaaf	Associate Dean, Pacific (Humanities)	Ex Officio
Professor B J McCane	Associate Dean, Academic (Sciences)	Ex Officio
Professor C Fraser	Associate Dean, Research (Sciences)	Ex Officio
Associate Professor T L Perry	Associate Dean, Māori (Sciences)	Ex Officio
Dr E Fehoko	Associate Dean, Pacific (Sciences)	Ex Officio
Associate Professor E A Hargreaves	Dean, School of Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Sciences	Ex Officio
Professor A B Moore	Dean, School of Surveying	Ex Officio
Associate Professor D R Ruwhiu	Dean, Graduate Research School	Ex Officio
Professor T D Cooper	Dean, Learning and Teaching / CUAP Representative	Ex Officio
Professor B K Daniel	Head of Department, Higher Education Development Centre	Ex Officio
R L Bryant	Director, Māori Development	Ex Officio
A Taia	Director, Pacific Development	Ex Officio
D J Thomson	Director, Strategy, Analytics and Reporting	Ex Officio
J R Cushen	Director, International	Ex Officio
Dr S J Stein	Director, Distance Learning	Ex Officio
J Gibson	Director, Student Experience	Ex Officio
M Wall	University Librarian	Ex Officio
K L Wells	OUSA President	Ex Officio
G A H Reynolds-Hatem	Te Rōpū Māori Tumuaki Takirua	Ex Officio
M T Likiliki	UOPISA President	Ex Officio
H Friedlander	OUSA Postgraduate Students' Representative	Ex Officio
S M Lynch	OUSA Academic Representative	Ex Officio

Associate Professor C J Marshall	Biochemistry	Co-opted
Professor P J Bremer	Food Science	Co-opted
Professor S M Knowles	Economics	Co-opted
Associate Professor S W Walker	Social and Community Work	Co-opted
Professor F J Edgar	Management	Commerce HoD
Associate Professor H M Roberts	Accountancy and Finance	Commerce HoD
Associate Professor K J Robertson	Marketing	Commerce HoD
Associate Professor A M Carr	Tourism	Commerce HoD
Professor R J A P Peeters	Economics	Commerce HoD
Dr S A Carr	DBA Programme	Commerce HoD
Dr A J Garry	Executive Programmes	Commerce Staff
Dr V Kahui	Economics	Commerce Staff
Dr P M O'Kane	Management	Commerce Staff
Professor R W Aitken	Marketing	Commerce Elected
Associate Professor S A Biggemann	Marketing	Commerce Elected
Dr D N Ranasinghe	Accountancy and Finance	Commerce Elected
Professor W J Duncan	Oral Sciences	Health Sciences HoD (Dunedin)
Professor C L Jasoni	Anatomy	Health Sciences HoD (Dunedin)
Professor P K Dearden	Biochemistry	Health Sciences HoD (Dunedin)
Professor N J Hughes	Pharmacy	Health Sciences HoD (Dunedin)
Associate Professor T G Patterson	Psychological Medicine	Health Sciences HoD (Dunedin)
Associate Professor M A C Perry	Physiotherapy	Health Sciences HoD (Dunedin)
Professor L N Signal	Public Health	Health Sciences HoD (Wellington)
Associate Professor D N Kenwright	Pathology and Molecular Medicine	Health Sciences HoD (Wellington)
Professor T J Wilkinson	Medicine	Health Sciences HoD (Christchurch)
Professor M A Kennedy	Pathology and Biomedical Science	Health Sciences HoD (Christchurch)
Professor R Richards	Va'a o Tautai, DSM Associate Dean (Pacific)	Health Sciences Staff
Associate Professor J R Kirman	Microbiology and Immunology	Health Sciences Staff
S D Carrington	Oral Sciences, Dentistry Associate Dean (Māori)	Health Sciences Staff
Professor R W Taylor	Medicine	Health Sciences Elected
Professor K M Lyons	Oral Rehabilitation	Health Sciences Elected
Professor J N J Reynolds	Anatomy	Health Sciences Elected

Professor C L Day	Biochemistry	Health Sciences Elected
Professor N F Pierse	Public Health	Health Sciences Elected (Wellington)
Professor C J Charles	Medicine	Health Sciences Elected (Christchurch)
Professor S C Marshall	School of Arts	Humanities Head of School
Professor A D Ritchie	School of Performing Arts	Humanities Head of School
Professor E L Nel	School of Geography	Humanities Head of School
Professor W Sweetman	School of Social Sciences	Humanities Head of School
Professor B Schonthal	Religion	Humanities Head of Programme
Associate Professor M Dawson	Sociology, Gender Studies and Criminology	Humanities Head of Programme
Dr S W Lau	Languages and Cultures	Humanities Head of Programme
Professor I G Barber	Archaeology	Humanities Staff
Dr S H Connell	Faculty of Law	Humanities Staff
Dr H W Trevethan	College of Education	Humanities Staff
Associate Professor C M L Johnson	History	Humanities Elected
Professor P Voci	Languages and Cultures	Humanities Elected
Professor C R Pigden	Philosophy	Humanities Elected
Associate Professor A J High	Faculty of Law	Humanities Elected
Professor M J Mirosa	Food Science	Sciences HoD
Professor N T Lucas	Chemistry	Sciences HoD
Professor J B Halberstadt	Psychology	Sciences HoD
Professor M D Lamare	Marine Science	Sciences HoD
Professor D A Orlovich	Botany	Sciences HoD
Professor P B Blakie	Physics	Sciences HoD
Professor A R Gorman	Geology	Sciences HoD
Professor S J Wakes	Mathematics & Statistics	Sciences HoD
Associate Professor G C Dick	School of Computing	Sciences HoD
Professor N C Roy	Human Nutrition	Sciences HoD
Professor P M Lokman	Zoology	Sciences Staff
Professor T S Conner	Psychology	Sciences Staff
Associate Professor C M Moy	Geology	Sciences Staff
Dr F Beyer	Mathematics & Statistics	Sciences Elected
Professor S J Jackson	School of Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Science	Sciences Elected

Associate Professor L J Machado	Psychology	Sciences Elected
Professor D J Bryant	Mathematics & Statistics	Sciences Elected
Professor S A Skeaff	Human Nutrition	Sciences Elected