Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Scholarships easing transition from school to University

Wednesday 3 October 2018 2:26pm

The weather may have been miserable, but the pizza was hot and the spirits were high as first year scholarship winners had a get together on Wednesday 26 September at the Dunedin Union Lounge.

Around 40 students attended the event at which Development and Alumni Relations Office Stewardship Officer Kellie Bain presented the prizes for the photo competition.

Kellie advised the students to keep Otago in their hearts and to continue their involvement with the University as alumni once they are out working all around the country and the world.

Scholarship pizza lunch
Zoe Luke (left) and Kaela Muri

Zoe Luke and Kaela Muir both received entrance scholarships and ended up on the same floor at Arana Hall, where they have become close friends. Zoe, from Wellington, received a Donna-Rose McKay scholarship and is studying Health Sciences, while Kaela, from Tauranga, received an Alumni in America scholarship. Both say they wouldn’t have been able to afford to come to university and pay the hall fees without the scholarships.

Scholarship pizza lunch 2
Latish Lee (left), Onanong Hemtanont, and George Warren

Latisha Lee, from Palmerston North, says the Donna-Rose McKay scholarship she received was “incredibly important” as it helped pay for her hall fees. “Aquinas is really great, I love it.” Latisha is doing a double major in Anthropology and History, with a minor in Classics. Fellow Aquinas students Onanong Hemtanont and George Warren, both say they would have had to take a gap year to save up enough money to go to university if they hadn’t received scholarships. Onanong, from Fairlie, received the Alumni in America scholarship and is studying Health Sciences, while George, another Health Science student, received a Donna-Rose McKay scholarship, which he says was “a really big help.”

Scholarships received included the Callis Performance Trust, the Donna-Rose Mckay Entrance Scholarship, the Elman and Alfred Poole Science Scholarships, the R and E Seelye Academic Excellence Scholarship the JF Ward Verdon College Undergraduate Entrance Scholarship, and the University Yarrow South Entrance Scholarship.