Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

20Twenties Awards 2020

Friday 18 September 2020 9:34am

20twenties banner

Congratulations to the following alumni who are recipients of the University of Otago’s inaugural Young Alumni Awards; 20Twenties. The 20Twenties recognise the outstanding achievements of some of our newest graduates, and highlight their exceptional successes and qualities.

We would also like to thank the many people who took the time to nominate young alumni from the University for these awards. From the nominations it is clear to see that University of Otago’s young alumni are making a huge difference in their own communities, nationally and on the international stage. Please see the full list below. Full profiles of each will feature on our website later in the year.


Hitaua Arahanga-Doyle

In recognition of leadership, mentorship of undergraduate and postgraduate students, and of his higher studies.

Lisa Blakie

For her contribution to creative and ethical video game development.

Thomas Devine

In recognition of his leadership as Kaiāwhina Māori, mentorship of younger students and of pursuing higher studies.

Sinead Ford

In recognition of extensive leadership and volunteer work.

Emily Fry

For her contribution to the field of digital technologies and their security implications.

Sargam Goundar

For her contribution to climate change initiatives and in recognition of her leadership.

Martin Hannah

For his contribution to child and youth development.

Francisco Hernandez

In recognition of his leadership of climate change initiatives.

Abby Howells

In recognition of her success as a comedian, actor, improviser, and writer.

Pinky Lal

In recognition of her extensive volunteer and leadership work.

Bethany Lomax

For her contribution to space research.

Sophie Mathiesen

For her contribution to science communication.

Aidan Meyer

In recognition of scientific curiosity for the betterment of the community.

Jo Mohan

In recognition of her entrepreneurial spirit to better the environment.

Sophie Oliff

In recognition of leadership and volunteer work in the health sector.

Daryl Pupi

For his contribution to health and well-being through leadership and innovation of nutrition programmes.

Georgia Robertson

In recognition of leadership in a non-profit organisation that benefits education projects.

George Taiaroa

In recognition of research work in response to Covid-19.

Georgia Thomson-Laing

In recognition of research into aquatic health for the betterment of community health and for her commitment to mentoring.

Kawiti Waetford

In recognition of success as a performer and for commitment to rangatahi.