Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Contact us


Julia Horsfield

University of Otago, New Zealand

Justin O'Sullivan

University of Auckland, New Zealand

Secretariat: Sally Boult

Events 4 You Limited

International Organising Committee (IOC) International Scientific Committee (ISC)
Australia Joel MACKAY WONG Lee
China WANG Gang SONG Xiaoyuan
Japan NAKASONE Kaoru TSUGE Kenji
Korea CHOY Hyon El CHO Eun Jung
Malaysia Kalai MATHEE Nethia M.-KUMARAN
New Zealand Julia HORSFIELD Justin O’SULLIVAN
Singapore Reshma TANEJA YAN Jie
Taiwan James C. K. SHEN YEN Betty Linju
Thailand Mayuree FUANGTHONG Nisanart (Puk) CHAROENLAP

History of the Conference

The Asian Conference on Transcription was conceived and started by five eminent scientists:

  • Professor Ken Wu of Taiwan
  • Professor Akira Ishihama of Japan
  • Professor Changwon Kang of Korea
  • Professor Padmanabhan of India
  • Professor John Pittard of Australia

The first Asian Conference on Transcription was held in Taipei in 1990. Since then, the spirit of the conference has been embraced by new generations of scientists from the Asia-Pacific region, including Malaysia, China, Thailand, Singapore, and New Zealand.

The Asian Conference on Transcription’s traditional focus on basic transcriptional mechanisms is expanding to reflect new insights into genome biology.

Find us on Twitter

16th Asian Conference on Transcription 2019