Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Alumni in the news

Wednesday 16 December 2020 11:56am

ANews1220 Dr Diana Kopua 226px
Dr Diana Kopua

Dr Diana Kopua awarded top Māori health professional award

Psychiatrist Dr Diana Kopua (Ngati Porou) has been awarded the prestigious Dr Maarire Goodall Award 2020 for her ongoing contribution to Māori health. Presented by Te ORA, the Māori Medical Practitioners Association, the annual award aims to support and celebrate the contributions of Māori health professionals working at the highest levels.


Reservist of the Year

Dunedin soldier and teacher Sean Cassidy has been named New Zealand Defence Force Reservist of the Year. Sean graduated from Otago with a BSc majoring in Zoology in 1994 and a BPhEd in 1996.


TVNZ-NZ Young Marketer of the Year

Brand Manager at J H Whittaker & Sons and Food Innovation and Marketing graduate, Liv Glazebrook has been named TVNZ-NZ Marketing Awards Young Marketer of the Year. The judges said: “Liv is a passionate marketer who is able to clearly articulate across marketing performance from creative and NPD to sales and financials. She brings innovation and new thinking to the table, is a strong brand ambassador and good fit for Whittaker’s.”


Advancing sustainability in agriculture

Law and Commerce graduate Jacqui Macalister has returned to home to the Queenstown region after years working in corporate sustainability in London and Sweden. Jacqui has joined Compass Agribusiness as General Manager, Sustainability.


ANews1220 Francesca Goodman Smith 226px
Francesca Goodman-Smith

Change Maker award to Food Science and Human Nutrition alumna

Otago Food Science and Nutrition alumna Francesca Goodman-Smith has just won the Change Maker category of the Sustainable Business Awards.