Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Research groups

The Department of Accountancy and Finance hosts or leads the following research and teaching related centres and groupings:

Centre for Organisational Performance Measurement and Management (COPMM)

COPMM brings together researchers with a common interest in the performance measurement and management of organisations, for the purposes of sharing and promoting innovative and best practice.

Department staff: Professor Ralph Adler (Chair), Dr Konan Seny Kan, Dr  Muhammad Nadeem, Dr Sriyalatha Kumarasinghe, Dr Nicola Beatson, Dr Dinithi Ranasinghe, Dr Hoa Luong

Climate and Energy Finance Group (CEFGroup)

The Climate and Energy Finance Group (CEFGroup) undertakes high-quality, rigorous, quantitative and independent research in the areas of climate finance, sustainable investing, energy markets and carbon markets. The group is a founding member of the Global Research Alliance for Sustainable Finance and Investment (GRASFI).

Visit the Climate and Energy Finance Group (CEFGroup) webpage

Department Staff & PhD Students: see ‘The Team’ in CEFGroup web pages

Derivatives and Quantitative Finance Group (DQFGroup)

Quantitative Finance is an interdisciplinary area between Finance and Applied Mathematics. The research in this area usually requires advanced mathematical skills, such as partial differential equations, stochastic calculus and applied probability, which have been widely used in Engineering and Applied Sciences. The research outputs often have direct applications in empirical finance research and financial derivative trading.

Department staff: Professor Jin Zhang (Chair), Dr Xinfeng (Edwin) Ruan Dr Sebastian Gehricke

Current PhD students: Wei Guo, Wei Lin, Pakorn (Beam) Aschakulporn, Xiaolan Jia, Jungah (Isabella) Yoon

Previous PhD students: Dr Fang Zhen, Tian (Tin) Yue

Student Engagement Research Group (SERGE)

SERGE is an Otago Business School initiative aimed to showcase and develop student engagement research across disciplines.

Department staff: Nicola Beatson (Founder)